wazua Fri, Nov 1, 2024

Depositing Cash via the ATM:-Anyone experienced this?
kivairu
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 06, 2011 10:48:22 AM

Hi on Dec 29th you have ksh.50000 on you rushing to do some purchases.You get to the shop and they just closed for the day.Being the festive season you reckon that it may not be so wise to carry cash, least you spend it in ways unexpected.You drive by the ATM and deposit the cash into your account via the ATM.A week later the money does not reflect on your account.You have the deposit slip, amount deposited and the time.You call your bank and the dude you spoke to says they will investigate and call you back but they dont.......Anyone experienced this?

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
milken
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 06, 2011 2:28:24 PM

My exprience was slightly different. I deposited 20K at Stanchart Moi Avenue in 2005. They credited my account with 6K. I lodged a complaint and they said they were going to investigate, they even took me to securicor who manage the CIT business to see for myself how my money could not have been stolen (this was total crap). Finally they said they were not going to credit the 54K. I raised hell, wrote a letter to CBK Anti Bank Fraud with c.c. to the bank and Director of Bank Supervision. To cut the long story short they credited my account the following day. I advise that usicheke na wao and if they do not credit your account write to CBK
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 06, 2011 2:47:46 PM

I never ever trust those machines with my money on deposits. It calls for for much faith on so many parties that I can't control such that it is a no no. I still use the ATMs but only for withdrawals even though I once got a shortfall of 1k on a withdrawal from an ATM and my bank manager was like 'it's your word against the machine and the machine can't lie...'

@milken was that trip to securicor (G4S?) before the millionaire pap heists of company we now know as G4S?
milken
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 06, 2011 3:05:11 PM

That was before ponyoka na pick up.

It was room fitted with CCTV (that was not working)when they empty the safe boxes in the ATM and verify the amount inside ach envelop against what is written on the envelop.
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
Tommy
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 06, 2011 4:55:26 PM

This machines can mess our lives and i cant trust them, though sometimes i have no choice but to use them. I also noticed that it is possible to deposit cash without an envelope. The machine has to verify and wait for the attendant to confirm the amount, i guess its a bit safer this way. @all Lets be careful and try to verify the transaction in the earliest time possible.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 06, 2011 6:03:43 PM

Your story brings a note of caution...

I've used SCB's many years in my life before proliferation of late night banking. Never had a problem except once, and then I received mail from bank immediately the amount I indicated in the slip differed from what I had banked by 1,000.

If what @kivairu and @milken say is true, then ATM cash deposits can become tricky.

Amir
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 06, 2011 8:41:26 PM

On a ATM related issue: Yesterday(5th) my younger brother withdrew 17k from my account in one of BBK ATM in MSA, was supposed to Mpesa the money to my other brother to pay rent in nairobi. So when he goes to mpesa agent 3k notes are fake and the fella is taken to Mtwapa Police station by the mpesa agent who thinks the lad wants to con him,where he is manhandled vibaya. Finally a friend bails him out, the police take the 3k fake notes n raruas them. So i have two questions:
(1) Anyone ever withdrew fake notes from an ATM?
(2) If so what legal redress do i take against the bank now that the evidence(the fake notes were destroyed)?
Any advice is welcome

The Brave may not live forever - but the cautious do not live at all: Richard Branson
#8 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 10:41:19 AM

@Amir kweli kweli, pole.

I remember many years ago withdrawing money from an SCB ATM and giving KShs 1,000 to a friend who said he had problems of the same kind.

But more recently was outside an ATM withdrawing 2,500 but punched an extra 0 by mistake, much to my chagrin! I had to immediately go into the bank to queue to deposit the excess funds.

At the counter, I was surprised by how many times the teller scanned and rescanned 1000s and 500s, while occasionally looking up to see whether my face gave any clue of suspicion. I just stared quietly with wonder, choosing not to share the fact that the ATM had just dispensed those very same notes.
Chaka
#9 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 11:08:58 AM

@Amir,
Pole but how sure are you that it was the mpesa agent that swapped good notes with the fake ones i.e when your bro may not have been paying attention?
Pablo
#10 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 11:09:40 AM

Had a new experience at Equity Bank ATM at Westlands.
The ATM counts the cash and confirms it and credits your account immediatley.

Banked 100k and credited 97k to my account and returned 3k which were oldish.

Good technology which reduces the need to G4S to keep refilling.
Amir
#11 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 11:23:25 AM

@Chaka it was such a big drama cozz the lady at the mpesa was cross checking one note after the other as my brother passed them to her.After getting the fake ones she called the supervisor,who stated that a few days ago such a similar case occurred of 10k fake notes.The police at Mtwapa claimed that my bro was cheating and since he is from nai, many nai fellas travelled to coast over xmass with fake notes. The police station was dealing with such complains from clubs, bars, lodgings, supermarkets, etc every day.
So fellow nairobi fellas stop spoiling names of a few good/honest nairobi citizens. My bro is still traumatized and worse the ATM did not have receipts at that time Nktest!!!

The Brave may not live forever - but the cautious do not live at all: Richard Branson
Outvestor
#12 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 11:31:06 AM

Amir wrote:

So i have two questions:
(2) If so what legal redress do i take against the bank now that the evidence(the fake notes were destroyed)?
Any advice is welcome

http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=7226
¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
Pastor M
#13 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 12:36:06 PM

Equity Bank are doing great Job you deposit cash and it is moved to your account PAP.it counter checks the notes and any bad note is returned back to you to fuel your car.....I had a great experience at Kimathi...You can also deposit through an Equity agent directly to your account.

Kudos Members Bank.
gohill
#14 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 12:43:56 PM

Amir wrote:
On a ATM related issue: Yesterday(5th) my younger brother withdrew 17k from my account in one of BBK ATM in MSA, was supposed to Mpesa the money to my other brother to pay rent in nairobi. So when he goes to mpesa agent 3k notes are fake and the fella is taken to Mtwapa Police station by the mpesa agent who thinks the lad wants to con him,where he is manhandled vibaya. Finally a friend bails him out, the police take the 3k fake notes n raruas them. So i have two questions:
Any advice is welcome

Boss you have no course of legal redress whatsoever in this case. You broke the very canon law by sharing your PIN. But pole lakini.
Amir
#15 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 2:53:34 PM

gohill wrote:
Amir wrote:
Any advice is welcome

Boss you have no course of legal redress whatsoever in this case. You broke the very canon law by sharing your PIN. But pole lakini.

Am not complaining that my money was stolen, am just wondering why dispense fake notes??

gohill
#16 Posted : Friday, January 07, 2011 3:09:26 PM

Amir wrote:
gohill wrote:
Amir wrote:
Any advice is welcome

Am not complaining that my money was stolen, am just wondering why dispense fake notes??

And there lies the burden of proof. You see you were told .....
kivairu
#17 Posted : Saturday, January 08, 2011 10:12:31 AM

Actually the bank i mentioned in my opening thread is KCB. They finally called me informing me that they had 'finaly' found the money and if i could go to the bank for a chat with them or if they can just go ahead and credit the amount to my account. I told them to go ahead and credit the monies to my account and when i checked an hour later the money had been credited to my account.It got me thinking...how many people lose money in such uncouth ways at the banks? Those bank clerks really must me very very liquid on any day. I tend to think probably they wanted me to go the bank to ask me not to raise hell or write about the fiasco.But for me this is an eye opener .i think banks are fleecing us everyday and there's need for each of us to look closely at our account statements keenly.Any wonder then , that banks are posting profits every year.

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
marko
#18 Posted : Saturday, January 08, 2011 11:22:02 AM

i did once ask Barclays about their atm deposits and they said that the envelopes are opened in the presence of two bank officials who verify the contents.luckily,only atms found at their branches have that function.
Drool Drool Drool
WHO DARES WINS
Silk
#19 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 9:53:46 AM

Kcb operates two very old Atm machines at Kitengela. You are never sure they will yield cash. I've had two similar failed experiences. The latest one three months ago on Saturday, i was withdrawing 25k, the machine runs over and over again, gives me everything else except the cash. Was promised to wait the transaction will reverse, meanwhile the Bank closes, comes Monday, nothing, i visit them on Tuesday, and asked to do a letter after which they reverse, BUT without the Atm 30/= transaction charge.
I'll withdraw from Atms anytime but will not trust the machines with deposits as yet.
Lawmania
#20 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 11:44:54 AM

Hi all,

I have never queued in a banking hall to deposit money to my account for the last three years. I have always relied on the ATMS both for cash deposit and withdrawal. More like 15 or more times a month since Its biashara cash to offset cheque due.

i.e. Equity bank.

I have also done the direct deposit from Mpesa to my bank account - on several occassions to my chama account.

I think we all need to embrace technology. Only queue to pay my 'shop' rent and kid school fees.... all else via ATM

ATM help avoid the long queues experienced only avoid ATMs at end-month only (like 5 days) and thereaftre ATMs are free for use