7 Pages<12345>»
The most painful team to support this EPL season.
mwanahisa
#41 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 6:30:49 PM

Taz,

I will concede that I am somewhat anxious about playing Valencia tonight. I expect we shall scrape through with a draw. Even if we were to lose, you can bet that we will dispatch the Turks and Rangers in short order in our next games.

We may finish second in the group but that will be enough.

By the time we get to the next round, our players will be clicking like clockwork. Same thing in the league. Wait till Rooney gets his act together and Hernandez adjusts to the EPL!
mwanahisa
#42 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 8:14:21 AM

As posted yesterday, I would have been content with a draw against Valencia, but as you saw the football gods were with us last night.

So the Red Devils have not beaten a Spanish team away for aeons. Well, there's always a first time. I think we can now confidently say our season is just beginning.
#43 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 9:00:40 AM

@Mwanahisa,
Erecting blockboards infront of goal is a far much cheaper and easy way of defending than packing 9 infront of Guka Sar.....and hey Rangers won too.
#44 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 9:10:24 AM

Lucky escape that was maybe you still have a chance after all. Rangers also won last night meaning your group is very open.
#45 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 11:12:17 AM

valencia are currently on a good run in La liga & Sunderland's rcord against the top four teams is good.

Mkicheza hivi you'll be playing Thursday night football by February next year.

Thursday night football? Man U? When was the last time that happened? We have a deep squad and there are good players who haven't been getting games, it's their time to shine. The likes of Giggs and Scholes are always missed in these big games but I still see a win for Man - U tonight [slim, maybe 1 - 0 or 2 - 0/1] and against Sunderland [3 - 0].

I hate to quote myself, but on this one I can't resist. Did you see that move from Nani -> Macheda -> Hernandez [Chicharito]. The first touch and the strike that followed from Chicharito were just fabulous! I really feel for Michael Owen. This young chaps will not give him any breathing space and he had better start looking for another club. Given that the likes of Danny Welbeck are on loan and I see bebe breaking into the first team in less than two seasons, things can only get worse for him.

Back to yesterday's game. Granted, the game was very cagey especially in the first half but in the second half it opened up. Our defence has started tightening up and that's good news. Those guys who were talking about 11 unbeaten home games in the CL, leaders in the Spanish League etc. etc. committed one cardinal sin. They forgot they were talking about Man - U!

Now lets wait for the weekend. I hope I'll resist the urge to quote myself this time round. LOL.
#46 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 11:20:59 AM

Lucky escape??? that was maybe you still have a chance after all. Rangers also won last night meaning your group is very open.

You never stop do you? You are just amazing! You talk too much, you are proved wrong and then you talk some more! It's good to know when to stop - especially when your foot is still in your mouth!

On the group being open, we won our toughest fixture in the group yesterday. We are as good as in the 2nd round. And I'm willing to put my money where my mouth is.
#47 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 11:21:31 AM

Miachblak....I watched the entire 90 min of that match, thats why i'm of the opinion it was a lucky escape....they won a crucial tie last night but there was nothing impressive about their play in the game. That was quite an average team SAF fielded last night...i know at times I've been proven wrong but i have to say several EPL teams would tear you to pieces if you use the same team. Carrick & Anderson are just not good enough!
#48 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 11:38:12 AM

McDoba..leo uko wapi? Man-U-re won
#49 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 11:41:46 AM

TAZ,
Yu watch your own game dude!!!!
After showering the valencia team now you claim that the united team that beat them can teared to pieces by many EPL teams....what hypocricy!!!!!
#50 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 11:54:17 AM

FACT No.1: Man Utd have only won once away against Spanish opposition in more than 50 years.

FACT No.2:Valencia have 11 match unbeaten home record in Europe

FACT No.3: Last season Man Utd won both of its opening matches in Champions league....this season they have drawn the opener at home and look set to drop points in Valencia

Marks:....Zero out of Three.
#51 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 11:57:38 AM

Btw, hating aside, i think Man Utd have really started poorly this season. Giggs, Rooney & scholes are all out of tonight's & Saturday's matches....valencia are currently on a good run in La liga

FACT: Man Utd have only won once away against Spanish opposition in more than 50 years.

FACT:Valencia have 11 match unbeaten home record in Europe

Last season Man Utd won both of its opening matches in Champions league....this season they have drawn the opener at home and look set to drop points in Valencia

i have to say several EPL teams would tear you to pieces if you use the same team. Carrick & Anderson are just not good enough!

TAZ, TAZ, TAZ! Please make up your mind. You are confusing some of us.
#52 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 12:00:29 PM

@Taz, I thought you were more objective than your last two comments...I think you're better off analysing the strengths and weaknesses of the team you support - we win, it's a lucky escape, we lose - our season is going to be very bad! Mambo gani hii??

Carrick and Anderson are just not good enough as compared to whom?? wait wait, I know the answer to that one - Cesc and Song!

Let's wait until Jan guys...perhaps May if the race becomes too tight. I'm seeing a lot of people getting embarrassed at the end of it all - of course I'm hoping I'll not be amongst this group.

Are guys this passionate about everything else in their life?
#53 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 12:01:03 PM

Now lets wait for the weekend. I hope I'll resist the urge to quote myself this time round. LOL.

This weekend its a no-brainer. Aseno beating Chelsea is simply NOT an option. The best result the arses can hope for is an unlikely lucky draw.
Sasha
#54 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 12:10:42 PM

My 10 year old nephew made this statement last night while watching the United game.

"Arsenal fans hate United more than they love their own team. That is why they are always talking about how United this - United that!"

How appropriate eeh?
muendoz
#55 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 12:20:21 PM

mwenza wrote:

This weekend its a no-brainer. Aseno beating Chelsea is simply NOT an option. The best result the arses can hope for is an unlikely lucky draw.

as a man u fan, the best outcome in the Chelsea-Arsenal game would be arsenal wins........Arsenal is more likely to lose in future than Chelsea!!
I reward myself with beer!
#56 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 12:24:16 PM

mwenza wrote:

I am hoping for a draw - naturally. But funny as it may sound, I wouldn't have a problem with Arsenal winning. Why? They can't survive the whole season. Chelsea can [But wont - LOL]. Put it another way, if am in a race, I'd rather it was a fat man with a beer belly in front of me than some high school racing champion. I don't loose sleep when Arsenal - and other such teams [Sunderland, Wolves, Newcastle etc.] are ahead of us at the beginning seasons. I'm sure they are not going anywhere.

What I'm waiting for this weekend is Man 3 - 0 Sunderland with the stars of the match being Nani and Berbatov [A brace maybe?]. And then TAZ can tell us how it was a lucky escape. And how lucky we are we didn't sell Berbatov - as if there were plans to sell him in the first place.

I really don't care how Arsernal performs. I just hope Chelsea, being our only real competition, drop some points.
#57 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 12:29:16 PM

I think Man Utd fans can't handle it when their team is being criticized. Kwani you expect me to switch off my TV or change Channel whenever Man Utd play? When Arsenal lost to West Brom all the Man U fans i know either called me, sent me a text, Commented something on Facebook/Wazua....Try saying anything about Man Utd!!!! Their common phrase is "YOU GUYS KEEPING TALKING ABOUT MAN UTD MORE THAN YOUR OWN TEAM".

@ Mwenza....The Chelsea game on sunday, i do hope we win even though it will be a tough encounter.
#58 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 12:33:58 PM

The arseno - chelski game is one of those games in wchich I will celebrate whatever the outcome!!!!
#59 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 12:35:05 PM

The arseno - chelski game is one of those games in wchich I will celebrate whatever the outcome!!!!......draw perfecto otherwise, I wil just laugh at the losers!!!!
#60 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 12:44:29 PM

Maichblak....Don't kid yourself like all other seasons you do care how Arsenal performs. Arsenal aside, there's nothing which gives me more pleasure in the EPL than a Man Utd Loss...i can't pretend its the truth.

I really hope Fabregas recovers in time for the Chelsea then we might have a chance. At the back we are not so tight with Vermaelen out.