wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

SAFARICOM has done it again!!!!
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 4:44:47 PM

is there anyone outthere who is with me.......
dont we jast love the new safaricom commercial on tv?

i never knew kenya has such picturesque landscapes... and good classical music can be done in kiswahili....lo!!!

can someone tell me..... did they use special effects or the lady singing was actually on top of mt kenya?

i wish oscar awards feature tv ads.. because this could have been a serious contender!!

Iam proud to say....NIKO NA SAFARICOM

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 4:54:26 PM

@mpobiz, that's like very old news here.

ProverB
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 4:55:25 PM

mpobiz wrote:

is there anyone outthere who is with me.......
dont we jast love the new safaricom commercial on tv?

i never knew kenya has such picturesque landscapes... and good classical music can be done in kiswahili....lo!!!

can someone tell me..... did they use special effects or the lady singing was actually on top of mt kenya?

i wish oscar awards feature tv ads.. because this could have been a serious contender!!

Iam proud to say....NIKO NA SAFARICOM

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

Not to rain on your party.. but i think you are two weeks late? Actually u should name the thread "Safaricom did it again!"
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
mwanahisa
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 5:01:29 PM

And to further burst your bubble, the lady singing is not on top of Mt Kenya!
annsal
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 5:10:56 PM

and to burst if further its not an original.
God loves a Trier!
annsal
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 5:13:23 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uIBHuqeis3U

@ mpobiz watch this
God loves a Trier!
Caveman
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 6:03:47 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
And to further burst your bubble, the lady singing is not on top of Mt Kenya!

The Lady is on top of Mt Kenya. Wacha kudanganya!
Watch this documentary.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I-lVhWfRCiQ
#8 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 6:10:15 PM

Eh heee wacha utani. In separate thread http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=9558 it was discussed:
- choir trecked all locations
- all locations are in Kenya
- launch was done at Westage
- MJ admitted to having seen Qantas ad prior and liking it
- best advert and most expensive in Kenya today, penda usipende

mwanahisa
#9 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 6:24:51 PM

Caveman wrote:
[quote=mwanahisa] And to further burst your bubble, the lady singing is not on top of Mt Kenya!

The Lady is on top of Mt Kenya. Wacha kudanganya!
Watch this documentary.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I-lVhWfRCiQ[/quote]

Mea Culpa! Mea Culpa! But she was not really on Point Batian - so technically she was not at the top!d'oh!

By the way, my Orange 3G+ will take an hour while buffering to allow me to watch the video. And I will be damned if I have to pay twice the rate of what PostPaid Safcom customers are paying for Data. YES, I am a prepaid customer and I am on strike from their data plans until they come up with an equivalent pre-paid offer.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 7:13:55 PM

Safaricom also did what they ought to have done ages ago. On the daily data bundles; classifying the 5mb, 10mb and 20mb availability at 5, 8 and 10 bob respectively.
I have to congratulate them for this.
K22
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 2:08:57 PM

Today I was ready to be WOWed by Safaricom....

I purchased their new sim card (@100/-) in which i was told that when sending money through MPESA i can get the recipient number from my phone book as opposed to typing it.... After much hassle of reactivating the Mpesa Service on the new Sim, i was ready to send some Money......

and this is where my 'bubble was burst'... Sad

Unless all your contacts are saved on the SIM card, this new services will of no benefit to you at all.

And I can't copy my contacts from phonebook - am currently using a phone which doesn't have than option....

*sigh* hiyo ni tusker imepotea hivyo since I can't get a refund! *sigh*

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
chris79
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 3:02:05 PM

K22 wrote:

I purchased their new sim card (@100/-) in which i was told that when sending money through MPESA i can get the recipient number from my phone book as opposed to typing it.... After much hassle of reactivating the Mpesa Service on the new Sim, i was ready to send some Money......

Unless all your contacts are saved on the SIM card, this new services will of no benefit to you at all.

And I can't copy my contacts from phonebook - am currently using a phone which doesn't have than option....

So is it Safaricom's fault you bought a junk Chinese phone? And to think you are actually expecting to be refunded for this. Please!
tuvok
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 3:32:26 PM

chris79 wrote:
K22 wrote:

So is it Safaricom's fault you bought a junk Chinese phone? And to think you are actually expecting to be refunded for this. Please!

Actually prefer to save phone contacts on the phone memory vs sim card due to memory limitations on the SIM card.
K22
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 3:39:28 PM

@Chris79 Am using iPhone - all contacts are saved on phone memory, there's no option for 'copying' numbers to sim card..... and on the refund, that was on a lighter note smile

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
chris79
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 4:08:34 PM

@K22 I withdraw my earlier comment and bow down in respect to your phone. But I believe an I phone has a copy paste function which should work just fine.
K22
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 4:27:45 PM

@Chris79 haha. yes it does, however i noted it always puts a space between 4th & 5th digit when i 'copy paste'. Don't know if this is generic issue with all iphones... ama localised to mine only.

Mpenzi
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 4:44:01 PM

K22 wrote:
@Chris79 haha. yes it does, however i noted it always puts a space between 4th & 5th digit when i 'copy paste'. Don't know if this is generic issue with all iphones... ama localised to mine only.

K22 - that happens with all iPhones.
qw25041985
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 5:22:34 PM

guyz can u get serious.You wanna tell me that that advert was done on top of mount Kenya.w/ all seriousness ?lol ! With that so called Ochestra dressed like it was the middle of summer time they would have been killed by the sub-zero temparaters that are on top of Mt.Kenya before even the shooting of the commercial was done w/.Its plain simple that it was a well done photoshop commercial.After all its Safcon.

and bytheway where did @ Sparkly go to.I miss his 'analysis'
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
mwanahisa
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 5:51:28 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
guyz can u get serious.You wanna tell me that that advert was done on top of mount Kenya.w/ all seriousness ?lol ! With that so called Ochestra dressed like it was the middle of summer time they would have been killed by the sub-zero temparaters that are on top of Mt.Kenya before even the shooting of the commercial was done w/.Its plain simple that it was a well done photoshop commercial.After all its Safcon.

and bytheway where did @ Sparkly go to.I miss his 'analysis'

I was also doubting this until I watched the video. It is for real. It was not the entire choir that was on the mountain, but only one lady Christine - Yes, she who sings the first line. The others were at various other locations such as Suguta Valley (the dunes), Tana River etc.

Christine donned the white and green tunic above a whole mass of other clothes and she was only outside for a few minutes! I had to give it to them (RedSky) on this ad!!!
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 6:45:04 PM

With sunlight, the top of mt Kenya isnt that cold. Ask those who hav been there. Kwani whats so strange with the choir at the top? But the add iko yuu tu zaiana.