wazua Sat, Dec 6, 2025

Kenyan Ladies Who Smoke
jaribu
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 9:41:00 AM

is it just me or has anyone else noticed that our ladies have mutated into chimneys? i have travelled throughout africa (thru the grace of God) and no where else do ladies puff as much as in kenya,hope i'm not being old fashioned! from coast,to nairobi to western and nyanza where even cucus seem to enjoy lighting up. just walk into any local pub and chances are that there will be a gang of chicks,some as young as 19 years old,smoking more than ever when men appear to be giving up the smoke. actually none of my male friends or colleagues smoke! what could be the reason for this trend? is it being a modern woman,freedom,finance or rebelling? i know men tend to be attracted to 'bad' chicks especially when having fun but who would marry a lady that smokes? i mean sielewi! please opine and light up (pun intended) for me this issue.

wHo.. DaRes.. wIns!
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 9:54:00 AM

There is an old belief that smoking helps in slimming/cutting weight .May be this is the reason why this trend is catching up with most modern women.

you can achive all things through Him(Jesus Christ)
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 9:55:00 AM

jaribu - Wacha double standards... I don't like to snog women who smoke coz of the 'taste' when we exchange saliva... lakini they have the right to smoke like a chimney...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
jaribu
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 10:29:00 AM

i'm still being perturbed by this new fashion of so many chicks smoking in every pub that i pop in. i have actually phoned one lady friend of mine who smokes and she claimed she does it to........... relax! when i pressed her further,she told me told me- wait for this- that guys love 'bad' chicks especially those who smoke! what a dopehead! or maybe she's right. there you go men,it's your fault that so many ladies are smoking nowadays! looks like men get blamed for everything. so to all men,stop being attracted to 'bad' gals and who knows,they may just quash this terrible habit.

wHo.. DaRes.. wIns!
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 10:29:00 AM

....thought we got more lady chimneys in SA???

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 9:05:00 AM

@jaribu - You do know I am more interested in her southern regions...

Now... she can smoke as long as she doesn't do so when she is performing one of those 'sinful' acts on me that some Kenyans complain about...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
tony stark
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 9:20:00 AM

@ Jaribu,I can see my flaws in your reasoning.
Flaw 1. You have travelled all over Africa probably a few day visits and have been able to get representative sample of women all over Africa. Ngumu sana so you really cant compare us to Africa.
Flaw 2. You have travelled in bars in kenya and smoking and drinking are usually associated. Well had you been visiting churches you will notice that women really dont smoke. Ulienda church lini mwisho??
Flaw 3. You link women smoking to men. Dont you see BAT with cigarette brands targeted at women with pretty colour eg pall mall. They have a marketing department that targets women. So if by the chance you are right and that women are smoking more then the cause is probably not men but BAT.

SK A.L.U.M.N.I (Alcoholic Liason and Undergarments Manager of Nakedness Internationally)
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 9:36:00 AM

@ Jaribu

You are the first person i have seen in this forum who has correctly used the phrase 'pun intended'.

WOULD RATHER DIE FIGHTING 4 MY RIGHTS THAN LIVE FOREVER WITHOUT ANY RIGHTS
marex
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 10:23:00 AM

it daent matter huz doin it...smoking is irritating!

sticks and stones are thrown at fruit bearing trees
The way I am
Poggie
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 11:11:00 AM

This topic got me interested because I stopped smoking on 7th September 2009,this after 16 years of puffing,huffing and wheezing. Not to mention the morning cough,rough skin,bad breath,f.u.c.k.e.d up tste buds etc. In my quest to quit,I did some research and I can confidently contribute that our ladies are getting hooked to smoking because of the following;
1. Nicotine has a chemical effect on the brain similar to the one produced after sexual intercourse or when you take cocaine. It's a reward system and the body craves it like crazy.
2. Once addicted to a chemical substance,it is generally agreed that women find it difficult to quit.
3. With women's lib blossoming in Kenya,many upwardly ladies are taking the habit purely to potray an image of indepence and risk-taking. I call it baloney!
4. And finally,youth in its true essence is equally addictive and brazen. So while the older smokers are feeling to experience the consequences of their hedonistic choices the younger girls feel they are mature enough to indulge.

I am now 80 days bila nicotine and though I had added 8 lbs,I will not trade my new found freedom with anything.

As a man thinketh so is he
As A Man Thinketh So is He
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 11:21:00 AM

So how much was BAT stock today?
Axe
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 11:47:00 AM

i did my own research and came up with this conclusion

majority of this ladies are / were:

Dumped by there guys

Are trying to seek attention

Are thwaks

Brought up in a very strict society n now are turning aganist it (rebelion)

.......... etc etc

He who fights and runs away,shall leave to fight another day.
"You wouldn't know where the boundary was until you got a slap on the back of your wrist"
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 12:39:00 PM

LOL... I like that... trying to act cool coz they are thwacks... hoping a jamaa will amble over for a cig?

BTW,smokers are one group that is 'united'... especially when in a smoking zone!

#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 1:35:00 PM

Peer influence and watching so many mexican soaps and western movies.They want to be of class.What a sh***y class?

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

Ali Baba
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 1:40:00 PM

POGGIE,

You are 80 days since you quit ??? I'm 9 years since I quit !!! Complaining of weight gain....go to the gym.It works well.

Ali Baba
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 1:47:00 PM

By the way how do u connect your mouth with a woman who smokes not unless u r under the influence of a stronger and more potent substance?

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

kishindo
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 2:33:00 PM

wako down fullstop...

less is more for Architects only!!
Less is more....for Architects only!!
The Real Shaft
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 2:46:00 PM

one lady was asked after a raunchy bout of bedminton.....

by her sweaty mate...

'.. do you smoke after xes...???'

the blonde looked at him and answered....

'... i have never looked down to see......!!!'

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
money maker
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 2:56:00 PM

Smoking for women in Kenya is equated with class and standards.To them if you smoke you are at a Higher class and Status..Just go to Kibera or Mathare and tell me how many you will see smoking.This Morons watch to many movies and soaps with litte understanding that the smokes on Tv are not addictive and are meant for show.The Reality is,our country has become one of Class.If you are weak minded,its hard not to fall for the temptations to keep up with the John's.

If a free society cannot help the many who are poor,it cannot save the few who are rich
Phaoro
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 25, 2009 5:18:00 PM

Out in the west ladies seem to smoke (my observation) more than men. It just seems our sisters are just catching up to their counterparts in the west.

Marriages are made in heaven. But so are thunder and lightning.