wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

Security matters on census night
jaribu
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 8:52:00 AM

Will you open the door and let in the guys conducting census? That seems to be the excruciating question most Kenyans are asking themselves. For me,I'm still scratching my head not sure whether to open the door or the window to speak to the guys. You can bet criminals will have a field day on those two nights,watu watalalishwa chini as cartoonist Gado rightly depicts in today's Nation.I was wondering,why not conduct the Census on weekends afternoon till late evening? The government should also order all the pubs to be closed during census otherwise millions of Kenyans will be out there getting wasted. What say you?

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
Mr.Tea
#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 9:26:00 AM

From what I have gathered,census is conducted following certain standard procedures so as to achieve the desired results. While the government has made every effort to conduct this year's census to meet the highest of standards,my imagination is that there are dark forces at work employing all manner of tactics to mar the exercise so as to discredit the end result. Security is an issue whether there is a census or not.Tribalism is not alien and will be at our bed side long after the census is gone. Census is not an invention for wealth creation for enumerators,supervisors or any other persons with such inclinations. Let us for once put the nation ahead of our narrow,pitiable,self-serving interests.The values of a credible census can never be gainsaid. It starts with us.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
nahdy
#3 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 10:25:00 AM

this could have been done during the day,why not make one of the days a public holiday & do the census from morning!
kongowea
#4 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 10:52:00 AM

BTW do these census guys have to enter your house/compound?
si one can answer all their questions kwa dirisha ama kwa gate....

kwangu hawaingii. i will answer all their questions while in my house and them outside. they can take my word or leave it.
Tito44
#5 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 11:18:00 AM

or better still,have them slide the forms under the door/through the window,give you time to fill them up and slide them back to them.
jaribu
#6 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 11:35:00 AM

You can bet that since most of the census staff will be local,some will sorora your house proper. That is spy out for it's contents like- dvd player,plasma,cd player and that info will be used after a month by gangsters when they storm your diggz.! I'm sorry but the window will do! Amen.

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
Noble
#7 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 11:50:00 AM

My house hawaingii. I'll put a chair and table outside the window and with the security light on,that will do. Otherwise what else do they want to see inside my house?.......Unless they have to do a head count all through the bedrooms.
Jacy26
#8 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 11:58:00 AM

If they come at my place after 6.00pm,too bad coz I'l have locked the gate. I can do without being counted for all I care..

I will praise thee,O Lord my God,with all my heart: And I will glorify thy name forever more. Psalms 86:12
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
#9 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 12:08:00 PM

Hata mimi kwangu hawaigii!!!! Before I do anything,I always weigh the pros and cons. In this case the cons (kulalishwa chini,kusorora for future reference & even being kidnapped from your own house - inside this time not at the gate!) far outweigh the pros (ati 'natambulika'). I'm sure they have a way of calculating the margin of error. I'll be that error!! Nini hii! The last time there was a proper census in Kenya,we used to sleep with our doors open sometimes,no buglar proofing,no estate thugs with guns etc. etc. This is 2009 my friend!
#10 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 12:14:00 PM

@All,

Good views down there. Assuming any of your jobless brother/Cousin/close friend or yourselves have landed this casual job. Would you open the door at least to help them earn a living. We are speaking of them as if they are not part of our society. Tomorrow,it could be you needing that information.

This thing is being done by us for us

Kamaa
#11 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 12:35:00 PM

'ati kwangu hawaingi...' kubaff!

it's very funny most of you are against the census on the pretext of security....

yet most of you are a household nuisance.... always latecomers!

you rarely get home before midnight...

and everytime you are always smelling pombe haramu....

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Noble
#12 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 12:42:00 PM

@ kamaa

Ata wewe ni kubaff. How can u let them in. You should answer all the questions though the window. Why do they have to get in the house. They are counting people,not plates and cups.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 12:46:00 PM

@ Kamaa - There is nothing as traumatizing a thugs inside your own house!!! I'd rather deal with them out there. Personally I'm not against the census. I hope it will be a success - but not at the expense of my security!!!
The truth is,a majority of people will be 'counted' without incidence but there is a sizeable percentage who will wish to forget the day! Just watch the news,read the newspapers etc. a couple of days after the census and you'll see the stories! And then we'll see who's the kubaff. I'm sure I'll revive this post to remind you who's the kubaff! Time. Time. Lets wait.
Kamaa
#14 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 1:02:00 PM

i cannot believe it....

help me understand...

aren't the alleged 'security threats' men like you?

i wish wanjiku & atieno are the one complaining....

& forgive my ignorance...

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#15 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 1:13:00 PM

@ Kamaa - i wish wanjiku & atieno are the one complaining....

You lost me there. Please elaborate.
Mr.Tea
#16 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 1:25:00 PM

That is a whole wrong attitude right there. Are we a nation of we versus them? The implication that we have things of value and they are thieves is what gave rise to PEV. What is the objective of the census? Planning for a more equitable distribution of resources. You are either for this or against it.Your choice....

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 1:58:00 PM

The last time I was counted was way back in 1979 when i was a small boy and since then i have never been counted. i don't wish to miss out on this.....so i will let the enumerators into my house just as long as they will possess some form of identification....I believe there is nowhere save in Nairobi where thugs cannot carry out their thing with or without censors!!!

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
#18 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 2:21:00 PM

@ Kaigagio - Will the Mrs be at home? You know one of the questions will be 'How many kids do you have?',Will you just mention the 'official' ones or you will include the other six simonkabz told me you have hapa na pale - ati tuliambiwa tujaze dunia sio kwetu nyumbani! Ha ha ha.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 2:40:00 PM

@ maichblack,

wachana na siasa nduni za kabz...porojo tupu!!!

i dont have anything to be worried about because i have only one wife and no mistress.....my monthly income cannot and has never been able to support mpango wa kando,so nina kula tu na macho....machungwas are very expensive and especially now when there is no aqua!!!

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
Kamaa
#20 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 5:42:00 PM

@ maichblack lol i now get where u r coming from... when the enumerators are leaving your hse just excuse yourself & give them the extra details regarding your other families...this will save your a** & improve accuracy..

you've heard me..