wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

The wind of change has started blowing over KENYA
Mainat
#41 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2009 10:44:00 AM

all-70% of kenyan voters don't have internet access.
Also,beware of wolves in sheepskin. how much do you know of muthama's et al history?

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
ogutuwalwanga
#42 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2009 3:11:00 PM

Am for the idea 100%.Will suport it to the last coinGet the ball rolling and get us posted.

ogutu
#43 Posted : Saturday, February 07, 2009 11:34:00 PM

@ Alma

please,register the names

wakenya4change.org and tujengekenya.org as I believe we are already for the idea.

We can brainstorm for additional names after we secure this ones.

Secondly,I think we should not bother hiding yet,let the copycats see whats gonna hit them. Most idea thieves after stealing have no clue what next.

I propose all the interested to exchange emails so we can start thrashing out the idea privately. I would suggest we set up new email addresses for this venture. I will post mine here by Monday.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
#44 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2009 6:12:00 AM

wakenya4change.org is registered. I'm just waiting for dns servers to reset otherwise its also hosted on one of my servers.

I will set up a sub forum today so guys can go chat if you wish. and probably send it to mkristo or whoever is interested.

From there you are on your own. Hehe.

just tell me what you need done and I will see what I can do.

Update!

I have set up a simple forum on wakenya4change.org for guys to meet and discuss. i will be out for most of the day today. However,you can send me your emails and I will send you to the forum url.

where's mkristo? Mine is only tech stuff. organising people is really not my forte :)
#45 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2009 7:26:00 AM

@Alma,

where do we pass our e-mails?........

@Mainat,

True 70% Kenyans have no access to internet.........Am thinking.How about getting to them via cellphones when the time comes?.

Guka wa bijuti...
#46 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2009 7:46:00 AM

@njunge and all

please pass your emails to admin at wakenya4change dot org

I will then send you the location of the forum then we can move on from there. I can send these later in the evening today and the whole day tommorow.

I just put a placeholder for the front page until everything is ready to begin.

By the way about Kenyans not having internet access. That is not a new phenomenon. the idea is to use the site a place to organise. There is no way this can be achieved without going on the ground. Even in the USA,you had to put boots on the ground to do the work.

In about 2 yrs internet will be so cheap in Kenya you will be able to do most of the work online. There are also ways to get your site on mobiles etc. Print your newsletters and hand them out to the public.

Using the internet is just one of the tools we have to utilise. Others will include public forums,door to door campaigns,phone calls,etc. That is why I wanted to tell everyone that this is going to be a big project. It is not one of those things that you start then think you have achieved.

We have to adapt as the scenario changes. You also have to understand that the biggest problem in Kenya is lack of information. We rely on the media which is either partisan or just plain inept.

Having a website where you can follow your candidates or your MP's every step means simply you have a database of the actions of every MP in the country. What they voted for or against,the stupid things they said etc. We lack that in Kenya and that is not good.

I have thought about adding a wiki on all the politicians we have. Every time they say something,you just post it on the site. That way,you can be able to do your research better.

Trust me,in 2 yrs time Kenyans will be more internet savvy than you can even imagine.
Mainat
#47 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2009 8:37:00 AM

I am very much 4 this idea. we just need to be aware that the war to get Kenya to where it should will involve aggressively engaging those poor wananchi out there who legitimise people like Kimunya and Ruto.
We need to scrutinise the current MPS more tightly but even more so the potential MPs.
BTW,please have a look at mzalendo.com which started off with a similar purpose. They used to have volunteers who covered parliamentary proceedings and also had pages for potential challengers.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
mkristo
#48 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2009 8:57:00 AM

@ all,

I sincerely commend you for your whole hearted commitment to this.

Now here we go.

If you are interested in us having a first face-to-face meeting to chart the way forward please write to me on mkristo247@gmail.com

Let me know that you are in Nairobi cos that's where I am and I think if we need a working team it will have to be,for the mean time,within Nairobi for obvious reasons.

Once I get your email,I will move on to see how we can organize a meeting soonest possible.

@alma,Thank you once again for your Zest and passion in this. Keep it up. As you can already sense from others we are so glad that you are in this.

Now,please,in all honesty I have no vested interests in this,and the day you sense that I am beginning to behave differently,please let me know. I'll be more than glad to step aside and let this vision grow cos it is not mine. It belongs to Kenyans and it is from God. Again I think no single person should claim ownership of this initiative to themselves. As you can see from the responses,this is a thing for the people and not for Mkristo or Alma,or Njung'e etc. It is for us all. Together we can stand,divided we shall fall.

One last thing,I am a Christian,for real,but i have no problem working with people from other faiths as long as we are joined by one purpose,CHANGE FOR KENYA FOR BETTER LIVELIHOOD. That's a major common denominator don&rsquo;t let my faith offend you. It is just who I am and have no apologies for that.

the voice of reason
mkristo
#49 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2009 10:43:00 AM

I want to take this opportunity to welcome you to the forum wakenya4change.org that has been graciously set up by alma. Try it out and give your feedback so that we can know where and how to improve it. Sawa?

Change is indeed happening even right now. It is like a nuclear reaction; no one can stop it. Any one who stands in the way will be swept away. Those that flow with it they will benefit.

It does not have to be violent. It can be subtle,consistent,and forceful. Before anyone knows it,the world will be a different place to be.

Let's keep the vision alive,we want SERVANT leaders. We want everyone to know that SERVANT LEADERS are the ones we want.

We don&rsquo;t want corrupt leaders,who when they get to power all they think of is how they can be more corrupt and cover for their past sins.

We have the power. It is in our hands. THE VOTE. We need to educate our brothers and sisters,fathers and mothers,cousins,nephews,nieces,grandparents. Let them know that we don&rsquo;t want CORRUPT leaders,we want VISIONARY SERVANT LEADERS. Tell them not to waste their votes. Tell them to just think soberly just this once.

Tell them,YES WE CAN.

the voice of reason
mtafutaji
#50 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2009 8:57:00 PM

@mkristo

I am in on this one. Transparent leaders have been long overdue. We can't stand leaders who have been named in scandal after scandal still claiming to represent the interest of the people when they are dying of hunger. I have an audience in the diaspora whom i can reach to help in this worth cause.
http://www.mnkenyan.com
Visit the site and share your experience and opinion at our blog or discussion forum.
#51 Posted : Monday, February 09, 2009 12:05:00 AM

I have been giving this new initiative some thot and I just realized that for it to be successful,we will need to answer the question that is on every Kenyan's mind?

'WHY DO OUR POLITICIANS ABANDON US IMMEDIATELY THEY GET POWER'

The 2 politicians who this question is so relevant to are James Orengo and Rev. Mutava Musyimi. They have different styles but at one time they came accross as 2 people with genuine interest in the well being of Kenyans,but after they got into govt,they seem to have given up.

How do we answer this question,for me the key to change is in providing answers to this and other similar questions.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
Tokyo
#52 Posted : Monday, February 09, 2009 12:44:00 AM

very good idea whose time has come. a forum to share on how to build rather than how to rob. Kenya is not poor but has been reduced to the current state by our selfish beasts.

count me in.will donate printer,scanner,photocopier when nthe office is ready to help deliver our pple from this ruthless animals
work to prosper
PONDI
#53 Posted : Monday, February 09, 2009 4:38:00 AM

great idea. now if only you could try and involve civil society. they are far better at mobilising than anyone else......by the way in Madagascar the 'leader' of the revolt against the president is a 34 year old dude. that should motivate and encourage our youth...
Sigiriri
#54 Posted : Monday, February 09, 2009 5:20:00 AM

Let it be known by all,that I also pledge my support in this venture. I believe that we who are first to volunteer recources,skills,time and support will be the very redeemers of the nation from the current so called 'fatcats'

It will be important at the point of registration for pple to identify their constituencies,and further after that,pple in the same constituency may then be able to even get together and have their own meetings. This will be a good way for us to vet each other. We do not need moles planted among us. And online voting exposes us to the craftiness of schemers who would nominate their own stooge by just being able to mobilise a large number of e-Voters. Kenyans will be Kenyans and you will find money being passed around....this is what has brought us where we are,it must be stemmed and stamped out!

Some of us have no interest in becoming MPs/Councillors/President,but are happy to be in committess as we can be relied on to do background checks back in our villages and root out the 'tea- swillers!'

Bidii yangu
#55 Posted : Monday, February 09, 2009 5:22:00 AM

Obi,

You might not find an answer that easily............When Githongo was asked the same question about one Kiraitu Muriungi,he had this to say..........'He was a decent man.Something went terribly wrong'.......Maybe we should say the same for those we've had so much hope in and once in government,they lost it.....

Guka wa bijuti...
danny6
#56 Posted : Monday, February 09, 2009 6:10:00 AM

Finally its here!

First its all thanks to this great idea well thought and put to test,just in cognizance of the late Ugandan writer John Rubadiri,in his book the 'Burdens',he brought to fore one great simple pauper and a great thinker (Wamala) who invented a great idea and only ended in the wrong hands,in simple terms lets all embrace this idea develope it and guard it with zeal and zest for if we don't own it definitely someone will run away with it!

'Elections are won by men and women chiefly because most people vote against somebody rather than for somebody'.

'When we are campaigning and you demand money from us,where do you expect we are going to recoup that money?'.Martha Karua
stongoi
#57 Posted : Monday, February 09, 2009 9:28:00 PM

I have never been more convinced that great minds think alike as i am now. I have been talking to people and we thought of a similar idea-using the internet to link the grassroots and the diaspora with the hope that their synergy would provide impetus for political change in Kenya. The strategy you have proposed has the potential of spawning a movement so formidable it would make Obama's campaign look like childsplay..

How does one get added to the email distribution list?
mkristo
#58 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2009 4:57:00 AM

@stongoi

Thank you very much for your support. Indeed this is an idea &ndash; I further consider it divine &ndash; that has come at the right time.

Please write to me on mkristo247@gmail.com . Some people are opposed to the whole idea for the mere fact that they see my user name is Mkristo and are thinking that this is a religious movement.

I want to assure you and everyone else,much as I am a devoted Christian,this is not a religious movement. It is about getting the bad leaders out and getting good leaders in; PERIOD! If you feel me on this one,please,by all means get on board.

And by the way,if indeed you intend to discriminate me on the basis on my religion,or simply do not want to associate with me because I am a Christian,then that is okay. It only tells me one thing; that you are prejudiced and that is the very thing we are trying to fight against in this our country KENYA. Prejudism,ethnicity,racism name it.

I will not say much,but we all need to work together in unity and purpose. Until we are united in one purpose we can complain all our lives and northing will ever change.

You want CHANGE? Then let's work together,you are my brother,you are my sister,WHEN I LOOK AT YOU,I SEE THE VERY IMAGE OF GOD.

the voice of reason
hdadi
#59 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2009 6:52:00 AM

great minds think alike dont they brother....

Huzyo Dadi
Kamwari
#60 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2009 7:34:00 AM

Yes great minds think alike. I believe that its time to change Kenya,am a huge believer of the secret and for those who have read it will agree with me that the conference of the Kenya we want is a huge step. When we focus on what we want,it will surely come. Count me in!