wazua Sun, Sep 29, 2024

Safaricom up to their usual shenanigans.Dividend Payments Via MPESA.
PuthyKrasha
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 10:42:07 AM

So i get a receipt via sms this morning telling me that i have received dividend payment from safaricom with the amount stated( ).. yet there is no difference in my MPESA account balance...BOB is just as crafty as Michael Joseph Kamau.Applause
If i showed you where i live, you would think that i was hiding.
thuks
#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 10:57:03 AM

May be the amount was taken up by transaction charges Sad
I care!
PuthyKrasha
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 11:03:07 AM

thuks wrote:

247/- as transaction charge... i thought it was 30/- ... i can smell B.s from a far..
If i showed you where i live, you would think that i was hiding.
mgeman
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 11:06:49 AM

Thought dividend was to be paid early dec, ama?
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
Dod
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 11:09:34 AM

Their T&C show there are no transaction charges for dividends received via mpesa..
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
Bettertry
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 11:11:57 AM

Who else has been Mpesa'd? As for me nimechill nikitegeee...a.
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
Apple Bees
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 11:21:10 AM

got mine early today. mmmm, not bad.
TD
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 11:44:26 AM

For me I haven't received any notification sms, but I have checked my MPESA account and there is money equivalent to what I was expecting as dividend - meaning they have posted but haven't notified all people.
MachariaN
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 12:23:02 PM

Njugu karanga!!!Atleast its saved me on credit for the day which goes back to them anyway...vicious cycle!
What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul? Mark 8:36
gadj
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 12:26:20 PM

I have received mine but how do they calculate the transaction charges?
bird_man
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 12:27:52 PM

Njugu karanga!!!Atleast its saved me on credit for the day which goes back to them anyway...vicious cycle!

Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Layman
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 12:52:16 PM

theres no transaction charges for receiving safcom dividends on your safaricom M-Pesa...maybe unless they sent to your line with other networks....Zap...Yu Cash.......
sizzla
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 1:43:30 PM

@PuthyKrasha funny enough i also noticed the same for mine. I purportedly received 100 via mpesa but there's no change in my balance. I immediately smelled a rat and was even thinking of starting a thread on the issue. I think that some smart chap at safcom is randomly deducting the cash from the dividend payments.
Bettertry
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 1:59:17 PM

Layman wrote:
theres no transaction charges for receiving safcom dividends on your safaricom M-Pesa...maybe unless they sent to your line with other networks....Zap...Yu Cash.......

Eee..., don't forget wanafeyeka withholding tax pia!!!
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 2:04:50 PM

PuthyKrasha wrote:
thuks wrote:

247/- as transaction charge... i thought it was 30/- ... i can smell B.s from a far..

true, one should never be charged for receiving any amount, even dividends. when i check my dividend payment, its based on sh0.19 per share instead of sh0.20 per share. hiyo one cent imeenda wapi?
Dod
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 5:30:16 PM

@ JB...Gava charges tax on dividends.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
mozenrat
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 9:37:45 PM

Ngai fafa.. yenyewe that Safcom IPO introduced "investors" to the market.. yaani people don't know eti all companies pay dividends net of witholding tax..
Mpenzi
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 9:41:27 PM

mozenrat wrote:
Ngai fafa.. yenyewe that Safcom IPO introduced "investors" to the market.. yaani people don't know eti all companies pay dividends net of witholding tax..

Ali Baba
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 24, 2010 10:52:56 PM

DOD.....dude,that's why you should be like me.Buy into Centum....there will be no tax on dividends,cos they don't pay div until 2014! Otherwise keep paying money into our cdf system!!
Dod
#20 Posted : Thursday, November 25, 2010 12:05:38 AM