wazua Fri, Nov 1, 2024

Equity out of business for six days: Inefficiency redefined?
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 9:05:34 AM

www.bdafrica.com

Equity bank has allowed no withdrawal since late Friday last week! The share price is responding appropriately to the inefficiency. Are the huge customer numbers bringing the system to its knees?

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 9:51:50 AM

I was at equity to sell my shares but the rude staff did not talk to me. kumbe systems had crashed.iam preparing to exit the bank.
The Merchant
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 10:14:47 AM

www.bdafrica.com

Equity bank has allowed no withdrawal since late Friday last week! The share price is responding appropriately to the inefficiency. Are the huge customer numbers bringing the system to its knees?

We all know you have something against Equity. You love to celebrate any slight failure by them. Now Obiero, did you get fired from there or what. You lack tact, thats all I am saying...smile
bird_man
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 10:28:26 AM

They were upgrading thier hardware infrastructure in order to serve customers better.They were actually migrating into some larger IBM servers but things didnt go so smoothly.But i bet all will be fixed soon.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 7:40:21 PM

@ the merchant. excuse you! i did not write the article in today's business daily.

#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 7:56:58 PM

Their services are currently pathetic. Rude tellers. Me thinks the success has gotten to their heads, im giving them just 1more miserable chance, then I bolt. As for obiero, it could be best to everybody, uaself included, if u just GROW UP!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 8:08:29 PM

The Merchant wrote:
www.bdafrica.com

We all know you have something against Equity. You love to celebrate any slight failure by them. Now Obiero, did you get fired from there or what. You lack tact, thats all I am saying...smile

merchant, wether he was fired is besides the point. Equity has been pathetic and thats it. Stop being petty! ABK.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 10:06:25 PM

@ simonkabz. who's ua mother? kwani una shares ngapi hapa wazua ndio unigag? il write what i want. thank u.

propertyzote
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 11:11:57 PM

i think everyone is entitled to their own opinion and we should respect that. Anyways Equity services are at times wanting. I concur with simonkabz..they are forgetting that its the customer who got them where they are now. Like making a bank transfer of deposit a cheque...the ques are unbearable. If they are not careful people will take action i included. I have my last card on them.
www.propertyzote.com the ultimate ‘one stop online shop’ of choice connecting more people with more properties at the click of a button
#10 Posted : Thursday, November 18, 2010 9:22:58 AM

@obiero, in my opinion, u r a fully grown man with a very youthful mental age, desperately trying to portray jaluo-jeuri image using hackneyed verbal outbursts.....In the words of one of my foolish bosses, "You Shock me".....damn me did I just answer u?
sihingwa
#11 Posted : Thursday, November 18, 2010 9:48:49 AM

Wonder what Simonkabz and Obiero are fighting about. The link was actually given business daily http://www.businessdaily...-/11ne46uz/-/index.html

We are all meant to stick to the debate, not personalities
yekeyeke
#12 Posted : Thursday, November 18, 2010 9:58:16 AM

Everybody. Pls cool down. Its a fact that equity has had some systems challenges and they upgraded their hardware platform by buying some huge and fast IBM servers. (Pls see IBM servers and their capabilities on www.ibm.com)

When they were switching their applications from the old to the new servers, as would be expectd there were issues. KCB, Stanchat, NBK etc have also had these server shitch over probelms in the past.

What happened was not convinient to all, but now that it is done and every one is able to transact, lets move on. The good thing for me is that ATMs will now be up 99.99% of the time.

All those who would like to leave the bank are welcome to do so at a time of their convinience, but i would very much like to know exctky which bank they will go to. Where will they find convinient products like M-Kesho and iko -pesa?
Will this be pesa pap?
mozenrat
#13 Posted : Thursday, November 18, 2010 10:25:53 AM

@yekeyeke... Sorry to do this but this is my pet peeve..

Convenience not convinience. Convenient not convinient.
#14 Posted : Thursday, November 18, 2010 10:43:52 AM

Coop bank iko juu. Thanks to EB, its no longer crowded. EB has played its part in revolutionizing the sector, but the young men n women in their banking halls have 4gotten the long n treacherous journey taken by the bank. Great growth pegged on the backs of angry frustrated customers. Im concerned.
#15 Posted : Thursday, November 18, 2010 10:57:27 AM

Separate investments decisions from other decisions. Service wise, costs, perception put together makes me hate Equity, Kenol, SCB. But I hold a total of just under 40% of my portfolio in these three stocks, because they have made me cash and will make me more cash. Hate the goose, but love the golden eggs it lays.
Mauricio
#16 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 10:24:31 AM

The financial landscape will look vastly different as increasing regulation and government intervention drive restructuring and new business models.
jasonhill
#17 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 5:51:43 AM

This is totally unacceptable in financial services and banking to have any systems outage longer than about an hour or two total PER YEAR. I personally built such systems at one of the largest banks in the US, and our Service Level Agreement was 99.999% uptime, and anything less was not tolerated. We ran IBM servers (as well as HP). The hardware is not the issue. It's the implementation and management of the systems that cause such outages.

I guess I know who my first IT consulting prospect will be when I land in Nairobi.