India's commonwealth games disaster -What will Sunny Bindra say now?
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 1:11:47 PM

India's preparations for the hosting of forthcoming commonwealth games has been a big disaster. With less than 2 weeks to go, the venues are not yet complete, a bridge to be used for the games has collapsed injuring over 20 people, the ceiling to the main venue has also collapsed. To make matters even worse, the olympic village has been described as filthy and unfit for human habitation. The railway (metro) infrastructure meant for the games will be ready earliest next year well after the games. There are terrorism fears and health issues since it is being said India's sewerage and hygiene standards belong to the stone age. The global media has lambasted India for incompetence with some telling India that despite having nuclear weapons and a space programme, it should stop pretending that it isn't a third world country.

This is a huge contrast with the way the World Cup was professionally organised by SA.

I am just waiting for Sunny Bindra's piece on sunday - since I don't know how he will defend this incompetence - since he is always lecturing Kenya on how to copy from 'advanced' India.

Daily Mail: 24hrs to save Commonwealth games
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 1:23:51 PM

Delhi is one big mound of garbage and crap!!......and the fears of terrorism.BTW,could this issues have contributed in the opting out for quite a number of senior Kenyan athletes such as Eldoret Express??
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 2:13:40 PM

They have really messed up things this time am not even sure if the games will kick off...
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 2:17:23 PM

Which was the stand-by host nation should India fail?
Kiribati?

#5 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 2:19:34 PM

They have even been photographed using child labourers to try and harakisha the work . Enyewe ni kubaya.
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 3:22:09 PM

Robinhood wrote:
They have even been photographed using child labourers to try and harakisha the work . Enyewe ni kubaya.

Why would they do that? I hear they are soooo many, you have no idea.
alikujia
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 4:42:30 PM

Oh Oh BRIC!! - "we have the numbers"
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 7:36:37 PM

When these guys allowed India to host the games,they knew it was not Singapore,it was absurd to listen to people rant about dirt in India.

As for terrorists,the last time i checked, simultaneous bombing of the twin tower and a real threat on the pentagon did not take place in Delhi.No one is safe and if they feel extra unsafe,how about helping India beef up security during the sports period?
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 7:47:54 PM

.....i can smell the filth in India right here in Nairobi !! It pains me to see how some wahindi mistreat blacks na huko kwao kumeoza !! No wonder the Asian 'expats' never go back home when their contracts expire.....i
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 9:01:17 PM

India must b one of the filthiest country in the world. The filth starts rait at the airport!
alikujia
#11 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 2:43:52 AM

talk of starting from top. the west started by brick and mortar before going lofty/softy ala windows (by the way what the heck is so funny about windows making the gates richest for close to 2 decades). Anyway India with its softy race ought to look back at basics of brick and mortar before going far. Ati pple have been shitting anyhowly at the athletes village! yes, heard it in telly and thought if this is really true then its pure sabotage!

#12 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 8:38:53 AM

@Alikujia,
C'mon......I saw a clip on Reuters and in one room,there was dog paws all over a brand new mattress.....Yes! You heard me right.Tell me Oga.How good are Indian dogs to sabotage sports?.
#13 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 9:46:15 AM

...This is a disaster... No athlete of any repute should allow to live in such deplorable conditions. I thought India was a 'developed developing country'

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sp...s/delhi_2010/9025666.stm
#14 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 11:25:41 AM

@Kameme, See link. Wako wengi lakini they still use kids in construction... So sad

http://edition.cnn.com/2...labor/index.html?hpt=C1
#15 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 11:59:24 AM

@Alikujia,
C'mon......I saw a clip on Reuters and in one room,there was dog paws all over a brand new mattress.....Yes! You heard me right.Tell me Oga.How good are Indian dogs to sabotage sports?.

Those are terrorist dogs. Well trained and promised v****n bitches in the afterlife.
real cindano
#16 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 12:59:35 PM

Delhi is one big mound of garbage and crap!!......and the fears of terrorism.BTW,could this issues have contributed in the opting out for quite a number of senior Kenyan athletes such as Eldoret Express??

I doubt dirt is the reason for some athletes not competing..........
Rudisha basically wants to focus on world championship - PESA and olympic - Glory..........
Common wealth doesnt offer glory or money ..........
so why risk an injury for the common wealth...........
I'm glad to see our professional athletes becoming smarter. ..........
We have a new cadre of athletes ..........
who are well managed and choose races and are aiming for longevity.............
How can we dare call india filthy kwani Kenya has become singapore. .........
Lets remove the logs from our eyes .............
Imohlizer
#17 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 4:52:48 PM

I suppose the commonwealth organizing committee got the title wrong...it should have been...

SURVIVOR DEHLI Sad
#18 Posted : Tuesday, October 05, 2010 12:04:19 PM

This is what he said this Sunday in response, and all I could think of is Wazuzus:

India’s games shame should be a wake-up call

Didn't know of the two faces of India - corporate titans vs old-world government bureaucrats!

#19 Posted : Tuesday, October 05, 2010 12:45:37 PM

@muganda, true India has so many,often contrasting faces.
It is a nuclear-armed nation yet home to a centuries-old caste system that subjects part of the populace to primitivity.
Some of the world's leading billionaires such as the Ambani brothers appear routinely ad nauseam on FORBES yet the dirt poor of the world live in Calcutta, often cutting their limbs to help them be more competitive when it comes to begging (and it is from their destitution that we got Mother Teresa when she was so moved).

Methinks there was a lot of corruption in Delhi on this one.
Did someone say they actually had 7 years to prepare for the Games...
#20 Posted : Tuesday, October 05, 2010 1:30:08 PM

In this case Bindra is right. We really do have 2 faces of India. And those corporate titans must be so embarrassed that this happened to their country. anyway the opening ceremony was OK.