wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

Who's cutting fiber in Kenya?
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 9:33:17 AM

Eiissh! Is this thing an excuse, genuine sabotage or not? Poor service.

Just heard Claire Ruto, Safaricom on radio saying there are malicious guys hacking fibre for a living. And I see Safaricom reporting 10 major fiber cuts last weeks outside road construction and infrastructure areas.

Then yesterday, cuts in Nairobi, Western, Central...until MPESA upgrade has been postponed.

And who owns this fiber? KDN, Orange, Jamii
Who benefits when these things are cut?

anasazi
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:13:40 AM

Yeah, I was wondering the same. This weekend there were too many cuts for it to be normal. Must be sabotage #shindwe
Form is temporary, class is permanent
sky5
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:44:03 AM

Fiber cuts could be as a result of various reasons:-

1. Sabotage - when competitors disrupt each others services
2. Vandalism - where vandals cut lines of cable to sell
3. Construction works for roads, houses etc
4. Poor cable layout, termination/splicing etc.

KenyanLyrics
#4 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 10:45:30 AM

Looks like Bob Callmemore is gonna let other people speak on matters Safaricom
#5 Posted : Thursday, November 11, 2010 11:03:16 AM

He's also talking and he agrees with @sky5 reason 1.
Just 25mins ago @bobcollymore
Now convinced the increase in fibre cuts affecting Safaricom & Orange is sabotage. Govt engaged & helping to solve
kivairu
#6 Posted : Saturday, November 13, 2010 1:32:29 PM

Cutting fibre for whatever rason is the most stupid thing i ever heard.A whole economy is being sabotaged affecting each one of us in more ways than one.

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
iKenya
#7 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 9:18:46 AM

and how is this any different from cutting of landline telephone wires or tapping of elec/maji?? Which was/is happening all around you?
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
#8 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 11:14:40 AM

kivairu wrote:
Cutting fibre for whatever rason is the most stupid thing i ever heard.A whole economy is being sabotaged affecting each one of us in more ways than one.

At least you didn't say one of the most stupid thing ever read coz I have sure just read one today.
mozenrat
#9 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 3:54:31 PM

iKenya wrote:
and how is this any different from cutting of landline telephone wires or tapping of elec/maji?? Which was/is happening all around you?

Your point being????

#10 Posted : Sunday, November 14, 2010 10:01:54 PM

Now that the cables serve as the primary conduit for kenya n the outside world, any acts of sabotage should be construed to be economic sabotage by Enemies Of The State. Such shameless n spineless scallywags should attract the harshest penalty fm the courts. In the US, that is a very serious criminal offence, ukishikwa wewe kwisha.
My 2 cents
#11 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 9:11:28 AM

http://www.businessdaily.../-/rledxmz/-/index.html

I am all for competition but when players resort to such dirty tricks, we are all losers.
#12 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 9:42:06 AM

I also read a lot of whining... The phenomenon of 'jamaas have been paid kumaliza mimi'...
chris79
#13 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 9:50:37 AM

@VVS, these cable cuts are real, nobody's whining.
#14 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 9:59:51 AM

10m fine, life imprisonment, loss of license...
So the guys have been hacking the main fibre and redundant link - hard working crooks.

With government upping the ante, the going rate paid by guy sponsoring has to be at least above 10m per effective cut...

mozenrat
#15 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 8:49:55 PM

Sky5... I would go with 1, 3 and 4..

Where are you going to sell fibre?

The construction cuts are understandable though certainly not excusable. Surely there should be a process in place to locate existing infrastructure before one goes digging...

4 is certainly likely.. you contract two vendors to lay cables (for redundancy) then they lay them in the same trench NKT..

Hiyo ya sabotage ni wazimu.. hata mimi I say we come up with the laws that Boston came up with... "economic sabotage"... 10 years minimum
#16 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 9:06:24 PM

muganda wrote:
10m fine, life imprisonment, loss of license...
So the guys have been hacking the main fibre and redundant link - hard working crooks.

With government upping the ante, the going rate paid by guy sponsoring has to be at least above 10m per effective cut...

Hammers. Mosquitoes.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 17, 2010 10:18:27 AM

Are these alleged fibre hackers?
Three Suspects; John Karanja Muiya, John Mwangi Mutura and Joseph Ngige Wanyoike arraigned in a Nairobi Court, on charges related to the recent cable cuts on the Safaricom Network. The three face two counts; Preparing to commit a felony(crime) and tampering with telecommunication equipment
chris79
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 6:06:13 PM

Yet another fibre cut targeting safaricom. Nothing seems to be going for these guys of late. Sabotage?
jasonhill
#19 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 5:41:28 AM

I'm sure that there is some industrial espionage going on here- the telecom war is raging, but still, SafCom needs to wise up a bit. They should have run Ericsson MINI-LINK Microwave transmission towers from Mombasa to Nairobi and even Dar first and foremost, then Formed a 4G/Wimax "transmission net" from the Microwave relays to businesses, smaller cities, and homes. That way, you have high bandwidth through the air as a load-balancer, fiber as a primary, and satellite as an on-demand, last ditch backup. Hang some solar panels and batteries from the towers, pay some local guys to keep an eye on them, and you have a really nice self-contained system.

They have already spent the cost of microwave in cut cables. Even here in the US cables get cut and stolen all the time- copper more than fiber, but the microwave is in the air, and they don't go telling everyone where and what they are burying. Sometimes it is under railroad tracks, sometimes under landfills.

Fiber is the fastest, but microwave is now very, very fast, and it's better than connection loss. Same with AccessKenya. I understand the need to lay a nice metro fiber ring, but, look at the obvious- mobile phones grew far faster than landline phones in Kenya. Approach internet the same way. Then, when the demand is there, and the telecom war is over, light up the fiber.
#20 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 6:15:30 PM

All these providers are stupid!! gvt is even more stupid. If they had put their acts together this would not be happening. But they decided to compete even in laying infrastructure, each stupid provider incurring similar cost as the competitor had incurred a while ago in trench digging and other un-professional civil works..results...trenches everywhere, some not well marked....and cables you can even step on after a small runoff created by a little shower....walk up most of the roads heading out of town and you will see so many of those cables exposed, especially where there is a tarmacked driveway ...the guys simply passed the cables through the caravats (sp)...now who cannot cut that with good instructions?? they are to blame

gvt....could have provided a pathway (network of conduits) around the country .....just as it is done in buildings...managed by one authority. If you want to lay fibre, the pathway is opened, you lay your fibre and is closed again and security provided, except for places that are not common to all. Then you are charged for the service.....sio kuchimba kila mahali like moles!!