wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Only one side of kenya is growing...or is it?
#21 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 3:54:50 PM

Just out of curiosity i thought the highway was to be built connecting msa to uganda bt sadly along the road somewhere the project is stalled?
What is happening?
Surealligator
#22 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 4:10:47 PM

extrablessed wrote:
...Lets get into the dreamland and assume for one moment that you are a REAL SONKO, and you have some Ksh25B to invest...Being the wise wazuan investor that you are where would you put your money?...Kitui? Nanyuki? Kapchemusuo? Kitui? Turkana? Narok? or Thika???

Very good question. I hope we'll get an honest answer.

@extra....

If the choice has to come from the towns you stated, I would invest such a huge sum in Thika as a private developer.

However, if the choice were for anywhere in the country, I would head to Eldoret, make my money and move to Switzerland or Singapore but retain a dual citizenship with Kenya. Am Kalejin.

Then, I would tour the world like never before.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
#23 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 4:23:21 PM

I have always viewed Kisumu as the best place to invest for a company focused on growing in the region, especially industrial/Agricultural. A lake where one can have good supply of water. Fairly good infrastructure, cheap labor (or at least many idle people), transportation of goods by water to TZ and UG. I have always figured a good industrial/Agro town would be located there. There seem to be large chunks of idle land. There must be something wrong with Kisumu that makes people avoid it, what is it? I think Kenya Breweries may have the answer as they once invested heavily there. Or does politics interfere with work there?, I remember some American farm tried to grow some crops there and the politics exploded on them like nonsense.
A New Kenya
propertyzote
#24 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 5:08:17 PM

my take on this is..as Simpson says "Truly visionary governments invest resources where they may not have immediate returns but improve the overall quality of life of MAJORITY of their people in the long term" Our current leaders and policy makers unfortunately are the ones to advocate for this, but with all due respect they still want to cling to the old ways of doing things. They are leading us as if they will be no tomorrow. All to them that matters is 2012. Anyone who watched Citizen today's Breakfast show the new CEO of Safaricom Knows what the future holds.
www.propertyzote.com the ultimate ‘one stop online shop’ of choice connecting more people with more properties at the click of a button
#25 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 8:34:16 PM

iko pumbavu kwa hii thread imesema kitengela haijaendelea. i bought 1/4 acre land in milimani area of ktngla for six hundred thao in 2007 and its now at a mkt rate of 1.7m. Honestly, one should visit the area before running mouth ovyo ovyo.

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Litro
#26 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 9:55:19 PM

@ Much Know, You are spot on, on that. Kisumu would be the most ideal county for an agro industrial concern. What with all the requisite infrastructure. I once visited Equator bottlers on the shores of L. Victoria, water is readily available from the lake and were it not for Cocacola's restrictions, muhindi guy was saying, he would be transporting the products to Ug n Tz via the lake. Where else in Kenya can you do that?
Politics and arrogance will be Kisumu's undoing!
#27 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 10:19:13 PM

@obiero, relax, take some coffee, breathe in and out...then apologise to whoever you called pumbavu.
Apple Bees
#28 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 10:32:23 PM

kadonye wrote:
@obiero, relax, take some coffee, breathe in and out...then apologise to whoever you called pumbavu.

apologies for what? that's an expression- we often pass our skewed analyses as gospel
mv_ufanisi
#29 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 11:45:17 PM

[/quote]

...Lets get into the dreamland and assume for one moment that you are a REAL SONKO, and you have some Ksh25B to invest...Being the wise wazuan investor that you are where would you put your money?...Kitui? Nanyuki? Kapchemusuo? Kitui? Turkana? Narok? or Thika???[/quote]

Depends on how smart/creative you are.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 11:57:26 PM

i sincerly apologize to the pumbavu!

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#31 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 10:35:24 AM

let us head back to the main topic of discussion.
wakagori
#32 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 10:38:58 AM

Politics is what kills Kisumu as an investment destination. one can not invest there without the "blessings" of certain politiciana. Cheap labor iko, water is there, ok infrastructure.... Anyway, i have heard of that mzungu project who just opted out, then there was some other guys who had just completed a rice mill/factory but it was burnt down in the 2008 skirmishes - out of nothing really.
Kenya railways also wanted to build a second city in some massive land they own by the land but they didnt get sufficient investors - they killed the project altogether
#33 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 10:55:27 AM

Investing in Kisumu is 95% risk and 5% business sense........I wish the owner of the Kimwa chain of hotels and entertainment spots was around to testify this.
Jamani
#34 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 11:28:00 AM

extrablessed wrote:
...Lets get into the dreamland and assume for one moment that you are a REAL SONKO, and you have some Ksh25B to invest...Being the wise wazuan investor that you are where would you put your money?...Kitui? Nanyuki? Kapchemusuo? Kitui? Turkana? Narok? or Thika???

Very good question. I hope we'll get an honest answer.

For a real sonko, you can create towns, industies, resort areas, anywhere and people will follow becuase a real sonko will utilise and tap into the natural resource of the area by putting/enhancing value to attract people, this has happened elsewhere and worked.
Jamani
#35 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 11:34:44 AM

Investing in Kisumu is 95% risk and 5% business sense........I wish the owner of the Kimwa chain of hotels and entertainment spots was around to testify this.

This means 95% profit and 5% loss.... read high risks high returns (when not down in ashes)
#36 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 11:40:21 AM

Kisumu it appears is just a lot of lost potential. I would say the most poorly utilized area in Kenya. I have even heard that guys who try to make viable investments in supporting fishing are soon bombarded with political nonsense such that fish farms in Nairobi, Eastern and Central will form more viable sources of fish, What a waste!!. I blame this on leaders from that region failing to develop a sense that personal gains can be made from the products of human labor and rather promoting a sense that gains can only be made from politics. Am saying(without real tribal bias) that the hotbed of Luo politics needs to be solving the problems of Nyanza and not Nairobi's Kibera. Failures in Kisumu and its environs are being exported to Nairobi (Kibera) and causing a lot of distraction. Little wonder during P.E.V Kibera residents were behaving exactly in the same way as Kisumu residents, burning formal places of work, because the true value of such commercial enterprises is not being promoted but rather the value of political seats and power.
A New Kenya
Jamani
#37 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 11:46:05 AM

Kisumu it appears is just a lot of lost potential. I would say they most poorly utilized area in Kenya. I have even heard that guys who try to make viable investments in supporting fishing are soon bombarded with political nonsense such that fish farms in Nairobi, Eastern and Central will form more viable sources of fish, What a waste!!. I blame this on leaders from that region failing to develop a sense that personal gains can be made from the products of human labor and rather promoting a sense that gains can only be made from politics posts. Am saying(without real tribal bias) that the hotbed of Luo politics needs to be solving the problems of Nyanza and not Nairobi's Kibera. Failures in Kisumu and its environs are being exported to Nairobi (Kibera) and causing a lot of distraction. Little wonder during P.E.V Kibera residents were behaving exactly in the same way as Kisumu residents, burning formal places of work, because the true value of such commercial enterprises is not being promoted but rather the value of political seats and power.

What would you say of Turkana, with the lake around? and Tana area with the river flowing 365 days? or lake baringo area to name but a few? these always support the government in power.. why do we loose potential in these areas?
#38 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 11:46:29 AM

Jamani wrote:

This means 95% profit and 5% loss.... read high risks high returns (when not down in ashes)

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
#39 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 3:23:56 PM

Jamani wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

@Mcdoba/Jamani,
I like my ROI in form of cash or some cheque....Not bags of ashes or empty shelfs...That aside,this town has opportunities and potential beyond belief....but do i say?
Jamani
#40 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 4:00:35 PM

Jamani wrote:

@Mcdoba/Jamani,
I like my ROI in form of cash or some cheque....Not bags of ashes or empty shelfs...That aside,this town has opportunities and potential beyond belief....but do i say?

@Njung'e thats exactly what we are saying, you will be getting 95% ROI in cash all the time. But with "siasa mbaya" then your business goes under with 95%* X-months in operations. BTW the Kimwa guy made his money long before the ashes.Which other county can you make that? These guys spend roho safi... yes but do they say?