wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

4 Pages«<234
Who wants my shares?
young
#31 Posted : Sunday, September 12, 2010 10:29:39 PM

Share trading / investment very interesting if you are trading in different markets.

You spread your risk and do not bother about the peculiar downtown and at times upswing of some markets.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Aguytrying
#32 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 4:45:57 PM

Me wacha days. Im always looking at the tickers, every hour sometimes even minutes. im just so into it and i know this is how ill make money without getting my hands dirty. that said im a medium term trader so i like to hold for a quarter or 2, or when i meet my targets. its just the passion that keeps this going.

im not really good on the news updates on whats going on in the business world and get most of it from wazua, could someone please reccommend a reliable source. Id like to know even when my CEO develops a cold. lol. just kidding. but really.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Pablo
#33 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:06:19 PM

In 2008 (during the famous Safaricom IPO) I invested heavily in EB. I knew they would declare 200% plus growth in half year profits. In July just when they were just about to release their results a Mzee huko in Embu offered me to by 20 Acres of his shamba at 75k per acre as he needed cash. I told him to wait for a month so that the value of my shares would go up and I would be able not only to buy the land but also upgrade my old car.

When the results came they also came with the credit crunch and soon the shares I had bought at 175/- were selling at 160/-.

Needless to say I neither bought the shamba nor upgraded my car. Had I bought the land its now at 350k per acre.

Moral of the story - For those who are getting stressed with shares just buy land. Even the plots at Kamulu Joska that go for 50k per 1/8 are good deals for tommorow.
#34 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:16:17 PM

Pablo wrote:
a Mzee huko in Embu offered me to by 20 Acres of his shamba at 75k as he needed cash.

Per acre or for the whole 20 acres? And either way, 75k? Seriously!? Or is this a parable? LOL.
The Merchant
#35 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 2:14:32 PM

Pablo wrote:
In 2008 (during the famous Safaricom IPO) I invested heavily in EB. I knew they would declare 200% plus growth in half year profits. In July just when they were just about to release their results a Mzee huko in Embu offered me to by 20 Acres of his shamba at 75k per acre as he needed cash. I told him to wait for a month so that the value of my shares would go up and I would be able not only to buy the land but also upgrade my old car.

When the results came they also came with the credit crunch and soon the shares I had bought at 175/- were selling at 160/-.

Needless to say I neither bought the shamba nor upgraded my car. Had I bought the land its now at 350k per acre.

Moral of the story - For those who are getting stressed with shares just buy land. Even the plots at Kamulu Joska that go for 50k per 1/8 are good deals for tommorow.

Ouch! Painful one that. There were also many opportunities in the stock market during the bear market. It is my sincere hope that you took advantage.
#36 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 3:13:51 PM

Pablo wrote:
... 20 Acres of his shamba at 75k per acre as he needed cash...

... the land its now at 350k per acre.

Are you serious Sir? which shamba in Embu is this that appreciates by 400% in 2 years?

Did you mean to tell us that the mzee was selling the land to you at a throw away price.

If thats the case you should have taken it without thinking.

Thats like someone selling me his 2 BR Milimani apartment at 2 Million.

Anyway i dont think that any shamba in Mashambani, if fairly valued could have appreciated by 400% in 2 years.
Wa_ithaka
#37 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 3:25:16 PM

Sparkly, its possible.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Pablo
#38 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 5:25:19 PM

@Sparkly
These are the returns on land. This is only one of the many opportunities I missed while "investing" time in stocks.

I can bet you today that those pieces you see being sold on thika Rd, Kisaju etc will be 400% more in 2012, especially if you buy full acres.

And by the way that land was not underpriced there were several pieces available at even less.
The Merchant
#39 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 11:42:51 AM

Pablo wrote:
... 20 Acres of his shamba at 75k per acre as he needed cash...

... the land its now at 350k per acre.

Are you serious Sir? which shamba in Embu is this that appreciates by 400% in 2 years?

Did you mean to tell us that the mzee was selling the land to you at a throw away price.

If thats the case you should have taken it without thinking.

Thats like someone selling me his 2 BR Milimani apartment at 2 Million.

Anyway i dont think that any shamba in Mashambani, if fairly valued could have appreciated by 400% in 2 years.

Shame on you In the 'shags' areas outside Limuru 1acre was selling at 450,000 a year ago. Now 1million. Its very possible.Shame on you
4 Pages«<234