tribal monster in kenya
Why are we such a tribal country compared to our neighbours like TZ. It's now hard to even rent a house if the landlord doesn't like your origin as I experienced first hand some few months ago! This country nearly went up in flames as rival tribes slaughtered each other because of a 'stolen' election. A friend in a huge company called me this morning and told me he was sacked simply because he came from the wrong tribe. According to him,the company has been doing poorly and so the management had to make some staff redudunt and targetted mostly the so called outsiders. Kenyans generally believe you can know the tribe of any minister when you walk along the corridors of their offices since most employees come from their ethnic enclaves. Promotion is rarely on merit but tribal affiliations. Various tribes prefer to read certain newpapers or watch certain news channels which will sooth their egos. I have some suggestions on how we can come out of our tribal cocoons. Let's inter-marry as much as possible. Let's use swahili and English more often especially in public. As Mutahi Ngunyi wrote on sunday,Let's learn to respect other tribes and this is especially to my brothers from Mt Kenya region who think it's only them who can lead this country!! Let's also be proud of who we are and judge each other not by tribal stereotypes but by the content of our characters. I don't buy the nonsense that we can legislate tribalism since other legislations like in corruption have not even worked. So far,we are living in denial of beautiful lies about tribe being our Achilles Heel as a nation. If we don't change,there will be an armageddon come 2012 and Kenya will go up in smoke and cease to exist as we know it!
OnLy deaD FiSh gO WiTh tHe floW....!
@jaribu,mahali imefika,naona husaidiki. Kwani juzi ndio umejua kuna ukabila? I have learnt to live with this monster myself,n today I feel nothing about it. Firstly,I knw there r very many good non-kyuks around,got numerous friends i can count on. I also knw the no of bad kyuks is also high,if not higher. Cancel out the bad and I remain with only the good kenyans. Trust me,all kenyans r tribalists of varying degree,ata wewe mwenyewe. Ignore the xtreme ones,the bigots. Dont go to the bad ones. Im able to control myne,can u? Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
'Trust me,all kenyans r tribalists of varying degree,ata wewe mwenyewe'
i have done my bit and inter-married. Congratulate me!!!!!!!
on a serious note,the problem is that our leaders are the worst tribalists you can find although they fake to be role models. they will happily sponsor their fellow tribesmen to burn women and children inside a church and get away with murder most foul. look at prezzo,all the sensitive dockets are occupied by people from his own community... treasury,justice,trade,energy,security,kra....etc.
hellooo,i thought we had over 42 tribes in this country??
@jaribu - one question for you,what is tribalism? Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/28/2007 Posts: 290 Location: Nairobi
Renting a house? yes,some landlords could be very cautious,and wisely so. Some of their houses are still being occupied by 'maaaali yeeeetu!' with the tenants dictating the how much rent they should pay,by when,and how much arrears they can keep...then they ask you,uta-do?
Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
TRIBALISM: tribal consciousness and loyalty; especially : exaltation of the tribe above other groups. http://www.merriam-webst...om/dictionary/tribalism
please note my post emphasizes the primitive and negative discrimination based on one's origin. thanks. OnLy deaD FiSh gO WiTh tHe floW....!
@jaribu....kindly define a tribe for me..!!!..and we can start from there. If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks. When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,292 Location: Nairobi
Prezzie,Finance Minister,Deputy FM (kenneth),CBK Gov,KRA commish,treasury PS (All the money guys in gava) ___***___ Police commish,CID chief,AP chief,NSIS chief,Security minister (all the domestic security forces control) Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@jaribu - sawa basi. understood. would you consider the following statements tribal? -watu wa community X follow leaders blindly. -watu wa community Y ni wezi. -watu wa community Z wana uanga watu. -watu wa community A wana penda kulala na hawafanyangi kazi. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
bwana/bi jangwa
please peruse my post again. this is what i wrote about stereotypes you mentioned.
' ..Let's also be proud of who we are and judge each other not by tribal stereotypes but by the content of our characters..'
what do you think should be done to reduce (since it can't be eliminated) negative tribalism in kenya? tell us instead of creating a mountain from a mole's hill!
@ Jaribu y r u then demonising central kenya?in the thred rais rasila odinga,@ wendz & @ NJUNG'E came out as clear RAO supporters.Hizo siku za central kusema hivyo ziliisha kitambo!if u doubt go to kosh,ngara etc n listen to thos guys discuss kibaki The wicked flee even when no one is pursuing... What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
Come 2012,why shouldn't I vote for Peter Kenneth or Martha Karua? Those saying 'No' simply because these very viable candidates are from Central are the real problem. It is one man one vote.
BTW: 2012 hakuna vita,Warlords from RV and Nyanza are in separate camps and weaker,the surprised ones last time from Central are reportedly armed,they prefer extortion..the leading candidate in latest opinion polls is no longer spilling tribal venom(relaxed)...more importantly Koffi Annan has to get his peace prize and Obama has to instill civility into his African brothers.
2017 ndiyo kutakuwa na maneno. NSE will have picked up really well before then.
sawa @jaribu. nimekubali. so as far as you are concerned,would you call the following statement a tribal stereotype? Let's learn to respect other tribes and this is especially to my brothers from Mt Kenya region who think it's only them who can lead this country!! Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
'Let's learn to respect other tribes and this is especially to my brothers from Mt Kenya region who think it's only them who can lead this country!! '
You said the above in a thread condemning tribalism! Jaribu,please tell us what makes one a tribalist and how that leaves out someone who thinks like you.
@ brewer,
i was quoting mutahi ngunyi if you care to read the few words before the sentence you have pasted and you know that! pliz stop splitting hairs. tribalism is still the elephant in the room. so what are you guys doing about it rather that creating a storm in a tea cup?
are you sure we cannot legislate tribalism? ofcourse we can if there is both public and political will.Racism in other countries has been legislated and it has worked to solve half the problem.Also we can make nepotism illegal and prosecute those found guilty which would be most of senior goverment officials.
@jaribu. the statement you made about Ngunyi's article on Mt. kenya is in itself tribalist,as a few of the members here have pointed out.I respect Ngunyi as a journalist but i must say that the article was way below par and was lacking in intellectual analysis.As an investor or holder of capital all you care about is rule of law,protection of your property /capital and conducive enviroment for you to grow.This is part of what a goverment is supposed to provide and choosing a presidential candidate should be based on this,period and not looking at whatever tribe he/she comes from.
Let the fools continue with their foolishnes coz the world is moving foward. Do something positive that can benefit your life and you will be celebrating while others are crying oooh tribalism,oooh politics,oooh this,oooh that.
Kioko
@jaribu you need to find out what makes you such a bitter kenyan mara you hate kenya mara kenya is tribal mara ooh,tribalism will not end on country levels but it can end on individual level once we start viewing each without suspicion.
success or failure is like a seed plant any and put enough effort and you will definately harvest
Jaribu,quoting Mutahi Ngunyi makes it better,right? I have said that in my view what Mutahi said on Sunday was hogwash- there was a thread on this- and even then you still misquoted him and went further than he did.
@: jmm
Cc: et all
i'm just holding the mirror for our society to look at itself and i'm happy most of you don't like what they are seeing. i hope we shall all do something coz we all want a prosperous kenya and not a failed state like somalia. those rebuking me are missing the point as they have opted to live in denial like Alice in Wonderland. you don't shoot the messenger if you don't like what he's delivering! wake up people and smell the coffee by first admitting that yes,we have a big tribal problem in kenya. living beautiful lies or burying the head in the sand will not solve anything and will only accelerate the 2012 armageddon.
tribal monster in kenya