IRB Sevens George
DonBen
#21 Posted : Sunday, December 12, 2010 2:06:24 PM

Yani....you people are couch potatoes , watching DSTV and dare criticize?
If you have never played Rugby for Kenya or even come close to a Kenya cup match...you should not dare speak...what is 40K? you think people play for money in Kenya? is it 40k for 3 days? or 40K until next time they see a match. Club rugby does not pay...even for Fare!!

You may be right in what you say, but that does not mean that only those who play rugby can have the right to criticize!

I think it is embarassing for Kenya to have lost all its preliminary matches in George, and lost by outrageous cricket score margins. A game of 7s last for only 14 minutes, and I wonder how many tries were new zealand running in the Kenya tryline each minute if the final score is 47? For a team that has been playing in Semis and Quarters of the main cup in the IRB World Sevens Series and defeating world class sides like England and New Zeland in recent years, the latest performances beg some answers not just from the technical bench but also from the KRFU itself.

What has suddenly gone wrong? Are our training methods up to date? How does the union utilize funds it receives for development of the game? KQ sponsors this team and I wonder how that sponsorship has been used to benefit the players and develop new ones.

The game has become sophisticated in recent years and training methods have become scientific. The players are now highly paid and well trained professional athletes. Can we say that this is the same for Kenyan players?

A change is as good as a rest. Benja, Toti and others have done a good job in moulding the current side but I think it is time for them to hand over to fresh hands to take over from where they left. The same should happen at the UNION where Omwela and his group ought to step aside and let others improve from where they have reached.

Look at this video to see just how seriously other countries take the business of playing rugby sevens. When will Kenya up their methods!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K0BGKumn_LA
Scooby
#22 Posted : Monday, December 13, 2010 5:49:55 PM

Yani....you people are couch potatoes , watching DSTV and dare criticize?
If you have never played Rugby for Kenya or even come close to a Kenya cup match...you should not dare speak...what is 40K? you think people play for money in Kenya? is it 40k for 3 days? or 40K until next time they see a match. Club rugby does not pay...even for Fare!!

masukuma,

I have either played rugby in high school in the 1990s or participated in rugby activities since then. So, am not a couch spectator...and neither am I passing judgement on our lads.

One thing I learnt during my playing days is that it shouldn't be about the money...but the love and passion for the game. I know that things might have changed since then in terms of the priorities for rugby players. But I was hoping that the passion and/or pysche for the game still lives on.

For instance, we used to defeat Uganda by huge margins during Tusker Safari Sevens or when we were playing in their backyard. Nowadays, its not a surprise to see them give us a whooping in Uganda and drawing with them in Kenya.

For me, it is not about us making it or failing to reach the Main Cup or Plate (though it would be great to win either). What matters are those special moments when we defeat a country like New Zealand or England like we did last year.

Regards
#23 Posted : Friday, February 04, 2011 10:03:55 AM

Kenya has already lost to Samoa and Tonga in Newzeland....phew!!!

Hata Rugby sevens sasa sisi kwisha!!!!!
#24 Posted : Friday, February 04, 2011 10:18:48 AM

We've already lost to Tonga? I thought it was Australia and Samoa...
callaspade
#25 Posted : Friday, February 04, 2011 10:20:02 AM

....Kenya narrowly lost to both, 24-21 against Samoa and 21-19 to Australia - the latter after the hooter had sounded.
#26 Posted : Friday, February 04, 2011 11:08:20 AM

Kenya has lost all the group matches, Tonga imetuchapa 17-10

The worst group performance in the recent past!!!!
#27 Posted : Friday, March 25, 2011 3:17:41 PM

What is happening to our Sevens team, we've just been thumped 5 - 22 by Russia in Hong Kong.
#28 Posted : Friday, March 25, 2011 3:34:25 PM

...Bure kabisa...They will be thumped 50 - 0 by Fiji...
#29 Posted : Sunday, March 27, 2011 6:08:40 PM

We picked up the shield, so not so bad after all. Fiji was a tall order but we had no business dropping the points against the ruskies. But then again even if we were second in the group the final outcome might have been the same.
#30 Posted : Sunday, March 27, 2011 11:18:40 PM

UG used to chapa us! the days of Akina Wafula and Onyi from makerere, we pushed up our game but we seem to be playing too much contact our balls are scrappy!! I now agree a change in tact and possibly sides will refresh our team but may not have results in the short run.
callaspade
#31 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 8:06:08 AM

....just sack Ayimba and replace Omwela,they are both past their sell by dates !
#32 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 8:43:08 AM

callaspade wrote:
....just sack Ayimba and replace Omwela,they are both past their sell by dates !

Are you sure about the sack Ayimba bit, Kenya was nothing in sevens without Benja, I have known Benja since form 1 and no one loves the rugby game more. Who would you like to see replace Benja

The truth is after our success 2 years ago, every team started taking us seriously and the element of surprise that we used to have was gone. You will notice that the rich nations (England, New Zealand, SA, Aus) now take the 7's version more seriously, they put in more resources and the results is that the traditional powerhouses (fiji, Tonga,Samoa and Argentina) that used to rely more on talent now struggle to go past the semi finals.

So unless Kenya puts in more resources we should be happy to remain in the second ranks. We still draw the largest and most boisterous crowds.
#33 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 9:42:44 AM

[Obi 1 Kanobi] avandu va musingu!
mukoya
#34 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 7:43:43 PM

i support masukuma beaten or not its the same breath as saying spain beat harambee stars or barca beat kenya new zealand are fully pro meaning they eat sleep drink rugby while kenya you go to training after hussling lets not pretend we support finacially en see how far they go!
Buster
#35 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 11:33:55 PM

I watched those games and Ayimba was not at fault. It was the lads, you could see it in their movement. They were just not into it. It was as if the hunger is not there anymore.

Gordon Geko,

A country like Kenya should not be happy with the shield. We are way past that. There are no points awarded for the sheild.
#36 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2011 8:53:35 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
callaspade wrote:

Are you sure about the sack Ayimba bit, Kenya was nothing in sevens without Benja, I have known Benja since form 1 and no one loves the rugby game more. Who would you like to see replace Benja

This is the same problem that's affecting Kenyan football. Just because someone used to play in the national team or likes the game doesn't mean he has the credentials to coach. Benja has been the sevens coach for a while now its about time we appraised the guy. We appreciate what he's contributed to the Sevens team but If he's not performing as a coach now then he has to go.

Why do we keep fielding the same old players every year, we have so many talented young players who have never had the chance to play for the sevens team.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2011 9:08:07 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
callaspade wrote:

This is the same problem that's affecting Kenyan football. Just because someone used to play in the national team or likes the game doesn't mean he has the credentials to coach. Benja has been the sevens coach for a while now its about time we appraised the guy. We appreciate what he's contributed to the Sevens team but If he's not performing as a coach now then he has to go.

Why do we keep fielding the same old players every year, we have so many talented young players who have never had the chance to play for the sevens team.

....do you know about one Ben Gollings as far as 7s is concerned???
#38 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2011 10:05:27 AM

@McReggae.....Players like Ben Gollings and Mikaele Pesamino cannot be compared to our "old" players who can't even run. Gollings is 30 yrs old but still in good shape and fast....he is consistent in all the tournaments. I've attended several 7's tournaments we have had in the country and the level of talent we have is amazing. I just don't understand why we keep selecting the same players. I wasn't surprised to hear the commentators in the Hong Kong series question Ayimba's credentials in team selection. Losing to a team like Russia is unacceptable.
#39 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2011 1:00:01 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
callaspade wrote:

Which old players are you referring to here, the most experienced players in the Kenya squad include Khayange and Injera, by the way they are not necessarily that old. And who do you propose to replace them with, which worthy players were should be picked who are not in the squad.
The additions in 2010 were Oscar ouma Andrew Amonde and Ambunya, the three are worthy of inclusion in the squad, other youngsters will come in the next year or so especially the current quins brood, but they are not yet there, so relax, we are going through a rough patch but will turn it around eventually.

P.S If you want to get the most out of Rugby, I suggest you never miss the local games, ngong road is accessible, the rugby is great, the beer flows freely and the mama's turn out to impress
#40 Posted : Tuesday, March 29, 2011 2:29:31 PM

@Obi...The bottom line is that the current squad is not performing. If you think we don't have any new players who can replace the current squad then Ayimba should be the one to leave because clearly his tactics are just not working at the moment.

Just take a look at the SA and Samoa squads, every season they introduce new effective players. The problem with the Kenyan team is that we never get to see the new additions that have been made to the team....how will they get the experience if we keep fielding the same "Old" players every year. A team like Russia is an emerging force yet they are able dismiss us with such ease.