wazua Sat, Dec 6, 2025

Kadhi Courts
mali ya nguvu
#21 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 2:13:00 PM

@ Litoro

they have been created by an Act of Parliament which is superseded by constitution

Why cant they remain where they are?why do the muslims insist they should be in the constitution?Are they effective in their current setting?

Peace to all men of Goodwill
mtaalam
#22 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 2:15:00 PM

@Bashka

All I'm saying is when you put it in the document that's supposed to govern me then it starts to affect me. Knowing it's there becomes (for lack of a better phrase) a distant thorn.

Have you ever applied for a loan from a bank and you see a clause that you are not comfortable with and when you enquire further you are told by everyone to just sign on the dotted line because you'll find it in all banks anyway? That's how I feel.

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas. Those of average intelligence talk about things. Stupid people talk about other people.
Litoro
#23 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 2:22:00 PM

Okay if they are in an act of paliament and nobody has complained 4 all these years,then wacha zikae hiko huko unless muslims can prove that under the current arrangement,their rights have been grossly violated and can only be safeguaded if entrenced in the new katiba. otherwise wawache DOMO!
#24 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 3:14:00 PM

Question

Is Kenya a secular state?

If the answer to the above question is yes then there is no debate......Kadhi courts or any other religion based law should never appear in our supreme constitution for that meaning will be lost.

If the answer is anything else but yes then we can discuss if or if not

my two cents.

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
Waria
#25 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 4:01:00 PM

Kadhis courts are indeed in the current constitution. So by voting NO to the new constitution will not change anything.
they have been there since independence. The history is long and may be historians like @TRScan help.....before the mzungu came,coast was part of the zanzibzri sultanate. The christian missionaries 'convinced'(for lack of a better word) the inland natives to leave their traditions and worship their God. Unfortunately the coastal muslims were not easily 'convinced' and remained muslim to date. To protect their rights since they were the minority,it was entrenched in the constitution which requires 2/3 majority to change unlike an act of parliament which even MK regularly ignores

In any society the treatment given to the minority is a barometer of its justness.

Me first,U next
#26 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 4:22:00 PM

mcreggae and co.,it might actually be a good idea to read the constitution before proclaiming unequivocally that the kadhi's court is not in the constitution. in this day and age when you can easily google the kenyan constitution to do so is either downright lazy or dishonest.

section 66 of the constitution (chapter iv part 2) provides that:

'(1) There shall be a Chief Kadhi and such number,not being less than three,of other Kadhis as may be prescribed by or under an Act of Parliament.

'(2) A person shall not be qualified to be appointed to hold or act in the office of Kadhi unless -

'(a) he professes the Muslim religion; and

'(b) he possesses such knowledge of the Muslim law applicable to any sect or sects of Muslims as qualifies him,in the opinion of the Judicial Service Commission,to hold a Kadhi's court.

'(3) Without prejudice to section 65 (1),there shall be such subordinate courts held by Kadhis as Parliament may establish and each Kadhi's court shall,subject to this Constitution,have such jurisdiction and powers as may be conferred on it by any law.

'(4) The Chief Kadhi and the other Kadhis,or the Chief Kadhi and such of the other Kadhis (not being less than three in number) as may be prescribed by or under an Act of Parliament,shall each be empowered to hold a Kadhi's court having jurisdiction within the former Protectorate or within such part of the former Protectorate as may be so prescribed:

'Provided that no part of the former Protectorate shall be outside the jurisdiction of some Kadhi's court.

'(5) The jurisdiction of a Kadhi's court shall extend to the determination of questions of Muslim law relating to personal status,marriage,divorce or inheritance in proceedings in which all the parties profess the Muslim religion.'

ps: litoro - you blow hot and cold.
flipthecoin
#27 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 5:24:00 PM

These should be removed in toto from the constitution.there is an ulterior course being fronted by the muslim - to islamise not only kenya and africa but the world.if what al shabab stand for is a glimpse of what sharia is all about,even the slightest reference or sembrance of sharia should not be tolerated.all it will take is have many people being won over to islam and have them clamouring for enhancement of their rights as would have been entrenched in the constitution.letz reject this agenda! we can deal with a religiously neutral constitution but not one that pedestals one religion over others.

Everyone should be heard and respected!
#28 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 7:35:00 PM

flipthecoin,your post is so idiotic it deifies belief. i wanted to state that with all due respect but you obviously deserve none. the word bigot actually comes to mind on reading your post.
Sigiriri
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 5:18:00 AM

I agree with @kingfisher,Kenya's draft constitution does not lean toward any religion. It remains clearly a secular state. Now,80% christians and still a secular state....now a minority is what muslims us to believe they are and therefore we ought to protect their 'rights'

Secular is and must remain secular throughout!!

Kadhi courts can be in an act of Parliament and believe me,no one is interested in denying anyone their rights,but religion and state MUST remain seperate. In islam countries they entrench it because islam is indeed the way of governing. In our secular state,there is no room for constitutional 'segregation'

Just what I think.

Baraka za Mungu ni za Ajabu
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 5:50:00 AM

who pays the chief Kadhi? if its from my taxes....NO!!!
extrablessed
#31 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 8:11:00 AM

@Bashka & Waria... We get you. But my question remains: would Muslim be worse off in terms of rights and privileges if the Kadhi courts are left out of the national document? Will justice not be dispensed?

Pls list for us (1,2,3 ...) the consequences of failure to entrench the Kadhi Courts into the constitution ..... and you might get full support from many of us,if its really convincing. We don&rsquo;t want our brother Muslims to suffer in any way.....And then,they should not just insist on Kadhi courts just for the sake of it...

Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
flipthecoin
#32 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 8:36:00 AM

@Mkenyan,I feel your frustration which borders more on one whose raw nerve has been stepped on seeing how devoid of facts to support your bigotry tirades are. Needless to say that I have no apologies to make on my claim;after all every religion seeks to stand out by winning others over - unfortunately for some forcing their beliefs down convertees' throats is a calling.
Having said that;I beg to move - should you have hard facts to disapprove my claims including but not limited to shedding light on the Abuja declaration,we can then engage.
The passion with which you pour out vitriol shows the more reasons why we need to keep this kadhi thing as far as possible from our constitution.

Everyone should be heard and respected!
mkristo
#33 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 9:30:00 AM

@All,

Thank you for bringing this debate back. I wish to refer you to my earlier post on the same Constitution Review; Secular vs religious state

each day is a gift from God; I dont know if I will be here tomorrow; should I be,I'll make the most of it for God's glory; should I be not,pick up and keep the legacy
#34 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 10:04:00 AM

flipthecoin - which claim? your post to which i responded would be an insult to all claims if it was to be mentioned in the same breathe as a claim. the fact that you do not even see anything wrong in repeating some 'learned' lines which can best be deemed conspiracy theories as facts is disturbing on so many levels.

so if you come up with any claims (and not that claims,not 'claims' claiming to be facts) then i shall be minded to engage you before that,all i see is unfounded learned ramblings of a moron. how is maintaining the kadhi courts in a new constitution an ulterior plot by muslims to 'islamise' kenya and africa? on one thing you are right - you did hit a raw nerve with me: i cannot just stand morons,moreso bigotted ones.

and for those stating that the kadhi issue is an issue of whether kenya is to be a secular or a religions state one question: all these years that the kadhi courts have been and still are in the constitution,has kenya been a muslim state or a secular state? how many of us here have bothered to find out
mkristo
#35 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 11:03:00 AM

@mkenya

the fact remains,Kenya is neither a Christian State nor a Muslim state. it is a secular state,therefore Muslims should respect that and keep their Khadhi Courts and religious issues out of the state constitution.

let's keep it that simple and focused.

each day is a gift from God; I dont know if I will be here tomorrow; should I be,I'll make the most of it for God's glory; should I be not,pick up and keep the legacy
Bashka
#36 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 11:51:00 AM

I repeat what I had said earlier..........

'Some people are taking us back to where we were before the referendum in 2005. How can Khadi's court be contentious? I am sure most of us have heard of Khadhi's court for the first time during 2005 referendum,and now in 2009'

@Mkristo,how will Khadi's court affect you?
Jacy26
#37 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 12:15:00 PM

I support @flipthecoin. The muslims are doing everything they can to get a good grip on Kenya. I understand they are marrying Christian girls in large numbers,showering them with all the riches.... the only catch being to bear them muslim children. In a few years the Muslims will not be a minority so why entrench the Kadhi's Court into the constitution.

I will praise thee,O Lord my God,with all my heart: And I will glorify thy name forever more. Psalms 86:12
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
#38 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 1:11:00 PM

mkristo - kenya has always been a secular state and it is best it remains that way.. i totally agree. retaining the kadhi courts in the constitutions would however not change that contrary to the popular opinion. the kadhi courts have always been recognised by our constitution and that has in no way affected the non-muslim faiths. i do not see how it would start doing that with a new constitution.

the danger to the muslims is that the constitution provides for the various type of courts and if the kadhi's court is removed from it and left to an act of parliament then the constitutional protection that all the other courts enjoy wont exist and it wont be long before you find someone challenging the constiuttionality of the kadhi courts and a judge actually agreeing. that is but just one of the many dangers.

and mkristo,are you against having the kadhi courts or merely having them in the constitution with no objection to them being established by an act of parliament?
#39 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 1:35:00 PM

Haven't gone through all the posts in this thread so,may be some one has aired sentiments similar to mine.

There is a mistaken belief amongst non-Muslim Kenyans that the Muslims want special treatment. After all 'Why do they want their court in 'our' constitution?'

We forget how this thing came about....

Yash Pal Ghai and his CKRC team went around the country collecting views from all Kenyans on what they want included in the constitution. During those hearings,the Muslims proposed the inclusion of the Kadhi Court in the constitution as a 'High Court'.

Their aim was to give it more teeth to enforce its rulings and make them binding. Currently,this Court is a toothless bull dog which is ignored by anyone who wants to do so.

Anyway,at that time,anybody who cared to go to CKRC do so and said whatever he/she wanted and it was recorded....the submissions in raw form used to be available on the ckrc website...don't know if the site is still there...

If the Christians and Hindus wanted to have their Courts,the could have submitted the proposal to CKRC.

So really,it is not a question of seeking special status. Rather,people were invited to make submissions and the Muslims made theirs.

BTW: I made a submission for the creation of a tribal house of parliament as an upper house; but that's a story for a different thread. Point is,we were free to propose anything we wished and if there were enough people suggesting a particular thing,it would find it's way into the draft constitution.

I guess my tribal House was a lone idea.....

Still though,we need to be a little more accommodating and figure out how to give this important court teeth to enforce its rulings. An Act of Parliament does not work.

At Bomas,the Kadhi Court was relegated to a subordinate court [magistrates court] from the level of High Court.

Perhaps this gives us a procedure for creating new courts in the future. If an interest groups wants a Court,they first have under an Act of Parliament for,say,10 - 20 years; see how it works; then upgrade it into the constitution.....

To answer the question of the thread; I don't have a problem with the Kadhi Court in the manner proposed at Bomas.

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#40 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 1:39:00 PM

...On the issue of Kenya being a secular state; that would be a misnomer!

This is a deeply religious nation....

So we are really a multi-religious state....not a secular one

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)