wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

QUANTITY SURVEYOR
#21 Posted : Friday, November 26, 2010 12:29:24 PM

@ fundamentali

You do not hire the construction lawyers as a part of the construction design and contract administration team…the lawyers should only feature in:

1.formalization of the contract..i.e signing of the contract agreement between the client and the contractor.

2.custodian of the contract performance/surety bonds…although here the client may choose to keep them instead.

3.any time a contract dispute arises between the client and consultants, client and contractor and rarely consultants and contractor.

@ fresher2010,

Check on my post #5…I already disputed those responsibilities purportedly undertaken by the QS.

Let us slice it this way…if the architectural plans are complete with no foreseeable client initiated changes and if the engineers designs are adequate after having been taken through a thorough quality control exercise, then believe me the construction project will be delivered within the budget, assuming that non preventable escalation forces do not play out. Please note that the non preventable escalation forces that I am talking about are:

1. increase in fuel costs by the oil merchants.

2. increase in the statutory taxes by the government

3. currency fluctuations

4. labour fluctuations

The QS cannot do anything to stop the above.

As for additional costs brought about by inadequate or defective designs, poor workmanship, bad quality materials etc, these are purely technical issues which the QS has never handled and are not in their (QSs) jurisdiction.

So the notion that without a QS on a construction project, the construction cost would escalate is definitely wrong and baseless.
fresher2010
#22 Posted : Friday, November 26, 2010 2:30:06 PM

@Kaigagio. In the the ideal sittuation, construction costs are not supposed to increase, ie if you have a fixed price contract with the contractor, this covers all the above mentioned flactuations.Thus with the advice of a QS, you can control the flactuations!(though if you tender fixed price contract Vs a flactuating contract, the fixed price contract is normally higher to cover for unforseen and possible price increases, for the flactuating contract, the risk element of flactuations is borne by the client)i would advice one to have a fixed price contract..or if you are really frugal, have a labour only contract.

Without a QS the costs will increase. Where am i coming from ok

1. How do you estimate the entire cost of the project so as to have a baseline? I contend the notion that the originators of the design can come up with the cost estimate, since they dont have the necessary training on how to estimate costs. Who prepares the estimate? The Qs
2. How does one track the costs. Of course, the QS, the work of the Arch & Eng is purely design & specifications (& by the way in most jobs it is the QS who prepares the specs, for building works & not the Arch)
3. Variations, they are bound to arise, no job can be finished without a variation, who tracks and records them? the QS. Who measures their cost & time implication? thus advising whether it is necessary?
4. The claims from the contractor, be they frivolous or justifiable, who reviews them? the QS, since he has been on board from the word go and has the training on how to handle & measure such claims
5. In as much as you want to transfer the responsibilties to the originator, they will charge you for that extra responsibilty,and am imagine at a higher premium than the QS..
6. Who will measure the work done? the QS, again the designers are not trained to measure building works.
7. If you are frugal and you choose a labour only contract, who will measure the exact amount of material required? your fundi? architect? how many times have you painted your house and after the job is done, there are paint left overs? at times more than 5 tins?
8.Who will track the progress of work and advice you accordingly? the QS! Architects cant, they are trained to design, same for engs!
In an ideal sittuation, the costs will not increase, if there are proper controls by the client, who ensures this controls the QS!
9. How will you know if you are getting the best or rather lowest rates from the contractor? am sure you know an architect, just call one and ask him the average cost of class 20 reinforced concrete per cubic meter, better yet, the cost of a tonne of sand? a tin of paint? a kg of reinforcement steel..i can bet, they will tell you a figure which is wrong!call up a QS and ask him..

Actually, IMHO, the Architects shouldnt be paid the 6%! since they dont do any contract administration! they always rely on the QS for his support!

am sure am repeating this but, the Archs & Engs can be trained to do the QSs work, but ofcourse the fee which they charge you will of course be higher than the normal fee. so no saving whatsoever!

ask yourself why do corprates use QSs? even for a 1m job? the government? they have their own QS dept but they are so overwhelmed that they actually outsource QSs from private practice! if there was no value addition, i doubt corprates would hire a QS for their works..
Jamaa wa mjengo
Litro
#23 Posted : Friday, November 26, 2010 3:00:42 PM

@ fresher2010,

If your name is anything to go by, you must be a new entrant into the school of the built environment at the...and so you are trying to justify the relevance of the course you are pursuing. We will understand you accordingly and as sensitively as we can in the circumstances.
Needless to say, the importance of a QS in the construction process cannot be over emphasised. They check on costs!!!

But please tell your professional collegues especially those who work in cahoot with contractors to inflate quantities and prices to watch out. Otherwise how do you explain the various white elephant construction projects spread around our country if it was not an attempt to fleece clients of their money in the guise of providing consultancy services.
#24 Posted : Friday, November 26, 2010 3:09:45 PM

@Kaigangio,

How much will the transaction fee charged by the lawyer? (Percentage wise). Secondly, have you ever tried to tell a lawyer to draft a simple contract even between professionals and client? If you can get past this, give him the job.

Most contract have standard forms e.g. insurance, bank, conveyancing etc. The same applies to roads and building works. Why pay for these when they are sold for almost nothing by the various industry players? How much does a quantity surveyor charge for drafting a contract? You could be paying for a service that is being offered for free
fresher2010
#25 Posted : Friday, November 26, 2010 3:16:43 PM

@Litro, names can be deceiving, am new at wazua, hence the name, for the built industry lets just say am still a new farer...i have a long way to go, but hii ndio shamba yangu!

If there are such QSs, (which i highly doubt, they have a code of ethics to abide by) you can always sue them you know, the best way is to engage a different QS to do an audit of what the other QS did, at a cost of course. There is a registering body, Board Of Registration for Architects & Quantity Surveyors (BORAQS) which give individuals and firms the approval of practising QSing, i can get you their contacts if you want. Such acts are considered unethical by the board and one can be fined and or deregistered.

Even Engineers by the way do overdesign thus pushing the construction costs higher, they also can be sued!!

Jamaa wa mjengo
Mpenzi
#26 Posted : Friday, November 26, 2010 3:20:30 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
@Kaigangio,

How much will the transaction fee charged by the lawyer? (Percentage wise). Secondly, have you ever tried to tell a lawyer to draft a simple contract even between professionals and client? If you can get past this, give him the job.

Most contract have standard forms e.g. insurance, bank, conveyancing etc. The same applies to roads and building works. Why pay for these when they are sold for almost nothing by the various industry players? How much does a quantity surveyor charge for drafting a contract? You could be paying for a service that is being offered for free

Keep using standard form contracts at your peril. Contrary to what you appear to suggest good lawyering is not simply a matter of filling in blanks.
fresher2010
#27 Posted : Friday, November 26, 2010 3:27:21 PM

i think what kaigangio meant was that there are construction law experts out there, who he can hire should disputes arise (who by the way are QSs by profession, the ones who i have met!)

standard form of contracts can be used a basis, then they can be adjusted or edited to match the requirements of the client..i highly doubt a lawyer has the technical know how on how edit a buidling contract, leave alone to drafting one..

though IMHO, the current contract by the Joint Building Council needs serious ammendments!!
Jamaa wa mjengo
#28 Posted : Friday, November 26, 2010 3:43:20 PM

@Mpenzi

I started by posing a simple challenge. Tell the lawyer to draft a contract first. We know that is their work. Can they do it? Try practically
swaweru
#29 Posted : Friday, November 26, 2010 6:11:21 PM

@Pablo..please refer to the following documents if you need fee guidance for construction profesionals. Consultancy fees will cost you 10-15% of your construction cost.

1. CAP 525 - THE ARCHITECTS AND QUANTITY SURVEYORS ACT
2. Conditions of Engagement and Scale of Fees for Professional Services for Building and Civil Engineering Works
3. Conditions of Engagement by The Association of Consulting Engineers of Kenya - Agreement 1 - 3

Generally speaking the percentage figure used to calculate the design fee is inversely proportional to the construction cost. The higher the construction cost of the project the smaller the fee percentage. The technical complexity and the extent of services provided also varies from project to project and has a bearing on the percentage fee figure.

fantony
#30 Posted : Friday, November 26, 2010 6:12:16 PM

if you want to construct a chicken hutch and call it a house it is ok..

you incredulous stupidity seems to indicate that the six years architects spend in college, four years for the QS is all a waste..

even if they were to spend the entire time high on drugs.. there must be something they pick up just by interaction and cramming for exams..

your line of thinking is why we have collapsing buildings and deathboxes of 8 levels at huruma and mathare north

infact it is straight out of the 9th century BC handbook for construction where there was one masterbuilder who was responsible for everything then spent his entire day on site to with the fundis

let us welcome you to construction industry..

the real one..

the one that will solve the housing problems for the middle class and low income groups.. it needs structure.. specialisation..

clear demarcation between ownership and management

clear demarcation between design and implementation/construction

once again for your chicken hutch you do not even need a designer... go ahead and issue a HB pencil to the fundi who will sketch it for you on the reverse of a cement sack.. buy your materials from your local hardware and invite the villagers for free labour..

in the meantime.. the professionals will be working on projects for people who appear to care about quality, the opportunity cost of funds invested in a project and hence the need to complete construction on schedule
Pablo
#31 Posted : Saturday, November 27, 2010 1:15:50 AM

To me it doesnt really matter what architects charge whether 6 or 7%, I dont see the value.

I think the challenge is to the above mentioned building professionals to actually to much more work in not just educating the investing public but also adding value adds. I believe maybe I can pay that for a 'green' building as the savings will offset the initial cost.
fantony
#32 Posted : Saturday, November 27, 2010 6:04:34 AM

veering off the topic...

green building... where have i heard that crap before?

i remember... green-washing...

green building = nyumba herbal..
#33 Posted : Saturday, November 27, 2010 7:56:26 AM

swaweru wrote:
@mwenza/litro funny how some react to forums. who asked for a PJ? please read my posting again.
are you suggesting I am not aware of CAP 525?? unethical?? what are you talking about?? I am offended by your insinuation that I am unethical.

@Kaigangio-- i loved your concerns about the role of the QS. Way too harsh on the QS's, many QS's have delved into specialist M&E and even roads. QS's are very good at interpreting structural drawings,perhaps on that point you onead them.
QS's are also highly skilled in contract management providing valuable inputs in claims management. They have a lot to offer.
I

We do not dispute that. The point is, a Qs is duplication of effort as explained in the other strings.
sheep
#34 Posted : Saturday, November 27, 2010 10:45:29 AM

To quote...
"go ahead and issue a HB pencil to the fundi who will sketch it for you on the reverse of a cement sack.. buy your materials from your local hardware and invite the villagers for free labour.."

lol!!! Laughing out loudly

keep up the good work pablo...knowledge is power..and necessity the mother of invention!
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
muthurimugi
#35 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 3:32:10 PM

A quantity surveyor(referred to as a cost engineer in US) is important any construction project design team. Its true that u can do without a QS in a project, but the value added when one is involved can not be refuted.

The architect is trained to interpret a clients requirements into a concept/a form.. and thus he comes up with an architectural design. From this architectural design, the structural engineer is called in to do the structural design for the architectural design to be achieved...

the importance of involving a Qs in the design team is to assess the cost implications of various designs. And by so doin, at the very initial stage of the design, you will be designing to a cost and not costing a design as there is usually what the client can afford ie the client's budget.

there are the various stages of design:-
1. inception/feasibility stage - the QS will assess the feasibility of the project in terms of affordability and value addition.
2. Outline Proposals - After the initial feasibility studies and preliminary estimates have been prepared, the Quantity Surveyor prepares the cost plan from the Architect’s preliminary drawings. The cost plan divides a building into its various functional elements and allocates costs to these elements. In this way it is possible to ensure a proper apportionment of expenditure over the various elements. Proposals for alternative materials and designs are costed as the design progresses and the cost implications are presented to the client and other consultations are made with knowledge of the overall cost involved.

3. To be short, after the design is complete, the QS will prepare the final BQs. Bills of Quantities are the translation of the designer’s drawings and specification into describing the building works in words and quantities. They enable each contractor tendering to estimate his price on exactly the same basis as his competitors. the BQs provide a basis for the financial management of the contract.
4. Construction stage - Cost control - the QS uses the cost plan prepared in the design stages as a basis for cost control during the construction process.Variations sometimes to take account of the client’s changing needs, sometimes to overcome site conditions which could not be foreseen such as the presence of underground site conditions _ The Qs estimates the costs of proposed variations and reports their impact on the probable final cost, so that corrective steps may be taken elsewhere in the work, if the client requires, to keep the cost within the budget.

The QS will prepare at regular intervals financial statements which keep the client and designers fully informed of the up-to-date financial position and the anticipated final cost of the work.

5. Valuation of work in progress for stage payments
6. Preparing a final account by adjusting the contract sum in accordance with the terms of the contract to take account of any variations, of adjustments in the accounts of nominated sub-contractors and suppliers and of any other matters for which the contract allows.

@Kaigangio & all,The QS is adequately trained in construction law(contract, tort, agency, land laws,..); architectural and structural design; economics; management; accounting; .. just to mention but a few. Their specialty is cost management and construction contracts.

Just like u go to a shoe shiner on the street, or take a taxi while u cud do shining and the driving urself, an architect or a civil engineer cud as well do what the QSs do, But i think the ideal thing wud be to leave everything to the specialists. We can not do all,

each person in the design team has a special role, that is why each is a professional. the architect cud as well do the structural design..,Fundis can design for u and build if its a matter of saving costs..

MatataMingi
#36 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 4:26:06 PM

@ muthurimugi

Great response. I totaly agree with what you have said.

I am currently building a villa in Mombasa. I have a architect at 6%, Structual engineer at 2% and a QS at 2%. So OK, it is 10% extra but I can tell you from my experience so far that it is WORTH it.

As I am in Nairobi, that is the ONLY way that I can be sure that the contractor is building to the specifactions in the design documents and the what his detailed response to the tender was.

It is also VERY important when you change your mind about something, ( which WILL happen during construction ) I am in Mombasa now for a site meeting and Mama has changed her mind on the tiles to be used in the kitchen. With the QS's Bill of quantities, and the tendered prices, we now know exactly the cost of the replacement.

Guys, my advise - DONT take chances. It could come to bite you later.

Thanks
holycow
#37 Posted: : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 5:07:35 PM

fresher2010 wrote:

How do you estimate the entire cost of the project so as to have a baseline? I contend the notion that the originators of the design can come up with the cost estimate, since they dont have the necessary training on how to estimate costs. Who prepares the estimate?

There is something called Engineers Estimate. There are softwares that design and produce quantities.
Personally, i don't understand why i do a design, prepare bar bending schedule, get the total kilograms of reinforcemnet required then all the QS does is multiply the kilograms by unit price.
He does the same to the volume of concrete.

For contract management and standard documents, you can use FIDIC and PPOA documents which can be downloaded from the link below.
PPOA Documents
fantony
#38 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 6:20:50 PM

Holy cow... now insert that software into the robot and send it to site to measure the percentage of the work complete..

use the same software and put it at the table at the site meeting and let it explain to the client why the depth of the foundation has changed due to conditions on site...

later send this software to tile and carpet centre, saj ceramics and dubai to ascertain that the quantity of tiles it required are i. available ii. dimensionally stable iii. the colour the architect has specified

after that ask your software to negotiate payment terms on your behalf e.g. the deposit to be paid, method of payment..

ask it which the best way to pay LOC, Cash, RTGS

It appears you have forgotten a basic tenet in computers, GIGO (garbage in garbage out)

your comments on the PPOA do not deserve a response from anyone who has ever built anything..

MatataMingi
#39 Posted : Wednesday, December 01, 2010 10:49:20 PM

@holycow,

As fantony has put it, these free software tools dont do the job.

I have worked in the IT industry all my life and have even paid for software related to building your own house.

However, that does not mean that you dont need a QS.

Read my message above no. 36.

Unless you want to be the QS on your project, it is not possible. 1) you are not qualified
2) Do you have the time
3) If as in my case the project is in Mombasa and I am in Nairobi, how do I control it.
4) Who gives the certificates for work completed for staged payments

I promise you the 2% is well worth the hasle you avoid.

As I mentioned in my post above Mama ( the BOSS ) had changed her mind on the tiles in the kitchen.

Since then she has decided that instead of a plain hardwood front door she wants a carved Zanzibar door.

Just looking at the detailed B of M, we can see the cost impact straight away.

I am currently waiting for my Mama to think of something else to change ( she is a very creative Mama !!!! )

I hate to think what would happen if I didnt have a QS, and had to deal with it myself on the phone of email or even fly down to Mombasa.

Save yourself the headaches and probably money by having a QS.

Regards
fresher2010
#40 Posted : Thursday, December 02, 2010 8:20:14 AM

@Holycow, from my little experience, the quantity provided by the engineers estimate (from the software) tends to be slightly different from what was actually done on site...especially with reinforcement bars! for the concrete, am yet to see a software which can give the volume estimate..for structural steel, truth be told, the software (STRUCAD)does wonders!

The PPOA documents i think are better suited for the public sector...i do however agree with you that FIDIC is one hell of contract, and trust me, no layman can handle a project with the FIDIC contract! thus the need of a QS or a contractual law specialist (if you have a heavy wallet)
Jamaa wa mjengo