wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

TIRED OF WEARING GLASSES?
esther.mwende
#1 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 1:39:51 PM

Hi guys,

Have you all heard of Eagle Eye Laser Centre?

They offer LASIK procedures for people with short-sightedness, long-sightedness, astigmatism and presbyopia.

#2 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 1:48:58 PM

Any chance that you work there?

After thirteen years with mt glasses [and I only remove them when going to bed, taking a shower, or swimming!!], I have come to accept mine as part of my face!
#3 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 1:50:36 PM

esther.mwende wrote:
Hi guys,

Have you all heard of Eagle Eye Laser Centre?

They offer LASIK procedures for people with short-sightedness, long-sightedness, astigmatism and presbyopia.

With such sensitive operation, i would rather stick to what i know...... live with it or consult Dr. Joshi of Laser eye centre, Sarit....

Hii si kitu ya kukondolea macho yeyote barabarani...
#4 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 1:55:21 PM

mukiha wrote:
Any chance that you work there?

After thirteen years with mt glasses [and I only remove them when going to bed, taking a shower, or swimming!!], I have come to accept mine as part of my face!

This being your first post...maybe, just maybe I see @Mukiha's point
Jangwa la Jangili
#5 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 2:21:44 PM

If I am not wrong, this costs over KES 200K+ in the US/UK and health insurance companies usually don't touch it because it is considered an elective procedure.

Second, if it was so effective, why do so many ophthalmologists still wear glasses? :) Risk vs Return. Changes to your eye are permanent.
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
esther.mwende
#6 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 3:02:53 PM

@Elder, yes i work here. We have the best opthalmologists and we have teamed up with Dr. Gaeckle. Can send you more information.
We have the latest technology. Feel free to come in for a visit.
misdemeanour
#7 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 3:10:37 PM

esther.mwende wrote:
@Elder, yes i work here. We have the best opthalmologists and we have teamed up with Dr. Gaeckle. Can send you more information.
We have the latest technology. Feel free to come in for a visit.

is this just for glasses-wearing people or can u help my diabetic mum whose having issues with her eyes?
Am paid in Kshs.
Ric dees
#8 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 3:12:45 PM

@Jangwa not quite, Laser eye treatment is GBP 300 per eye roughly KSHS 36,000. I too wear glasses and have worn them since class 6-7 so maybe like Mukiha i have come to accept them as part of my face lol, however i have contact lenses too and change them intermittently depending on different circumstances.

However what you need to know bout Laser eye treatment is that it's not permanent after 3-4 years you will be back to where you were if not worse. I almost crossed this line some 3 years back until a colleague told me bout this decided it was just not worth it.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
esther.mwende
#9 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 3:22:03 PM

@Ric dees
lol.Why do you need to travel and we are offering you the service here in Nairobi. and yes, your eyes like all body parts age with time.Contact lenses are such a hussle, in the morning, removing them at night. dust and all, risk of infection....can i continue?nah. not worth it at all
#10 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 3:32:17 PM

Rather have these bothersome glasses of mine than be rendered blind due to some laser misadventures. Ama is there a warranty for working goat eyes in the event the laser melts my eyeballs?

And esther.mwende you are new here so I shall forgive you but remember next time that THERE IS ONLY ONE ELDER. ABK.
#11 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 3:35:09 PM

esther.mwende wrote:
@Ric dees
lol.Why do you need to travel and we are offering you the service here in Nairobi. and yes, your eyes like all body parts age with time.Contact lenses are such a hussle, in the morning, removing them at night. dust and all, risk of infection....can i continue?nah. not worth it at all

Two questions:
1] What's the cost?
2] What's medically wrong with eye-glasses, that would make me prefer LASER treatment?
esther.mwende
#12 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 3:40:13 PM

@misdemeanour
i can advise you to bring your mum in for an eye diagnosis then the opthalmologist will advise on way forward. Like i mentioned, every case is different.
#13 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 3:57:05 PM

Elder wrote:
Rather have these bothersome glasses of mine than be rendered blind due to some laser misadventures. Ama is there a warranty for working goat eyes in the event the laser melts my eyeballs?

And esther.mwende you are new here so I shall forgive you but remember next time that THERE IS ONLY ONE ELDER. ABK.

Remember the joke when Elder was a Newfarer and Newfarer was an elder??
#14 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 4:04:43 PM

@Esther

Please sell your wares. DO NOT unsell other peoples' wares. In other words, tell us why we should opt for the laser surgery not why we should not opt for glasses or contacts.
Ric dees
#15 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 4:24:10 PM

@mwende.esther.. i hear you however i have worn contacts for over 5 years now and trust me it's not a hustle whether i have come home in a drunken stupor or not..well same thing as taking a condom and putting it on and off and discarding it, if i can consult Wazua this trust me is NOT a hustle...

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
esther.mwende
#16 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 5:11:28 PM

@Ric
Not everyone enjoys putting on contact lenses. Am seeking those people who are TIRED of wearing of glasses and contact lenses because i am offering another optical solution hence my title 'Tired of wearing glasses?'
esther.mwende
#17 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 5:17:36 PM

@bwenyenye
the market has several options in terms of optical solutions and you have freedom of choice, nothing is being imposed on you.LASIK is an option for those who want freedom from glasses and contact lenses.
esther.mwende
#18 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 5:22:40 PM

All,

Please note there is laser for the retina and LASIK. There is a big difference.
Wa_ithaka
#19 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 5:34:25 PM

Mende-have you paid wazua an advertising fee?
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#20 Posted : Monday, October 18, 2010 6:46:01 PM

mukiha wrote:
Elder wrote:

Remember the joke when Elder was a Newfarer and Newfarer was an elder??

smile Sad