wazua Sat, Sep 28, 2024

Internet Wars have started - I like it!
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 10:54:05 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/1114g4n/-/index.html

Well, Safaricom better come up with something to challenge Orange!
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 23, 2010 11:24:33 PM

orange all the way!
#3 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 1:58:16 AM

Orange is now charging KES 2,200 for 4GB while Safaricom still charges KES 4,999 for 3GB of data. Safaricom should wake up to reality. I have gone back to Orange!
alikujia
#4 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 2:54:37 AM

so how much is the unlimited bundle?
qw25041985
#5 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 4:31:13 AM

i love every bit of this .But i was hoping they shld have halved the unlimited bundle.
Orange are very sensitive to the market and thats why they are leading in the data segment.

Orange ,Hoya ,Hoya . Down with Safaricon.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#6 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 8:57:50 AM

Tulisema chungwa tamu, ama sivyo. Sasa i wait 4 zains offer. Baba lao.
#7 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 9:09:23 AM

One month offer....Bure!.....I am waiting for Zain and they would better be fast.
#8 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 9:14:50 AM

Orange Unlimited is still 990/- per week... lakini the speeds can be poor...
mwanahisa
#9 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 9:18:47 AM

I will venture to guess that a good number of folks will unsubscribe from the Unlimited Orange Kshs 990 a week tariff in favour of the 4GB while the offer lasts. VIVA ORANGE, but I hope this offer becomes a permanent one!
Alfylavie
#10 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 12:22:10 PM

Testing the waters!!! with offers.. to me that's just confusion within a company not knowing the right step to take towards competition
I hop zain will come with a data package that is permanent not offers unlike others
Making money never gets boring
Bettertry
#11 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 5:57:56 PM

MJ l guess wake's up in the morning and wishes all these was nothing but a bad dream, wouldn't u too. Juacali once said, "Wamekula sana watuachie pia sisi roundi hii tunone, au siyo?" Compe ipande na izidi.
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
qw25041985
#12 Posted : Friday, September 24, 2010 6:24:27 PM

@alf. Thats a dumb statement. And itsnt educatd. Which co. doesnt test the waters to gather statistics to help in plannin the final product ?
As 4 zain i heard their 3g is commin latest jan 2011 , same 4 chungwa.
So for now its Orange all the way.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#13 Posted : Saturday, September 25, 2010 7:50:52 AM

how does one subscribe the bundles? the line is already loaded with credit...
#14 Posted : Saturday, September 25, 2010 10:47:55 AM

Yu still has the daily unlimited offer of 49 bob. Speeds OK, one can use up data upto 300MB or more in a day, depending on RAM capacity. Monthly unlimited is 999 bob. Far much better than sufferingcon.

Am waiting for a better 3G unlimited offer!
richsisco
#15 Posted : Saturday, September 25, 2010 7:02:30 PM

Shame on you
We shall keep moving with the changes in the prices but believe you me Safaricom is going 4 th Generation at a where the speed will be 600mb/s
Better have a fast internet rather than have unlimited free bundles which one cannot utilize
bird_man
#16 Posted : Saturday, September 25, 2010 8:14:19 PM

@richsisco
Haha....have you ever downloaded at 4Mbps?Your machine cannot handle 600Mbps.Try 4Mbps first and tell me how it copes. I think 4G is crap.Let them give us the proverbial 7.2Mbps on 3G.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#17 Posted : Saturday, September 25, 2010 8:21:10 PM

At 600Mbps, you can run google.....with 3 cables at Mombasa you dont even see real 1Mbps here...dont hold your breath for 4G, or 5G or 6G
chris79
#18 Posted : Saturday, September 25, 2010 8:58:20 PM

bird_man wrote:

I think 4G is crap.

That was the thinking in Celtel back in the day when guys were still marveling over the speeds on gprs/edge. "Africa is not ready for 3G" they said. "Why offer them cake while all they need is bread?" they mocked. Now see them running around like headless chicken asking for the 3G licence fees to be reduced. I bet you we'll be having this same conversation some time in 2020 when Safaricom will be launching 6G. "Africa is not ready for 6G" they will say...
bird_man
#19 Posted : Saturday, September 25, 2010 10:34:22 PM

Chris,what i mean is that 4g right now is total crap.Not in 2020.Safcom hardly gets to 2mbps on thier 3g. . .while the max for 3g is 7.2mbps.Why not get to at least half of that before going to 4g?My 2nd point. . . .4g can get to speeds of 600mbps.As we speak now,your network cable and internal comp busses can barely support those kinds of speeds.Please try get onto a kdn link and you might get to 2.2mbps,tell me how your machine handles that.Asking for 4g now is like asking for a Diablo for a drive on Moi Avenue. . .for now.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#20 Posted : Saturday, September 25, 2010 11:49:10 PM

How do you say safaricom is launching 4G yet it does not have a 3G Platform? Guys wacheni kuwa confused by the names. Let the company get 3G first!