wazua Sat, May 3, 2025

Name and Shame your ISP
#21 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 4:00:00 PM

i have just tasted the zain modem download is 0.02mb upload is 0.01 mb shame!! shame!!

hasta la vista
ji
#22 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 4:18:00 PM

@kyt,

You are saying 20kbps/10kbps down/up? Si mbaya sana esp if you are s.where in the bunduz. Methinks Zain 3G is better in urban areas esp. kwa mtaa.

'I never see what has been done; I only see what remains to be done.'

R2
#23 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 5:57:00 PM

@ Muganda safcon 300mb for the whole month including streaming!? Either your modem is not configured right or they gave you a hefty discount! 300mb on safcon will not even last a week,assuming you check your emails about 8 times a day,6 day a week.

Do not even attempt to stream with a 300mb bundle if on safcon. With the frequent disconnection,downloading firefox browser alone will consume over 60MBS.

One will require atleast 2GB - 2000mbs - to do all those things you have mentioned,at least that's what I ended up using with Orange 2000 mbs,about 67Mbs per day. I had to exhaust the bundles by end month or loose them.

Deal or no Deal?
#24 Posted : Wednesday, August 12, 2009 7:57:00 PM

@R2,you may have a point; but you need not download firefox every month. Sample my weekly on/off menu:

weekly approx:
outlook email ~ 8mb
large attachment ~ 7mb
1 music track ~ 5mb
4 news video clips ~ 12mb
6 mins youtube ~ 24mb
general browse ~ 10mb

KEY IS BUSINESS USE [not technical use] and 12mb on/off per weekday is okay - otherwise I'm spending too much time online!
adept
#25 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 6:02:00 AM

Without taking it away from the crowd favourites,the poll here may be skewed because most of us are more intimately familiar with the good performance of home internet which is mostly mobile phone companies i.e. Safcom,Zain,Orange but not necessarily too acquainted with the good performance of corporate internet. Sometimes,The IT guy could just be blaming the ISP for a problem whose root cause is within the organisation.

Hata hivyo,I favour KDN for corporate internet (not perfect but better than the rest) and prefer Zain for domestic. I find Zain's speeds respectable (20-25kbps) and their costs decent. Any heavy downloads can be done overnight. Safcom is much faster but almost drove me bankrupt and I could not stand the service availability fluctuation..

And no,I do not work for Zain. If anything,it is Safcom's shares that I hold (damn!).
#26 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 8:27:00 AM

@adept; Where are you browsing from....I was getting those speeds from Zain since Feb and then last month the thing plummeted to 1.5kBps on a good day!!

@muganda; I agree,for business use,300MB per month is more than enough,but not for entertainment.....but then again I find the quality of downloaded music too poor for my ears to warrant the effort!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Waria
#27 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 8:35:00 AM

uuNET is simply the most bogus of corporate isps .05mbps download,No p2p,260 ping and on upload the site even told me 'you dont appear to have an internet connection'!!!!! And we are paying them thro the nose...

As for Zuku...Its just wananchi by another name...thats right...the guys who charge an arm and leg for dialup even when its free on jambo telkom

Me first,U next
adept
#28 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 10:40:00 AM

@mukiha - I am in Nairobi. The last time I experienced such slow speeds was late last year/early this year. Else they picked up and now are normally on the 20-25kbps range (maybe they switched our area bandwidth with yours?). My speeds may be faster because any domestic internet browsing I do is from 6pm onwards and not during the day.

Have had the benefit of running both Safcom and Zain modems and I think Safcom tho much faster,is sometimes erratic and IMHO too expensive where compared to Zain's fixed rate; though I am not complaining as a shareholder so long as it is someone else paying for the 3G experience and it translates to healthier dividends at the end of the year.
kiilu
#29 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2009 6:19:00 PM

i'm stressed wit my ISP. THOUGHT THIS UNDERSEA CABLE WAS SUPPOSED TO IMPROVE THINGS...... THAT'S THE EXCUSE I GET FOR LOUSY SERVICE.......... THE SWITCH FROM UNDERSEA FROM SATELLITE. A WEEKLONG OF LOUSY SERVICE!!
Mkimwa
#30 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2009 6:50:00 PM

My Safcon modem has been in use from April. To date,i have uploaded 686MB and downloaded 3.6GB. Factor in that i have been out of country for close to 5 weeks,that makes an average of 285MB per week,or about 40MB per day. I browse as if i am on a 'unlimited bundle',updates,youtube..emails,work,e.t.c. I only avoid downloading heavy videos above 20MBs - hiyo kuna office link :)

The speeds are very decent,i get disconnected once in a while,not everyday. My VPN connections are stable.. B4 the cable,i had issues.. now am good to go..

Hopefully i will get some of it as dividends..
#31 Posted : Monday, August 17, 2009 9:58:00 AM

Do I see my Corporate switching their connection from AccessKenya to use a SCOM connection? Wake up. ISP's are here to stay,just more competitively...
#32 Posted : Monday, August 17, 2009 12:13:00 PM

Ecstacy,Safcom is now an ISP......watch and wonder as they kill your little Access and UUNET etc...

#33 Posted : Monday, August 17, 2009 2:33:00 PM

Can I see SCOM expanding ISP offerings to Uganda and Tanzania and the wider EA region? No. Can I foresee AK doing that? Yes. It's their core business.

#34 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 5:57:00 AM

I suggest you visit UG and TZ and then decide whether those mini economies will have any real effect on revenue for AK.

#35 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 6:48:00 AM

OK,ok. Offering negations without alternatives doesn't really help. Lets just agree to disagree.....I simply care about the ROI on my investment,no matter how 'small' the company is.
#36 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 7:14:00 AM

I respect both your sentiments. However I expect Safaricom to be currently making more money out of Data in 2009 than either AccessKenya or UUNet.

End of 2008 year results had AccessKenya with 1.6billion in turnover I think and Safaricom with 9billion coming from SMS/MPesa/Data. It's reasonable to expect monthly Data component alone to have already surpassed Access monthly turnover even with growth factored in [before considering acquitisions].
#37 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 7:43:00 AM

That could be true on face value. However,that return as a ratio may be lower than the comparatives given how much SCOM has invested into it at least ffor the immediate future. That is why MJ keeps trying to talk down the expected drop in internet costs...
#38 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 7:58:00 AM

AK return on capital may be higher,but not because they have a secret...its coz they are overpriced providing sub-standard connectivity!

You can never survive in a market where competition is willing to spend (Safaricom) to upgrade their service,while yours languishes in the dark ages (motorola blue wireless...how 1990s!!). You will also have to spend at some stage,and if you dont,you become extinct.

So, watch at AK and UUNET dissappear,or get bought (which I expect for either or both in the next 6 months).

#39 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 10:35:00 AM

by self admission then,on matters NSE,why sell a counter that is a strong acquisition target? It doesn't take a genius to realise they present strong value to the buyers e.g. a 90% market share for all corporate clientele...