Official - Arsene Wenger Named World's Best Manager
Billionaire
#21 Posted : Monday, January 10, 2011 8:20:28 AM

BLASPHEMY. anyway, am not a soccer fan so i will not reply to this post.
#22 Posted : Monday, January 10, 2011 8:32:37 AM

@Guka, good analysis...

@All, could it be because Wenger is managing the only team in the premier league that has never been relegated? and better still, the first team to move into a new stadium but still maintains profit-making if not relegation?
#23 Posted : Monday, January 10, 2011 10:18:55 AM

I'm an Arsenal fan damu! But I doubt Wenger is the best manager. If it's over a long period then there's no doubt that it's Sir Alex and if it's over a season or two then it has to be Josep Guardiola of Berca followed by the special one, Jose Mourinho. Anyway that's my unprofessional opinion.

#24 Posted : Monday, January 10, 2011 10:27:50 AM

The result was calculated by combining the results of the previous 10 years of the organisation’s manager-of-the-year, which in 2010 was won by Spain’s World Cup-winning coach Vicente Del Bosque.

According to the IFFHS it was Wenger’s consistency in the 10-year period that earned him the award.

Their website stated of the man who moved to Arsenal from Japanese club Nagoya Grampus Eight in 1996: 'Although the Frenchman has until now never won the annual vote, he has been among the best-placed coaches every year.

'It is admirable how he has repeatedly moulded young players into an attacking and technically brilliant way of play.'

Arsenal have not won a trophy under Wenger since the 2005 FA Cup, but the early part of the decade brought much success for the Frenchman they call the Professor.

The North London side won the double in 2002, the FA Cup in 2003 and went the whole Premier League season unbeaten as they won the title in 2004 with a team who became known as 'the invincibles’.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co....ears.html#ixzz1AcAg7PbE

This award has nothing to do with the number of trophies won
#25 Posted : Monday, January 10, 2011 11:08:35 AM

vinii wrote:
Free wrote:
IF FOOTBALL WAS A RELIGION ARSENE WENGER COULD BE THE GOD

...and who will be satan?

Satan would probably have a red nose and manage a team aptly named Red Devils!
#26 Posted : Monday, January 10, 2011 11:09:11 AM

Top 10 Best Coach for Level Club 2010 version IFFHS (www.iffhs.de)

1. Jose Mario dos Santos Mourinho Felix - Inter Milan Real Madrid & - Portugal -294

2. Josep Guardiola - FC Barcelona - Spain - 188

3. Aloysius Paulus Maria "Louis" van Gaal - Bayern Munich - Netherlands - 75

4. Quique Sanchez Flores - Atletico Madrid-Spain - 46

5. Carlo Ancelotti - Chelsea - Italy - 41

6. Sir Alex Ferguson - Manchester United, Scotland -38

7. Arsene Wenger - Arsenal - France - 33

8. Celso Juarez Rogh - SC Internacional Porto Alegre - Brazil -24

9. Roy Hodgson - Fulham & Liverpool - United Kingdom - 20

10. Lamine N'Diaye - TP Mazembe - Senegal -11
#27 Posted : Monday, January 10, 2011 11:28:23 AM

@Guka, Ghai fafa! Who is talking about teams? My question was how many trophies has Wenger won in the past decade compared to Fergie and Mourinho. SMH! ABK!
annsal
#28 Posted : Monday, January 10, 2011 3:55:19 PM

wenger yuko juu tu sana.
God loves a Trier!
#29 Posted : Monday, January 10, 2011 4:52:51 PM

Top 10 Best Coach for Level Club 2010 version IFFHS (www.iffhs.de)

1. Jose Mario dos Santos Mourinho Felix - Inter Milan Real Madrid & - Portugal -294

2. Josep Guardiola - FC Barcelona - Spain - 188

3. Aloysius Paulus Maria "Louis" van Gaal - Bayern Munich - Netherlands - 75

4. Quique Sanchez Flores - Atletico Madrid-Spain - 46

5. Carlo Ancelotti - Chelsea - Italy - 41

6. Sir Alex Ferguson - Manchester United, Scotland -38

7. Arsene Wenger - Arsenal - France - 33

8. Celso Juarez Rogh - SC Internacional Porto Alegre - Brazil -24

9. Roy Hodgson - Fulham & Liverpool - United Kingdom - 20

10. Lamine N'Diaye - TP Mazembe - Senegal -11

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause good research
i just hope kenny will find his way here.
#30 Posted : Monday, January 10, 2011 5:29:16 PM

@Just blazin'

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly You are laughable at most.....Let's say in the real context.First,nowhere is it indicated that the yardstick here was the number of trophies won and even if that was the case,Manchester United comes second after Liverpool in England and here is how it stands.

Club No. of trophies.
Liverpool 40
Man U 39
Gunners 26
Aston villa 20

I would go on (Rem:This is in all competitions including UEFA and if we were considering England teams only)

With all due respect @guka, this kind of ranking is absolutely useless! For example a team that has won 3 EPL leagues and one that has won 5 championship leagues and yet another one that has won 6 League Two leagues which is better? A team that has won 3 Champions Leagues vs one that has won 6 Europa cups? A team that has won 5 FA cups vs one that has won 7 Carling cups? Need I go on? You can not just throw random numbers and purport to make an argument. If you must, come up with a matrix!

Example: I have 5,000 shares, you have 12,000 shares and @vvs has 7,000 shares who's better of?

NB: The shares are a mixture of different counters.
#31 Posted : Monday, January 10, 2011 8:06:54 PM

Maichblack,
Hapo umenena, huyu mzee amekuja hapa na fugures hayana maana kabisa!!!!
#32 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 9:20:25 AM

Best Manager of the decade. I thought this was another rumour.
#33 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 12:04:16 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
Best Manager of the decade. I thought this was another rumour.

Thought the same...haiyaa!!
marex
#34 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 12:10:06 PM

Alex Ferguson is the best manager that has ever graced the face of Planet Earth!!!!....that is the universal truth. All these promotions given to Wenger are lopsided opinions by his subjects of obsession whose intention is to cover for his glaring inadequacies.
The way I am
#35 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 12:19:20 PM

The award Wenger received is based on nominations and resultant seedings from the annual managerial awards, playing style of the managers, money spent on new signings, league and cup progression. This award didn't just focus on who has won more trophies. Wenger has been in the top four managerial ranking for the past 10 years. He introduced an awareness in the premier league that player wages and fees were out of control. I think he's the one who made Fergie (who is a great coach) realize that spending 30M pounds on star names was no longer the way to go. Ancelloti recently declared that the "Arsenal's way is the best way".

Arsenal beat Chelsea and Man City this season with a team not worth more than 40M pounds and we are expected to finish above them in the league. SAF has won more trophies but Wenger has been successful relative to money spent. Just have a look at some of SAF signings.....Veron 30M, Berbatov 30M, Rooney 30M, Rio 30M, RVN 20M, Anderson 18Md'oh! , Nani 18M, Hargreaves 18Md'oh! , Carrick 18M d'oh! , Valencia 16M......Wenger has only spent 25% of what SAF has yet he still keeps the club competitive on all competitions. Clearly ARSENE KNOWS!

#36 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 2:25:35 PM

@Taz, in your own opinion (not IFFHS), do you think Wenger is the best manager of the past decade...all things considered?
marex
#37 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 2:37:28 PM

The award Wenger received is based on nominations and resultant seedings from the annual managerial awards, playing style of the managers, money spent on new signings, league and cup progression. This award didn't just focus on who has won more trophies. Wenger has been in the top four managerial ranking for the past 10 years. He introduced an awareness in the premier league that player wages and fees were out of control. I think he's the one who made Fergie (who is a great coach) realize that spending 30M pounds on star names was no longer the way to go. Ancelloti recently declared that the "Arsenal's way is the best way".

Arsenal beat Chelsea and Man City this season with a team not worth more than 40M pounds and we are expected to finish above them in the league. SAF has won more trophies but Wenger has been successful relative to money spent. Just have a look at some of SAF signings.....Veron 30M, Berbatov 30M, Rooney 30M, Rio 30M, RVN 20M, Anderson 18Md'oh! , Nani 18M, Hargreaves 18Md'oh! , Carrick 18M d'oh! , Valencia 16M......Wenger has only spent 25% of what SAF has yet he still keeps the club competitive on all competitions. Clearly ARSENE KNOWS!

NOW THAT IS CONVINCINGApplause Applause
The way I am
#38 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 3:51:44 PM

Just have a look at some of SAF signings.....Veron 30M, Berbatov 30M, Rooney 30M, Rio 30M, RVN 20M, Anderson 18Md'oh! , Nani 18M, Hargreaves 18Md'oh! , Carrick 18M d'oh! , Valencia 16M......Wenger has only spent 25% of what SAF has yet he still keeps the club competitive on all competitions. Clearly ARSENE KNOWS!

You have forgotten the other astute signings like Njembe-mjembe, Pinochio and Kleversin the Brazilian World Cup winner. You are bound to be unfair to the great Red Nose if you don't mention them.
annsal
#39 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 4:08:00 PM

This i like.Applause
God loves a Trier!
#40 Posted : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 4:23:39 PM

marex wrote:
Alex Ferguson is the best manager that has ever graced the face of Planet Earth!!!!....that is the universal truth. All these promotions given to Wenger are lopsided opinions by his subjects of obsession whose intention is to cover for his glaring inadequacies.

Whether you like it it or not people outside England highly regard Wenger thats why the Barca's & Real all want him to be their coach....

This award had very little to do with trophies and even if it did then SAF will still not have won it because we have the likes of Ancelloti who has won the CL twice in the last decade,UEFA super Cup twice, World club Champ, won the Scuddetto, the English Premier league, FA cup na bado amenyamaza......