wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

Wilson Airport....Kangundo rd or Eastern byass rd?
maina20
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 3:55:28 PM

un confirmed report says that the Wilson Aiport might have an airstrip along eastern by-pass instead of Kangundo rd near KBC.....
Anybody with info?
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 4:59:04 PM

Wilson Airport has 2 runways, of which the longest is 5052 feet (1540 metres) long. The geographic coordinates of this airport are 1 degrees, 19 minutes, 18 seconds south (-1.321719) and 36 degrees, 48 minutes, 53 seconds east (36.814833). Sasa hi airstrip kwa by-pass ni Wilson gani?
winston
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 6:12:45 PM

@GG..the fellow meant the planned NEW Wilson airport. Been rumours for along time that it was to be built of kangundo road.

@Maina20...have also heard rumours of a change but no hard facts
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 6:19:05 PM

The guys selling land on the eastern bypass have really been hyping up the story.How long would it be before it finally actualises
marko
#5 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 6:22:57 PM

Wilson Airport wont be going anywhere anytime soon.hiyo sahau.
WHO DARES WINS
murenj
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 8:23:20 PM

it is to be relocated away from the busy residential area. land already allocated some 40 km from nairobi kangundo road. same area also has a proposed site for a private airstrip.
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 10:26:40 PM

murenj wrote:
it is to be relocated away from the busy residential area. land already allocated some 40 km from nairobi kangundo road. same area also has a proposed site for a private airstrip.

Heathrow airport, the busiest in the world is located in the middle of a residential area (see google maps). Infact they wanted to demolish over 1000 residential houses so as to build a new runway. So location in a residential area isn't reason enough to move an airport.
maina20
#8 Posted : Friday, October 15, 2010 9:03:04 AM

Shame on you guys, the intended land is quite expansive, along eastern by-pass from thika superhighway junction...about 3km from thika rd, and extends for more than 8km if u are driving towards JKIA on your left......a very prime location due to connectivity to JKIA as well as thika superhighway...and runda etc along the by-pass.... lisemwalo liko!!!!
murenj
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 21, 2010 7:24:29 PM

institutions like kenya airways, private universities et al have bought large tracts of land in nearby towns for future expansion. land speculators are already taking positions. the rest of you guys will come when land is selling over 1M
native
#10 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 9:08:38 AM

Ignore those rumors. Wilson airport is not being moved anywhere. Buy because of other reasons.
#11 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 9:36:51 AM

@Maina20...I have also heard the same rumors but unconfirmed. Is it also next to the Juja plots sold by Mhasibu?
The move is apparently to facilitate trade in central and especially Meru for miraa exportation...
Bugatti
#12 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:42:50 AM

Wazuans-be informed that wilson airport isnt moving anywhere.Why? most of the people who operate in that airport are NGO guys and you cannot tell me that they will leave or relocated their offices to the Kangundo area.Also other factors.But mostly NGO's
marko
#13 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:44:03 AM

You dont just move an airport like Wilson overnight.there are numerous studies to be done.
1.airspace dimensions have to be studied and published and siting of runways.
2.visual aids have to be identified.
3.airspace conflicts have to be identified.we're talking JKIA,Eastliegh,restricted,prohibited and danger areas.
4.operators have to be consulted.you dont want another Eldoret airport flop.
5.to facilitate miraa trade,we have Isiolo airport which coincidentally also falls into the Manda bay port project.
6.the airspace in question falls under military control.
So far,none of these processes have commenced.they take years.
Am guessing someone wants to inflate land prices by peddling a lie.
WHO DARES WINS
#14 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:46:17 AM

I think it will just be a new airport, Wilson will still be there...
raszag
#15 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 10:50:11 AM

Might be a rumour but remember, where there is smoke possibilities of a fire is high.....I hear the Kenyatta family has sold Govt a parcel of land on the eastern bybass which is 8km in length and extends from the a few km from the Ruai bypass(bridge) to a few km to the thika rd juction....The shamba is well fenced off...
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
maina20
#16 Posted : Friday, October 22, 2010 11:16:00 AM

@raszag- very true...@marko, pls spare sometime and drive there.....u might change your perception.....especially on the potential for property in the environs.....
tmatekwa
#17 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 9:00:52 AM

raszag wrote:
Might be a rumour but remember, where there is smoke possibilities of a fire is high.....I hear the Kenyatta family has sold Govt a parcel of land on the eastern bybass which is 8km in length and extends from the a few km from the Ruai bypass(bridge) to a few km to the thika rd juction....The shamba is well fenced off...

some of the property i aquired in this area have appreciated by 40% to 100% witin the last 18 months.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 10:42:14 AM

Relocating the busiest airport in East n central Africa in the direct take off paths of a major East African int'l airport n a busy airforce base is highly unlikely. I highly doubt this. We can only try n find out wot the gava is aiming at in purchasing the land. Rem the minister of finance is....The land was owned by....
maina20
#19 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 11:06:44 AM

for as many as of similar opinion.....and believe that tatu city will also have a bullish effect on property, and accessibility from both JKIA and Thika superhighway is by its own a driving factor on property prices especially on short term......and would like to sample investment opportunity ...10 units on offer...for more info....nafmuma@yahoo.com