wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

CONNED @ COOP ATM
#21 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 8:32:00 AM

@Burning
That story + your signature...

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
bebeto
#22 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 8:33:00 AM

FYI,not all ATMs have CCTV installed,very few have.

onto the matter at hand,just like u've been told by @k22,reconcilliation is done daily.it involves balancing two accounts:

1.the ATM journal roll where u sum up:

a) cash dispensed/withdrawn,

b)cash reamaining in the machine and

c) the rejected notes.....and

2: a special account for the atm which updates itself automatically once a customer withdraws- debits the customer against crediting the ATM A/C

normally,these two have to balance .

in case they dont,it might be due to retraction error-,whereby u withdraw,get ur card back and the receipt but minus cash,which is all recorded in the journal. in this case,a manual check of a/cs stepwise will reveal it and then the posting done accordingly to rectify the anormally .......unless those charged with the ATM wanalalia hiyo pesa.

good thing is,they cant destroy the database and the A/Cs have to balance whatever come may. so,go insist that they check that day's journal or demand to see the manager/C.E.O who will order that to be done.

be happy!
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
#23 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 9:14:00 AM

@magigi,I think huyu jamaa abebe shonde kwa mfuko chokosh style,immediately he gets into the CEO's office,aim appropriately if unsuccessful.

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
#24 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 9:34:00 AM

@Simonkabz:

...ever watched the passion of Jesus Christ? ...look at the face of that fella called Barabas people said he should be released instead of Jesus coming out of jail. If my freind puts on such a face,they will even hand him the cash there and then.

In Kenya,you have a fart on people's faces for them to give you a listen...
nuhu
#25 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 9:57:00 AM

@urpesa

ATM recons which are done daily by the banks should sort you out.
All the ATMS have two casettes,one for Retracted Cash (like yours) and one for Rejected Notes.
There are cases where an ATM debits the account without presenting the cash to you,a normal reversal should solve this,if the money was presented to you and in the process the error occured then the ATM puts the money in the said Retract Casette,the ATM log which the banks use for reconciliation should have this information,its like a ATM black box.

Verdict: Go get your hard earned cash from coop

........it was not raining when Noah built the Ark....
#26 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 10:08:00 AM

This shouldnt be a big issue CCTV or no CCTV. As most have said,reconciliation should sort out the issue. Heed what @willing2learn has advised below. he has given you a number and the guy to talk to.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
kongowea
#27 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 10:12:00 AM

had the same experience with KCB KICC branch lately.
i punch 10k but the machine gives me 9k and 900 all old notes.
i complain to the buggers and they refused kabisa. still owe me 100 bob
#28 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 10:22:00 AM

@ mypesa,any luck? Keep us updated

Chaka
#29 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 10:27:00 AM

There was a lady who complained in the DN watchman column recently that she was given a fake 1000 bob note at an ATM(can't remember the bank)!Off course the bank refused to listen to her.
Coiler
#30 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 11:15:00 AM

Mypesa,

If you love yourself,take my words seriously:

KINDLY CLOSE THAT ACCOUNT IMMEDIATELY.WE HAVE MORE THAT 52 BANKS AS AT TODAY AND COOPERATIVE BANK IS THE MOST USELESS BANK IN THE WORLD.I USED TO BANK WITH THEM BUT WAT I GOT,TAUGHT ME A LESSON I WILL NEVER FORGET.
N IF YOU THINK YOUR BRANCH HAVE SCREWED STAFF,TRY KIMATHI BRANCH.YOU WILL GET WILL NEVER EVER GO TO ANY OF THE BRANCHES OR EVEN WATCH ANY OF THE ADVERTS ON THE T.V.

I EVEN SOLD OFF MY SHARES ON COOP COUNTER TO ENSURE THAT I DO NOT GET BRUISES AGAIN.

ALL SK MEMBERS,SPREAD THE GOSPEL,COOP BANK ARE JUST USELESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.

THEY ALL NEED TO BE TRAINED ON WAT IS CUSTOMER SERVICE.

The last of the single breed
Coiler
#31 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 11:20:00 AM

I GUESS ALL THE STAFF ARE FORM 2 DROP OUTS.THEY BEHAVE LIKE MATATU TOUTS

Kamaa
#32 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 11:54:00 AM

@ coiler

in this case who is useless,you or co-op bank?

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#33 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 12:00:00 PM

Heh,@coiler,kwani you were fired? Pole sana...

Coiler
#34 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 12:15:00 PM

THEY STOLE FROM ME ONLY THAT THEY DID NOT CALL IT STOLEN CASH BUT '' CASH HANDLING''

dijkstra
#35 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 12:22:00 PM

I think some banks are still using stone-age computer systems;

Picture this;

a while back i went to Stanchart ATM Koinange branch,punched in 10k as withdrawal amount,ATM start processing transaction,give back my card and as the receipt and cash were almost poping out of their respective slots,electricity went off and atm switched off...

Withdrawal Receipt managed to come out but NO CASH. This was after working hours. I called their customer service; and they told me to go to another ATM and cheCK my balance.....I CHECKED AND MY MONEY WAS INTACT.

Now; the mechanism is called CoMMIT/ROLLBACK TRANSACTION. The ATM system should know that it hasn't dispensed cash hence should not debityour account; and if already debited then it should credit(rollback).

DEMAND YOUR MONEY FROM CO-OP NOW NOW!!

BTW THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS SOOOO WANTING.

none
#36 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 12:23:00 PM

@ Coiler,learn proper internet etiquette and cease from 'shouting'. Even a form 2 drop out knows what that means

Kamaa
#37 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 12:23:00 PM

@ coiler

don't worry you were looped!

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Coiler
#38 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 1:15:00 PM

Shak,

Do you work for the damn Bank??

Kindly explain the meaning proper internet etiquette and if you can,a lecture on that can do.
You sound like a colonial chief OR u the owner of SK?

shaggyman
#39 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 2:19:00 PM

You should go ua branch to cause maneno.Kwani they think ur account is charitable.You worked for that money,banked in a useless bank that doesn't care,and those useless pple should not toss you around.Demand back your money even if it means going on hunger strike,it is your right.

Shaggy
wanyo
#40 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 2:32:00 PM

There was a time I went to the Members bank during the weekend and made an attempt to withdraw cash. I punched,got the card back,as i was putting the card to the wallet,cash came out and before i could lay my hands on it it was back to the machine.

Knowing not what to do,I told myself banking is mainly made of trust and would get the cash back. when checked the balance it was less. I wrote email to the head of Customer service and gave the details of occurrence.

When i looked at my account to days later the amount was already credited back.

there are banks and machines. Machine might not return the money but the bank will only approach them with civility - and for sure I know it is your money - but you know it is the banks.
i too