wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

The wind of change has started blowing over KENYA
eli
#21 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 12:38:00 PM

Doxa Interactive Studio,www.thedoxa.net would be glad to donate our design skills,our animation skills towards this course...................Lets use technology and send these guys parking.................Lets send them to where they belong...............Its our time to act and act big time..............Nelson Mandela says,' Your playing small doesnt help the world'. Its our turn to play big! These guys must be sent parking. They haven't done us proud at all. No.

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
Babygal
#22 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 12:46:00 PM

@mkristo

thanks for this thread,this by far is waht most (95%) of kenyans want! We want change! if any of you is watching the 'Kenya we want' thing on citizen u will notice that clearly our leaders are just selfish,greedy,....................they are feeling nothing even after litsening to what kenyans are telling them!

We need good leadership in 2012 and its true,it starts with us. You never know,the next Obama might just be here in SK or from this new group of change which we are starting! I offer my support where needed!

Laughter is the best medicine........................Don't worry be happy
When a person can no longer laugh at himself, it is time for others to laugh at him.

Thomas Szasz, "The Second Sin"
#23 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 12:55:00 PM

@alma / mkristo and all the GOOD PEOPLE OF KENYA in sk

this surely is it! Remember how ngwono's friend was rescued in minutes the other day through sk initiatives......that is the spirit we need.....we build the momentum and there will be no looking back........keep the fire burning.....

@mkristo....i can be a very good source of info....email me with info needs

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it does not belong in stocks.
danny6
#24 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 1:10:00 PM

Truly,Truly lets all support this initiative

I sit down perplexed perhaps at the sudden turn of events on our country&rsquo;s fast changing political scene,every dawn wakes up to disgusting developments with corruption and bad governance being the morning pill both in the print and electronic media,as the popular Swahili saying goes by `fahali wawili wakipigana nyasi huumia&rsquo;(when two bulls fight each other its always the grass that suffers) this saying is no mean feat and I tend to believe that the buck stops with the mwananchi. As usual real and pseudo promises will be made,heavens will be promised and we will be there offering standing ovations and clapping tirelessly on election period,but as I siphon through this new developments I realize that Kenyans have arisen from the dark alleys and will no longer listen to every Tom,Dick and Harry,the above word `as usual&rsquo; God forbid) used to describe this phenomenon will be a thing of the past.

For many years,we as Kenyans have voted in wrong leaders and have lived to pay the price,this has been largely camouflaged by our gullibility and sheer ignorance of our rights,principles and aspirations,but who is to blame? It is in cognizance of the fact that wrong leaders give rise to bad leadership thus it is in the best interest of all proud Kenyan people that this initiative could just shed light on what to look for in a candidate this coming general election if your expectations are anything to be achieved.In view of this i beg to support this noble idea

'When we are campaigning and you demand money from us,where do you expect we are going to recoup that money?'.Martha Karua
mkristo
#25 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 1:16:00 PM

@ all.............

guys am sitted in my office and am moved to tears. Am humbled. I did not know that so many people is a short time could respond so positively to this. I think this is truly God given.

Sometimes I feel pain,ati the Gava borrows 7 illion plus to buy food.....when the same money could have,...two/three years ago been borrowed or even a government bond floated,to irrigate the whle of Eastern Province and today we would not be borrowing to buy food. What a Shame!!!

OK,let's get the vision right.

We need a WEBSITE.
The site will have all constituencies in KENYA listed.
The site,whether facebook or something else,will have a place for people to nominate leaders they believe can lead in their constituencies.
For one to participate,certain details will have to be supplied,may be even have registration of members.
The site will have to be set in such a way that it will lock out greedy leaders and only recoginzes SERVANT LEADERS like the Muthamas and others like him.
After nominations,we will move on to a VOTING session,for the leaders who have been nominated.
Finally,we will liaise with media houses to present to them the iniative and they help us to organize a Leadership Forum that will recognize these individuals. Can you imagine KTN,KBC,CITIZEN,Nation,et al broadcasting to Kenyans,the people earmarked for leadership in 2012?
We will also need to advertise for the site,and here is where some money is needed. The site needs to be known through Newspaper,Radio,TV,Billboards etc.
We will get the civil rights movements,NGOs,certain embercies etc to support this initiative.

YES WE CAN

the voice of reason
#26 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 2:03:00 PM

-We need a WEBSITE. &ndash;

consider that done. Just choose domain name. I will register it and have it ready in 10 minutes ready to start implementation of features . You also need a full time webmaster(s). This is a huge project!

The information must be constant,fresh and challenging. Think huffingtonpost . If properly done,you might not even need the media you are talking about other than for advertising and creating controversy.

-The site will have all constituencies in KENYA listed. &ndash;

consider that done. Will need information and maybe one or two people for data entry. By the way,there is nothing wrong with adding your kajoras in this,is there? Think grassroot kajoras who know how to mobilise people. I can set up a dummy site for your perusal on monday

-The site,whether facebook or something else,will have a place for people to nominate leaders they believe can lead in their constituencies. &ndash;

consider that done. Facebook is not equipped to handle something like this. However,you can leverage on the members and setup your own facebook page. You need to be independent.

-For one to participate,certain details will have to be supplied,may be even have registration of members. &ndash;

good idea. That is implemented directly in site setup. Just depends on what information you require and if you need to verify it. You can set the site up in such a way that normal members/Kenyans have a different registration requirement than other members eg the nominees,the administrators and even volunteers.

-The site will have to be set in such a way that it will lock out greedy leaders and only recoginzes SERVANT LEADERS like the Muthamas and others like him. &ndash;

you could consider having a nomination team just in case you get kanu moles.

-After nominations,we will move on to a VOTING session,for the leaders who have been nominated. &ndash;

consider that done. Each constituency will have its own page and tally of top vote getters. Including the wards if you wish.

-Finally,we will liaise with media houses to present to them the iniative and they help us to organize a Leadership Forum that will recognize these individuals. Can you imagine KTN,KBC,CITIZEN,Nation,et al broadcasting to Kenyans,the people earmarked for leadership in 2012? &ndash;

This is where we need sk members who are good on such things. By the way,is it possible to figure how long the nomination period should take?

-We will also need to advertise for the site,and here is where some money is needed. The site needs to be known through Newspaper,Radio,TV,Billboards etc. &ndash;

I am sure that if the vision is right then Kenyans all around the world will be willing to volunteer their time and resources. 1000 bob per month from 1000 members is a million a month. If you cannot do something with that in Kenya per month,you probably need more than a prayer.

-We will get the civil rights movements,NGOs,certain embercies etc to support this initiative. &ndash;

I am sure there is one hiding in sk somewhere. Or create your own civic education movement as part of this group. You are the ones with the agenda,you know what you want,so form your own. Then get support from the other civic organisations.

When you are ready,I will send you a detailed accounting of all the things that you will need done for a site like that to work. I was happy to see eli offering design services.

I just love this!!

by the way. Danny6 should be writing web copy. he/she should volunteer to write good content on the static pages.

MADE
#27 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 2:22:00 PM

I fully support this great initiative. When will our politics be run the American way whereby any small scandal even on private life disqualifies one from ascending to a public office.

Kenyans we're doomed! During elections we seek refuge in ethnic cocoons,elect those who dish out bigger hand-outs,lessos and t-shirts then cry later over the same leaders....

We go ahead spending alot of money on seminars and conferences with the same message from same speakers. Even yester year reformists have been compromised thru collective responsibiltiy instead of them resigning altogether.

This is actually THE KENYA WE DONT WANT

It's not where yu are,but where yu want to be.
Age is transforming me into an Elder;becoz Admin hasn't made me one.
mkristo
#28 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 2:34:00 PM

www.kenyaleadersforchange.com /co.ke/org

www.election2012kenya.com

www.choosemyleader.com

Other people can bring in other suggestions

the voice of reason
caesar
#29 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 3:00:00 PM

Facebook has a group of Young leaders for Kenya in 2012. Join this groups and take on leadership roles,recruit people within your circles and urge them to recruit others within their circles. The best thing is that we are all connected.
I propose fresh faces;

Peter Kenneth,
Dr PLO Lumumba
Mohammed Hussein Abdikadir
#30 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 4:01:00 PM

Wow,@ all

I believe we are on to something huge.

I am definitely in.

For some name suggestions I propose;

Tujengekenya.co.ke
Wakenya4change.co.ke
etc

Lets go for names that resonate with Kenya and change,so we can maximise the level of hits.

One way or another,we will need to mobilize the Kenya grassroots and sell the idea to them co as you know,there will be no change unless the mwananchi is in

I would rather the site does not become a political party that nominates MP's coz I don't think Kenyans really trust politicians and their vehicles. We could however endorse clean people and back them in whichever party they choose,in this way,we retain our non-partisanship and credibility

We also need to identify the soughts of changes we want in our country and agitate for them from the word go,at the top of that list should be 'a new inclusive constitution' that has the fundamental rights of all kenyans as its primary driver.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
mozenrat
#31 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 5:24:00 PM

Heee... Bwana... Peter Kenneth was one of the staunchest anti-tax lobbyists the pigs had...... Hata ikanyesha ya baboons,he cannot be listed anywhere as a potential...

The Real Shaft
#32 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 5:39:00 PM

what would...

a bunch of computer geeks...

do...

to marauding hyenas near a kill....???

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Mali
#33 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 7:33:00 PM

@ Njunge.. On Hussein 100% full support.. the 3 I mentioned will be there to spill the beans... Esp for one Arap M,and Raira...

if the incompetent and the reckless compete,the result is a disaster.. MN
caesar
#34 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2009 9:51:00 PM

youth4change.com

kenyayouth4change.com

youth4change-mta-do.com

vijana4change.com

tumeamua.com

youth-in-action.com

we could start

youthforchange.com Kenyan chapter we may get more international help.

We could blog on issues of equality and fairness for all. Progressive ideas above the pettiness of tribalism,we should print cool Tshirts for youth,make it cool to stand for change. We should call into action young people to do away with alcohol and drugs.

We could make cool for young people to donate blood in disasters,young mothers to be talking of family planning. Grass roots focus is the key.

sheri
#35 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2009 5:27:00 AM

Wakenya4change.com

I think the name should cut across the board to accommodate all Kenyans. It should not have the tag 'YOUTH' coz many kenyans of all ages need change

Great idea

Turn your clutter into cash! Find out how at:
http://www.tripleclicks.com/9742052/go
#36 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2009 5:40:00 AM

@Ceasar

I like your idea about people being able to blog about issues affecting them.

We could have some good writers have their own blogs on the site. And even the nominees,how are we going to know what they want if they don&rsquo;t tell us.

We could also invite well-known personalities to blog with us occasionally.

Your idea of forming chapters with international organisations is great.

However,involving the youth in activities is a charm. If we want to own the country then we must help those who are in need even while trying to take out the politicians. That is the main reason why youth don't participate in anything. We believe we own nothing and thus will never be involved in anything.

@all

For domain names a few tips on all your ideas.

1. You will be competing online with numerous other sites that might crop up after you have this idea. Have the name Kenya in it.

2. Forget about .co.ke it does not serve any purpose in internet marketing. .com are nice but since this is not a commercial venture and you will be seeking funds from Kenyans in the usa and elsewhere,try to limit it to .org. None profit domain names are given better rankings in google and search engines and you want Kenyans contributing from abroad to claim their contributions in their tax returns.

3. Avoid using hyphens and long names. keep the name short and catchy. Something that the old like us can remember without having to think too much :)

4. You should also not limit your domain name with dates. This may turn out to be a project of 5-10 yrs. Remember organisations such as moveon started some 10 yrs ago. Issues also evolve over time. We might choose guys who are just worse than these ones. Choose a name that is lasting.

5. I know this is a thing for the youth but please don't leave us old guys out. in about 5 yrs some of us may be grandparents. You don't want to leave us out in the cold do you?

So far I like

Tujengekenya.com/org/info
Wakenya4change.com/org/info

mine is changekenya.com/org/info

Let me give you a tip.

Go to nameboy.com and type in the words that you would like. These are Google friendly names and will give a heads start.

For those who are trying to go into starting bpo's and their own blogs,that tip is worth thousands of dollars. You need to pay me for that. :)
danny6
#37 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2009 6:03:00 AM

@mkristo
thanks for coming up with the idea

@alma
im completely mesmerized with your resourcefulness,you could as well be the driving force on this,as for the contents,i can contribute on topical issues relevant
im in support of wakenya4change.org/info as the domain name
'When we are campaigning and you demand money from us,where do you expect we are going to recoup that money?'.Martha Karua
jitetee
#38 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2009 6:22:00 AM

@ceasar - I would advise against using the word 'youth' for the domain or org. names...

There are numerous 'youth for change' types of organizations out there. But if you look closely,their modus operandi and ideology is no different from mainstream political parties. Besides,events in recent times continue to demonstrate that youth is no guarantee for good governance (and old age does not necessarily mean bad leadership either)

I'd rather this initiative is not driven as a 'youth' thing though it will obviously require massive support from them (us?).

So my suggestion? Keep away from a direct reference and affiliation to 'youth' but maintain the key aspects of a youth movement... revolutionary,exciting,passionate,purposeful,driven,resolute,transparent,full of fresh ideas & hope...the works. Draw the youth while accomodating the not-so-young...

Because you need to reach across generations to make the kind of impact you are looking at...

Time and chance happen to all.
#39 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2009 7:27:00 AM

@All,

Can this be done away from preying eyes until such a time as the idea is ready to be unveiled?.........We might be putting a great initiative on the door front of the 'enemy'.......ama?

Guka wa bijuti...
#40 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2009 7:46:00 AM

@Njunge

I completely agree with you. I know for a fact that things like domain names are picked in a hurry. To be honest,I would!

It may be time for mkristo to get the guys who are interested. If you need an anonymous forum I can create that in two minutes. Then you can continue setting up the agenda.

Most of the time,some of the best organisations are those that have a few core founders who then start bringing in others. The core is sometimes more important than the masses.

Have a great weekend everyone and for the first time in a very long time,it is good to see that there are many kenyans who would rather do something than sit at home complaining all the time as they are being sucked dry.

PS:

I liked savekenya.com however as njunge has warned about being to open on the internet,I found it is already bought.

Do a whois and its already bought by someone in new york. I am sure he will sell it at a very high price. So keep the domain names as close to your heart as possible until mkristo can tell us what next.