Investor
Property
Only one side of kenya is growing...or is it?
Much Know wrote:Kisumu it appears is just a lot of lost potential. I would say the most poorly utilized area in Kenya. I have even heard that guys who try to make viable investments in supporting fishing are soon bombarded with political nonsense such that fish farms in Nairobi, Eastern and Central will form more viable sources of fish, What a waste!!. I blame this on leaders from that region failing to develop a sense that personal gains can be made from the products of human labor and rather promoting a sense that gains can only be made from politics. Am saying(without real tribal bias) that the hotbed of Luo politics needs to be solving the problems of Nyanza and not Nairobi's Kibera. Failures in Kisumu and its environs are being exported to Nairobi (Kibera) and causing a lot of distraction. Little wonder during P.E.V Kibera residents were behaving exactly in the same way as Kisumu residents, burning formal places of work, because the true value of such commercial enterprises is not being promoted but rather the value of political seats and power. I think its time to move on, go ahead and invest and make good returns from Thika Greens, farm and harvest your fish from some ponds in the middle of Kenya, its okay, you are allowed to do it and jienjoy kuwa mkenya. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
lets ask ourselves 1 qtn. Based on available resources, why is (ex) Nyanza the poorest province despite having had produced academia in all faculties you can think of? goes back to the siasa Food for thought.....
wakagori wrote:lets ask ourselves 1 qtn. Based on available resources, why is (ex) Nyanza the poorest province despite having had produced academia in all faculties you can think of? goes back to the siasa Food for thought..... Wakagori, you must be very old or are stuck to the old thinking. That Nyanza is poor is just a myth, Kisumu is the third largest town in Kenya after Nairobi and Mombasa and is certainly much larger than any town in the larger central region of Kenya. Second myth is the Luo's being well read, not true at all, I am willing to bet that there are more Kikuyu Dons than Luo's. Third myth is the Luo's are lazy, Kyuks are hardworking. please look around your office and confirm this for your benefit and then confirm on this site. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
@Obi, I think only politics was mentioned and not those mythical stereotypes you are bringing up, i doubt any wazuan subscribes to such. About being lazy and fun loving a friend used to joke that Government should open "Public Discos" under the Ministry of Entertainment in Nyanza to occupy jamaas, another fellow posted on a "circumcision war", to capture and circumcise folk there, but majority are beyond such here, the question is how to solve the obvious problems concerning business apathy to the area so as to get investment moving down there? Perhaps embracing a single "political family" since pre-independence is the problem, perhaps this change alone could bring in serious changes to the area. A New Kenya
@MuchKnow, I am sure you mean well, my point is that you don't know what you are talking about. You can't even link the politics you are reffering to, to (the claimed) poverty. Can you? and don't go the 2007 PEV route, that has been beaten to death. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Njung'e wrote:Investing in Kisumu is 95% risk and 5% business sense........I wish the owner of the Kimwa chain of hotels and entertainment spots was around to testify this. This kimwa guy is really sprucing up small towns in his native old meru region. Nearly all small towns/shopping centres have a small KIMWA that is doing really fine. The only thing he has imported is that all of them are managed by "A wife". But all in all they are doing fine and we are really enjoying our kanywanji in their cool environs Life is an endless adventure
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Second myth is the Luo's being well read, not true at all, I am willing to bet that there are more Kikuyu Dons than Luo's.
WEE WACHAA These guys are well read!They are also the best lecturers What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
Another thread full of Tribalism...
Rank: New-farer Joined: 10/25/2010 Posts: 12 Location: nairobi
For me a combination of factors makes a place suitable for investments like tatu city, security,politics of the day, and infrastructure are chief.. As for kisumu its still a mystery why all flower farms are not there(despite the dilapidated airport) it all points to one thing, years of economic neglect by previous goverments and perceptions by the locals and politicains of "outsiders" investors.
@obi...you took a different route. if you check with KNBS, you will know what am taking about. Kisumu might be the size of Russia but still, 97% of its residents live under a dollar per day. And, i talked of based on available resouces, eg, human capital, water (the lake) and just like s'one asked...how come there are not flower farms there yes water is available, there is an airport within town... i didnt mention anywhere that Luos are lazy too
Wakagori, Are you implying that the locals elsewhere in the country have invested in the flower farms in their area? How many locals have set up in Naivasha or Timau Have you ever heard of the Nile Treaty, it requires the use of lake Victoria waters to go through the Egypt govt, no mzungu will touch that water. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Wakagori,
Are you implying that the locals elsewhere in the country have invested in the flower farms in their area? How many locals have set up in Naivasha or Timau
Have you ever heard of the Nile Treaty, it requires the use of lake Victoria waters to go through the Egypt govt, no mzungu will touch that water. Egypt is not standing by the shores of River Nyando with a gun. Plus hii maji before it becomes a river si it falls on people's lands?
Investor
Property
Only one side of kenya is growing...or is it?