wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

1 on 1 reflections with Michael Joseph (MJ, Safaricom)
#1 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:22:21 AM

Yesterday MJ was on the bench IN K24 and I couldnt think that safaricom will miss such a dedicated CEO I really hope Bob will out do him. below is blog posting of 0ne of the presentation Michael Joseph shared in a forum just the other day.

Michael Joseph retires from Safaricom in 10 days, these are some of the words he shared with the audience at the iHub.

Safaricom was started in June 2000. The business plan was to have 400,000 mobile subscribers in 5 years; Safaricom was hoping to get at least 50% of those. They had inherited 17,000 unhappy customers, 9 cell sites in Nairobi. The staff consisted of five people from vodaphone and 55 people from Telkom. They only had 20 million dollars yet one switch cost 10 million dollars then. 10 years later they have approximately 16 million subscribers. They grow by 500,000 customers a month. He says they are successful because they are innovative.

Some Lessons he learnt during his tenure:

Don’t surprise your customers- He once tried to surprise Kenyans with 200KES free airtime and what resulted was a network outage that has never been forgotten.

No free calling times in Kenya, not yet anyways. They once had free calls from 9:00 p.m. but that used to cause network jams and thus it was suspended.

Successes

They have a dedicated team that looks for new ideas. In relation to their terms and conditions, they ask people to sign waivers because they receive so many ideas; they may have had your idea before.

Sambaza- This is a service that is used to transfer mobile airtime from one subscriber to another. It was actually used before in Egypt and Sudan.

M-Pesa was written using a 2 million pound grant. It was initially meant for the disbursement of microfinance loans. It was first tested in Thika. The technology sits in UK and Germany. The success of M-Pesa is due to Safaricom’s distribution network.

Here a few of the questions asked:

What is the best advice that you have ever gotten?

As a leader you have to make decisions. He is a benevolent dictator, but he consults internally when he is not sure. There is no wisdom that comes with an office; you have to be the wisdom in the office.

What do you feel about social media?

He’s not a big fan of social media but he’s successor is. He no longer reads blogs because he reads terrible things (definitely not this one!).

How energy efficient is Safaricom?

They have 60 sites that run on green energy only. This sites use wind power but they have generators that are used when there is no wind. They have building management systems, because it makes economic sense when conserving energy.

Role of government

Government should play an enabling role and not a repressive role. Currently they do not play that role. During post election violence the government wanted to shutdown the mobile network.

Leadership and Management lessons

You have to behave with absolute integrity

You have to lead from the front.

There is no substitute for hardwork.

Know what you are doing or pretend at least.

Starting November 1 2010 he’s new job title will be that of Advisor to the incoming C.E.O and the advisor to the C.E.O. of Vodacom International Operations. After the session Akirachix took a photo with the outgoing C.E.O.

Blog post courtesy of Judith Owigar from AkiraChix
#2 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:26:06 AM

Nice... Now if MJ can get Kenyan citizenship... then I would vote for him as my MP... Or a very senior position in government...
Chaka
#3 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:34:12 AM

You have to lead from the front

Can it be otherwise i.e can you lead from the rear??
#4 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:46:22 AM

Chaka wrote:

#5 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:58:07 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Chaka wrote:

Obviously, you haven't experienced real Kenyan politics... [except when they want a raise]
sheep
#6 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:58:57 AM

Chaka wrote:

iko Rear AdmiralLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#7 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 11:13:15 AM

I think we can hire MJ as Head of Govt Strategy and Implimentation. Who cares if he's not Kenyan? He's better than all our MPigs who are Kenyans!!
#8 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 11:30:18 AM

Extended thoughts on Reflections with Michael Joseph...
from @gmeltdown http://www.gmeltdown.com/2010/1...on-reflections-with.html

1. (tweet) Peculiar site to see MJ of Safaricom in blue jeans

2. (tweet) Per minute billing would have made more business sense but Safaricom could not afford the system then

3. One more lesson - please don't surprise your customers - not even for free things

4. MJ admits M-PESA, okoa jahazi, Sambaza etc were not invented in Kenya

5. 2m pounds went into the initial MPESA software by Vodafone - after some DfID competition

6. Success of #MPESA is not the technology, it is the distribution network

7. IT guys have learnt the art of giving excuses when things go down

8. There is no redundancy for the TEAMS cable - where it lands in mombasa - Plans to arrange for redundancy in Dar es Saalam

9. MJ thinks Safaricom will win the 'War' with Airtel Bharti - prefers not to call it 'Price War'

10. Best advice MJ got was 'You have to make decisions yourself' even if once in a while you go wrong

11. MJ of Safaricom has never read more than 5 pages of any business book -> I was forced to read many such pages for my MBA. I think experience is an expensive teacher. No further comments

12. MJ is not a great fun of social media. He thinks his successor is though

13. MJ appeals to bloggers and others to use social media sensibly - not to spread falsehoods etc

14. MJ would not consider outsourcing customer care - it is so tempting yet so critical as far as he is concerned

15. For BPO we cant just rely on the fact that we speak english, or are in a good time zone. We have to deliver quality

16. To MJ, this BPO thing is overrated in Kenya's vision 2030 - I also agree

17. Safaricom expects payback from their base stations within one year, most of them pay back within 6 months

18. Solar energy for BTS makes sense only when air cooling is not required - I didnt know that

19. MJ would indulge in local capacity building only because it makes financial sense

21. MJ of Safaricom never believed in the idea of changing ringback tones. Now regrets ceding more revenue share than would have allowed

22. MJ of Safaricom now asserts that MKESHO is his (personal) idea - interesting < Great revelation.

23. Safaricom's deal with Equity on MKESHO ends next year - that should be good riddance to some

24. Safaricom CEO @iHubNairobi,we will be launching M-PESA buy goods on Friday,u can pay for shopping @Uchumi with M-PESA

25. 700,000 M-KESHO accounts in three months other banks want to cash in also

26. Safaricom will make it possible to pay for items via MPesa from Friday at Uchumi branches

27. Safaricom needs the banks - will address the exclusivity issue. They probably will not do it with Stanchart or Stanbic

28. I like MJ's passion around #MPESA, gets carried away by the topic

29. Really what's business enabling about paying a license to a regulator?

30. Consistency of management contributed to safaricom's market share staying at 80% over a couple of years

32. MJ of Safaricom thinks he is one person that does not admit defeat at all

Sasha
#9 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 11:51:06 AM

Watched the show. He said he would never get into politics and even though the ministers will not be politicians, he knows they will not be able to do their job without the influence of politics! So he said he would reject any government appointment.

He also said he can't believe Kenyans pay to listen to music when they make calls. Said that he rubbished the idea when it was placed in front of him even though it had been successful in Korea!

He said he doesn't give professionals a second chance when they screw up! He believes that a second chance is a second chance at screwing up!

He hates board meetings especially when the government is present. He intimated that he doesn't like a 'certain minister' who insists on having board meetings!

He hopes to be a Kenyan citizen by 2012! He will spend his time in his Nanyuki and Naivasha homes!
mjuaji wa stocks
#10 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 1:44:04 PM

Nice... Now if MJ can get Kenyan citizenship... then I would vote for him as my MP... Or a very senior position in government...

That could be the way he is going.....i once heard him say.....what he would like to be now after retire is to lead and make a differece...asked if he is politicallt interested....he answered in affirmative!!

I think he mentioned that his constituency is westlands.....

Wapi Gumo? Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

wakagori
#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 11:49:12 AM

All said and done, i dislike the idea thats floating around that Safcom might not do well after this exit. MJ=SafCom. wrong.
tuvok
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 4:03:30 PM

Some useful links I came across on the talk that muganda mentioned:

The Full Talk: http://vimeo.com/16454913
The Q&A Session: http://www.vimeo.com/16455729