wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

124 Pages«<4243444546>»
Finally the EPL kicks off!
#861 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 1:20:42 PM

As I pointed out yesterday, its an anomaly to lose more matches than drawn. So for me what happened yesterday is a mere correction of an anomaly.

Expect more aseno and chelsea draws as the season progresses. Meanwhile Man U can only lose a couple of matches since lost/drawn matches statistics favours them.
#862 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 1:22:37 PM

mwenza wrote:
McReggae.....i'm still questioning Wenger's decision to make 8 changes from the team that thrashed Chelsea. He just gave Wigan the belief that they could pick a positive result from us.

Mr Bean has got absolutely nothing new to offer aseno. The sooner the management do a Benitez on him the better for the health of all the aseno fans.

Didn't somebody say that aseno blow Hot n Cold?

Don't get it twisted, my problem is with his team selection for the Wigan match and not our performance so far in the season. Don't also forget that we're just two points behind Man Utd who also dropped two points against relegation-threatened Birmingham.

Out of 8 away matches Man Utd has only won 1...They have one of the worst away records this season having collected only 10 points from a possible 24 pts. They are yet to play Chelsea (A), Spurs (A) and Arsenal (A) so i expect more points to be dropped.

As for statistics i think someone mentioned it earlier but I'll still repeat it anyway....If you get draws in 6 matches its the same as winning 2 matches and losing 4, that's why Arsenal & Chelsea can afford to lose matches but still keep Man Utd withing touching distance.
#863 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 1:42:14 PM

@Taz, you lost a chance to go joint top! Wacha pang'ang'a ya 'Oh drawing 6 is like winning 2 and losing 4'. We've clearly seen that it may not be the case as can be viewed by the EPL table. If the 2nd half of the season was a carbon copy of the 1st, do you still think you would win the league with your losses and United's draws?
#864 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 1:47:21 PM

As for statistics i think someone mentioned it earlier but I'll still repeat it anyway....If you get draws in 6 matches its the same as winning 2 matches and losing 4, that's why Arsenal & Chelsea can afford to lose matches but still keep Man Utd withing touching distance.

Wrong. For me 6 draws are equivalent to 6 points deservedly gained. You can't talk of losses where there is none..
#865 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 1:59:22 PM

@TAZ...............I got a gut feeling that aseno fans were more disappointed with their draw than their Man U counterparts.Man U draw took them to the top of the log with a game in hand.

Conversely, aseno draw came when their fans were on cloud nine following what they thought was their teams thrashing of chelsea. Secondly the draw had no impact on their position on the table, never mind the fact that they have played a game more.

IN WENGER WE TRUST!
#866 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 2:05:28 PM

Where is that guy of the Mboch and 2kgs of meat?
#867 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 2:10:58 PM

that's why Arsenal & Chelsea can afford to lose matches but still keep Man Utd withing touching distance.

You cant afford it, trust me. Even Arsene knows that.
#868 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 2:17:08 PM

that's why Arsenal & Chelsea can afford to lose matches but still keep Man Utd withing touching distance.

You cant afford it, trust me. Even Arsene knows that.

They can also afford to dismiss all the trophies except the carling cup.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#869 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:00:41 PM

Let me still repeat what i said earlier...a draw against teams in the second half of the table (including Liverpool) is not something that would excite any team/fan/manager that has hopes of winning the title. I don't expect Man Utd fans to tell us that they are somehow comfortable with the draws they've had this season most of which were really unexpected. The only reason why you're still at the top is because both Arsenal and your title "rivals" Chelsea have failed to capitalize on your inconsistencies....lets see whether you'll be twice lucky in the second half of the season.

@Mwenza...Last season Man Utd were bragging that at least they won the Carling Cup, why are you dismissing it now????
#870 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:00:50 PM

A person who manages a so-called top club and goes 5yrs trophyless is surely a candidate for a sack. Have seen managers go home for less.
#871 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:03:03 PM

@Mwenza - Very funny signature.

Picture this:

It's the last day of the season and Man U is playing against team x. If Man U wins the match team x gets relegated and Man U wins the League. If Man U looses the game, team y wins the League, team x survives relegation and Arsenal is relegated instead! Which one would you pick?

Believe me such a poll was done in Brazil a couple of years back [Involving perennial rivals Corinthians and Palmeiras] and an overwhelming majority of the fans said they'd rather lose the League and the rival is relegated! "We can always win the League next season" some of them we quoted as saying.

Corithians also have a rivalry with Sao Paulo. These three teams [Sao Paulo, Corinthians and Palmeiras] are from Sao Paulo but the Corinthians and Palmeiras rivalry is major!

In a match played last month Sao Paulo's fans cheered Fluminense for beating them 4 - 1! Why? Because the defeat dealt a serious blow their rival's - Corinthians - chances of lifting the title! And get this, by loosing, they [Sao Paulo] also lost their last chance to win the title! Last year, Corinthians conceded very suspicious goals to Flamengo causing Flamengo to go above Sao Paulo in the table.

Najua Wazuans na mambo ya "Weka link hapa!" so here are the links:

Link To The Story

Link To The Sao Paulo - Fluminese Game/Highlights
#872 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:06:47 PM

The only reason why you're still at the top is because both Arsenal and your title "rivals" Chelsea have failed to capitalize on your inconsistencies....lets see whether you'll be twice lucky in the second half of the season.

@Mwenza...Last season Man Utd were bragging that at least they won the Carling Cup, why are you dismissing it now????

@TAZ........Am not dismissing Carling Cup. You dismissed it yourself when arguing that emirates cup is superior to it. Hope its not another case of selective amnesia on your part.

The only reason you have failed to capitalize on our "inconsistencies" is because you are "very consistent". Habari ndio hiyo.
#873 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:12:55 PM

mwenza wrote:

Maybe he is looking for a viazi kilo tatu na maembe mbili analogy!

@TAZ and all Chelsea and Arsenal fans - Losing is losing. Period. Wacheni hii loser mentality.

Hii maneno ya 4 losses, 2 wins sijui 6 draws ni sawa na kusema "Kulala njaa siku nne kisha kula nyama siku mbili ni sawa na kula sima na mboga siku sita". Porojo tupu!
#874 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:19:46 PM

mwenza wrote:

Maybe he is looking for a viazi kilo tatu na maembe mbili analogy!

@TAZ and all Chelsea and Arsenal fans - Losing is losing. Period. Wacheni hii loser mentality.

Hii maneno ya 4 losses, 2 wins sijui 6 draws ni sawa na kusema "Kulala njaa siku nne kisha kula nyama siku mbili ni sawa na kula sima na mboga siku sita". Porojo tupu!

We didn't lose against Wigan, did we?

@Mwenza...I don't think I've ever declared anywhere that Carling Cup is an important cup for Arsenal and I'm not about to start now whether we win it or not. what i said is that maybe if we win it this year it would give the players a winning mentality to go after the main cups.
#875 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:23:49 PM

what i said is that maybe if we win it this year it would give the players a winning mentality to go after the main cups.

Good. Now we are talking. That is what is lacking - even in the fans. Giving us lectures of 2 wins, 4 losses vs 6 draws!!!
#876 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:30:02 PM

We didn't lose against Wigan, did we?

@Mwenza...I don't think I've ever declared anywhere that Carling Cup is an important cup for Arsenal and I'm not about to start now whether we win it or not. what i said is that maybe if we win it this year it would give the players a winning mentality to go after the main cups.

Your expectations against Wigan were very high especially after the much hyped win against poor chelsea.

At least you are honest on your position on the carling cup although the other day you talked of it as giving your team a winning mentality.

Lakini hiyo main cup itabidi usahau juu ina wenyewe.
#877 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:39:38 PM

what i said is that maybe if we win it this year it would give the players a winning mentality to go after the main cups.

Good. Now we are talking. That is what is lacking - even in the fans. Giving us lectures of 2 wins, 4 losses vs 6 draws!!!

Even Cesc Fabregas knows that only too well. He even went public about it.

You forgot to mention that even the management seeem to suffer from lack of a winning mentality. Otherwise how do you explain the fact that they don't put Mr Bean under pressure for failing to deliver a trophy for 5yrs.
#878 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:43:56 PM

The difference is that Man U won the carling cup soon after winning the EPL twice in a row.

If you win it this season, and thats a big 'if', it will be after winning nothing for five years in a row.

Tafakari hayo.
#879 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 3:56:10 PM

mwenza wrote:
A friend wrote:
"I'm sick of hearing about Arsenal finally maturing as a team. There have been false dawns for about 3 seasons now, they're hardly a team of 18 year olds are they?! They have plenty of experience and shame on them for taking so long to beat Chelsea, 11 matches without a win was it? One win against a team that has not won in 7 games doesn't suddenly make them an amazing team, they're grossly inconsistent and to me still play airy-fairy fancy football without a plan B that doesn't get results when it matters most. Another false dawn if you ask me..."

Truly and surely a false dawn it is!!

This false dawn came sooner than any Man U fan had anticipated.

Kweli haka ni ka-team ka ma-false dawns.
#880 Posted : Thursday, December 30, 2010 4:23:07 PM

Frm Birmingham n shitty match l think max pts arses can aim for is 3, could be worse!!!!