wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Garden Estate
#21 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 5:09:37 PM

If guy set it at 0.5 pls respect their decision. Luttz how much does a parcel go for?
luttz
#22 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 5:20:19 PM

@ Kyt,
It depends on location, roughly 4 to 10M, got a neighbour who is selling half acre at 10M, asking price
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
Mwene
#23 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 5:38:04 PM

luttz wrote:
@ Mwene
I dont know which part of Garden your group intends to build the houses. If its Garden court, we as the residents are determined to ensure it does not happen. We have set standards as an association and we will not allow greedy people to mess around with our life. We have paid dearly to retain the value of our assets and we will go all the way to fight.

Thank you Luttz for your comments. But I think you are missing the point. ''Your asset'' is only the specific piece of land for which you have a title deed, not the entire Garden Court, nor even Gardern Estate as a whole. My company owns the land on which we intend to build, just in the same way you own yours. There are laws that govern land usage in this country. Our development plan will be consumatted within the law. Your rights will be protected by the law, just like ours will. There is no point in being emotional - just remember that the law is the standard for all Kenyans, and we intend to follow it. Fortunately, we have learnt that new zoning regulations are on the way. Thanks to everyone who contributed on this subject. I do not need any further advice.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 5:56:08 PM

Mwene wrote:
luttz wrote:
@ Mwene
I dont know which part of Garden your group intends to build the houses. If its Garden court, we as the residents are determined to ensure it does not happen. We have set standards as an association and we will not allow greedy people to mess around with our life. We have paid dearly to retain the value of our assets and we will go all the way to fight.

Thank you Luttz for your comments. But I think you are missing the point. ''Your asset'' is only the specific piece of land for which you have a title deed, not the entire Garden Court, nor even Gardern Estate as a whole. My company owns the land on which we intend to build, just in the same way you own yours. There are laws that govern land usage in this country. Our development plan will be consumatted within the law. Your rights will be protected by the law, just like ours will. There is no point in being emotional - just remember that the law is the standard for all Kenyans, and we intend to follow it. Fortunately, we have learnt that new zoning regulations are on the way. Thanks to everyone who contributed on this subject. I do not need any further advice.
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#25 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 6:16:05 PM

Mwene wrote:
luttz wrote:
@ Mwene

Your initial post reads: Wondering if anyone can assist with information in respect of the following matter - a group I belong to planned to put up 18 modern townhouses in Garden Estate Nairobi, each sitting on 0.25 acres instead of the mandatory 0.5acres. The City Council refuses to approve, even though its been granted to others. The development is well researched with all facilities taken care, and we see the City refusal as unreasonable. Does anyone know someone who can assist without having to ask for a bribe?

I thought you were asking how to slightly 'bend' the same rules you claim to protect both of you? or did i also get it wrong?
#26 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 6:47:57 PM

@ mwene, i told you these forum is too hot to handle. I did not even notice the "mandatory" part. And the way u get worked up is not going to help u in wazua my guy! smile
african coloner
#27 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 7:50:22 PM

[quote=luttz]@ Kyt,
It depends on location, roughly 4 to 10M, got a neighbour who is selling half acre at 10M, asking price[/quot'

@luttz
which area in garden estate or thome can i get a cheap plot? less than 4m with a title and not on flood prone areas or clay soil
luttz
#28 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 10:04:42 PM

@ African coloner,

Inbox me, will send you the number of a guy who will help you on this
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
Injere
#29 Posted : Tuesday, October 12, 2010 10:26:28 PM

Mwene- zoning regulations are not the exclusive jurisdiction of NCC. Residents associations and stakeholders are having a higher say in these things. Karengata and Runda are just but two examples I can think of, so i think Luttz has a point and you can bet he's not alone. If thats the area you call your home, am sure you'd be thinking differently. So, let's wait.
Mwene
#30 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 12:59:16 PM

kyt wrote:
@ mwene, i told you these forum is too hot to handle. I did not even notice the "mandatory" part. And the way u get worked up is not going to help u in wazua my guy! smile

Let me explain further: Laws (including zoning regulations) are made for a reason, not just for the sake of it. Just as an example -one of the reasons why Garden Estate has the 1970's mandatory limitation of 0.5 acre per single dwelling is because there is no public sewer in the area. So, today if a developer opts to put up a public sewer in the estate, this regulation will be rendered meaningless in the eyes of the law. My company has exhaustively addressed ALL the possible objections behind the zoning law in the area. We can even demonstrate that our development adds immense value to holdings in the area. Our application has to therefore be considered on basis of merit and merit alone. That is what we required the NCC to do, and that is their duty. Otherwise, if we unreasonably stick to archaic laws, the country will never progress.
Injere
#31 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 1:39:45 PM

I take your point on the sewer.Well said. Are we then saying there are plans for NCC to extend sewerage services to these areas and that's the basis of proposed re-zoning? The last time i checked Mwene, 90% of Garden Estate is still in darkness at night and there are ONLY dirt roads barely usable during rainy seasons - NCC snoring on the job! Truth is, if there is no comprehensive solution from NCC for all the infrastructural requirements in areas such as these, i frankly dont see how rezoning will happen. Private developers will only do what's convenient for them from a biz perspective, the wider problem still remains unaffected. These are my thoughts.
Mwene
#32 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 2:02:59 PM

Injere wrote:
I take your point on the sewer.Well said. Are we then saying there are plans for NCC to extend sewerage services to these areas and that's the basis of proposed re-zoning? The last time i checked Mwene, 90% of Garden Estate is still in darkness at night and there are ONLY dirt roads barely usable during rainy seasons - NCC snoring on the job! Truth is, if there is no comprehensive solution from NCC for all the infrastructural requirements in areas such as these, i frankly dont see how rezoning will happen. Private developers will only do what's convenient for them from a biz perspective, the wider problem still remains unaffected. These are my thoughts.

Hi. Thanks for your comments. I was giving the sewer just as one example. Subject to ALL the NCC, NEMA and other relevant requirements, a private developer can put a sewer. It is already happening. In addition, we now know that there are newer, better, scientific and technologically efficient means of public waste disposal which one can use, not just the traditional sewer. These technologies are already in use in South Africa and elsewhere. Further, the development we are envisaging is comprehensive enough, covering more aspects than just sewer. We have asked that our proposals be evaluated on basis of merit, rather than being dismissed off-hand, with subtle hints of bribery etc. But I agree with you that NCC has to play its role where required. We are a solution oriented organization, not content with waiting for eons for NCC to act. We do not wish to be part of the endemic, systemic problem that the NCC seems content to babysit.
Mwene
#33 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 2:45:29 PM

Mwene wrote:
[quote=kyt]@ mwene, i told you these forum is too hot to handle. I did not even notice the "mandatory" part. And the way u get worked up is not going to help u in wazua my guy! smile

My apologies if I seemed to be getting worked up! That's a bad character trait that I must desist from kabisa. Thanks for saying it!
#34 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 3:26:31 PM

Mwene wrote:
Injere wrote:

In addition, we now know that there are newer, better, scientific and technologically efficient means of public waste disposal which one can use, not just the traditional sewer. These technologies are already in use in South Africa and elsewhere. .

Any link/information on these?
african coloner
#35 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 6:59:14 PM

luttz wrote:
@ African coloner,

Inbox me, will send you the number of a guy who will help you on this

luttz
hit my mail at ronaldkmn at yahoo dot com
Renegade
#36 Posted : Wednesday, October 13, 2010 7:29:47 PM

By the way where does Garden Estate end and where does Thome begin? Or are they considered to be one contiguous zone?
Injere
#37 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 8:26:42 AM

Garden Estate is just that Bwana Renegade - Garden Estate. It is a gated community with a single exit/entry point much like Runda i'd say. I might however add that the plots of land on either side or Garden Estate road just before you get to the Marurui junction are of equal pedigree and are loosely regarded as 'Garden Estate' as well.

From the Marurui junction - the other land mass towards Marurui township is Thome. This extends to the areas just behind Safari Park; the other land mass towards Windorsor/Kiambu road is Ridgeways as far as i know.

I stand to be corrected though!
luttz
#38 Posted : Thursday, October 14, 2010 1:05:22 PM

@ African Coloner

Emails bouncing back, in box me at sanadeer@gmail.com

Cheers