wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

Adverse effects of Free Primary School Education
subzero
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 6:14:51 PM

When KCPE started being marked out of 500, the top student had 482 marks. Ever since, the top score has been going down consistently , last year it was 434, why?

The exams are getting tougher? pupils are not as bright as before? i don't think so.

Adverse Effects of Free Primary School Education

It has come to the attention of KNEC and the govt as a whole, that the quality of primary school education has become pathetic, but the authorities will not let this situation be apparent to everyone.

so, they results are 'normalized', to conceal the apparent scenarios.

I did a quick check on some few private and public schools in my area and found out that, private schools are not getting as good results as they used to while public schools in the same area were 'catching up'...

Secondly, the new quota system is meant to patch up to huge gap that was expected with the introduction of FPE

#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 10:07:02 AM

@sub zero very true i also tend to think that exams are getting tougher everyday.
Came across some standard 4 exams on social studies and damn the questions they ask are things we watch on the news i dont know if its the syllabus that has changed but that exam was so unfair to the pupils who sat it.
These system of education must change or else we are doomed
sky5
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 12:05:26 PM

I agree there are adverse effects of FPE. And I don't think these effects were unexpeted. With a high value of student to teacher ratio it cannot get better.

However, FPE should be encouraged because it is good for Kenya, being one of the MDGs. What needs to be done is dvelopment of more facilities in public schools.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 12:35:28 PM

Adverse Effects of Not Having Any Primary Education (free or otherwise)are even more.
Solution is not throwing out the baby with the dirty bath water but getting practical solutions to improving quality of FPE...
Djinn
#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 12:42:15 PM

One other effect has to do with the quality of education. With one teacher for 50-60 students, there are inherent challenges when it comes to dealing with laggards - the recourse i see happening is to put everyone in the slow lane to allow the others to catch up. This has necessitated a protracted duration for the full curriculum to be addressed...including arriving as early as 7am and leaving as late as 5pm + lessons on Saturday.

In a big way parents have absconded certain duties to help teachers - they give their kids much freedom such that it also affects their learning abilities - thus the laggards who drag the rest behind. I have personally observed one such parent at a school parents meeting - while the head teacher was talking about developments relating to the school, the father was playing a game on his phone with his son! Examples are endless - access to uncontrolled media, Sunday Family Days at CocoBeach and such places, etc etc.

Another aspect (and this relates to FPE directly and quack publishers eager to tap into funds for text books). I will name one publisher without any fear - Highflyer Publishers - they churn out an extremely poor quality revision book, riddled with so many erros, for Standard 1 to 8 - they mint millions every year - I suppose the production cost for each book is abt 80 bob and the book costs something like 300 bob. There are also other nondescript publishers who may have put words in the ears of officials at the KIE whose mandate I understand, is to recommend books for the syllabus.

So in essence, inherent in the system is failure and its compounded by some parents and some publishers.

Under the old system, I only started going for afternoon classes in Standard 4 - and we'd leave by 3.20pm - two 40 minute lessons after lunch. That stayed the same until Standard 7 - no Saturday classes, no "tuition" fees.

How can we change this without causing an upheaval and disrupting those unfortunate to be in the system?
Ms Mkenya
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 2:15:12 PM

And the standardization..
....above all, to stand.
rasilio
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 2:26:38 PM

@Djinn good to see someone my age here. I remember my fees in primo were like free. Some 30 bob a term.

The problem is teachers and more so parents. Saw a parent once want to tear up a teacher who was punishing their kid for being 2 hours late. "No", the parent said, "you can't punish my kid, kweli wewe ni nani?" After the idiot kid fails, you blame 8-4-4 and Kibaki.

NOOO Apana...Nothing to do with free education. Everything to do with YOU the PARENT.

The effects of NO primary education are "warriors" being created in 1992 and 2007.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 4:58:59 PM

@Subzero, dossy: IMHO these are the adverse effects of an education system gone awry. Its not only the FPE but the entire system of tagging and equating education to KCPE/KCSE
#9 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 9:43:14 PM

subzero wrote:

Secondly, the new quota system is meant to patch up to huge gap that was expected with the introduction of FPE

kenya private schools alliance is crying foul over how the form 1 selections were made. they are even stating that they have been discriminated.
any parent who can afford to educate a child in a private school would find it easy in a private secondary school. please let us leave the few public sec schools for our poor kenyans.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 10:24:41 PM

mpobiz wrote:
kenya private schools alliance is crying foul over how the form 1 selections were made. they are even stating that they have been discriminated.
any parent who can afford to educate a child in a private school would find it easy in a private secondary school. please let us leave the few public sec schools for our poor kenyans.

This is one of the biggest fallacy ever. Most of the parents who take their kids to private schools are struggling to make ends meet. It's only that they know the importance of a good education and they know their kids will not get it in public schools. I have a friend who told me he wont take his family anywhere - not even shagz - over christmas. Why? Education budget! And just to be on the safe side, he deposited the fees in the school accounts [kept the slip to be presented when schools open], bought books and uniforms etc. in December and was left absolutely broke! Meanwhile most Kenyans were drinking themselves silly and spending on unnecessary stuff only to start saying private schools are for the rich.

Somebody also mentioned the informal settlements/slums. Most of them have no public schools and parents are forced to take their kids to "private schools" that are far much worse than public schools. No facilities, ill qualified "teachers" etc. Guess what! When it comes to form 1 intake, their kids will now be categorized under "private school candidates"! Absolutely Bure Kabisa!!!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 10:34:28 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
And the standardization..

Now this is another stupid invention of the ministry of Education. If your kid schooled in Nairobi and other selected towns, he is deducted marks because of the inherent advantages of his surroundings - he is more "exposed". Your kid gets 430 but his results read 402. Meanwhile, someone in another part of the country gets 382 and his results read 412! Now, woe unto you if your kid [In Nairobi] was attending a private school. He now needs higher marks to go to his school of choice - never mind his marks have already been deducted!!! Now imagine that the private school he attended is actually one of those "private schools" in the slums sandwiched between a bar and an open air market and his teachers were high school drop outs!

One person [trying to be funny] asked why the ministry doesn't add Nairobi kids marks in Kiswahili because they are the most affected by sheng. They should also reduce the Kiswahili marks for Coast kids. All in the spirit of standardization!!!
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 4:59:48 AM

What are they teaching/cheating our children? Hio maswali

#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 5:08:33 AM

4 is outright wrong, while 5 & 10 are technically incorrect!!!
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 6:01:39 AM

books printed in riverroad .tenderprenuership.thieves
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 6:45:27 AM

books printed in riverroad .tenderprenuership.thieves

it's not the printer's fault! it's the persons developing the curriculum. first the number of people that don't speak correct english is growing - this has the terrible effect of people not being corrected and thus thinking that they are doing the right thing. This is propagated through informal methods of communication quite often. Once this 'incorrectness' ends up in print and many eyes don't see it - we are well on our way to pidgin. Entropy of the written word is the last stop to Pidgin.
kayhara
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 7:04:27 AM

Big City of Tanzania? Did wanjohi wa kigogoine write this? I have seen many other outrageous mistakes in most 2018 text books even in math(s) books and the GoK dismissed it since million of books had already been printed and paid for, wish they would return them for rectification.
To Each His Own
Fyatu
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 1:04:16 PM

2. The teacher said to open the Window

We(Kenyans) are damned. Who will save Kenya?
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 1:52:02 PM

Pray Pray ....uncle Manase is a she??? okay!!
Julie
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 2:31:58 PM

Enter Lesbianism and gayism...
#20 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 2:45:48 PM

Julie wrote:
Enter Lesbianism and gayism...

Uncle Binyavanga Wainaina