wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

20 Pages«<7891011>»
Why safaricom must reduce its costs and expenditures to remain a viable stock in future
#81 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 8:05:07 PM

Indians are obsessive (even nonsensical) about saving, they switch of vehicle lights in lit roads to "save the battery". Cheap is sometimes cheap.
LOLest... Lakini, there is something to be said about being parsimonious... After all, wealth is NOT what you earn but what you SAVE...

Last time I checked... India has become a giant... We need to learn from them... Also, PLEASE let the low rates run for ages!!! I am saving a bundle in phone costs!
#82 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 8:07:26 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Wow! So every Safaricom subscriber contributes 19 dollars to yearly profits while Bharti customers contribute only 2 dollars? Hmmm... Call it what you want, but Safcom has been screwing people in the ass!

Hallelujah my brother...you have seen the light!! And every Safcon subscriber uses 75 minutes while Bharti ones use 450. Looks like we were being screwed not just in the ass....

What infrastructure assistance has Safcon brought? They bought all that fibre and 3G with your money, not theirs!

Don't believe the hype....

AMEN... Can you imagine there are some who actually ENJOY being screwed & are asking for MORE PLEASE...

I am happy to be with Zain/Airtel... Even YU... lakini no safcon (except for data & M-Pesa, for now)...
#83 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 8:10:05 PM

I wonder if Telkom/Orange is pushing ndemo to complain about low calling costs???

Safaricom will survive (other income streams + dominant carrier)
Zain/Airtel have big bucks behind them...
Telkom/Orange needs support... I think they are the folks complaining!
YU - No idea what they will do!
#84 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 1:11:50 AM

SMS rates to also come down. www.businessdailyafrica....8/-/vamd3oz/-/index.html
#85 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 7:29:51 AM

Yep, the government is about to step in to RAISE the calling rates!
http://www.businessdaily...1/-/gycyo6/-/index.html

All this to protect the inefficient Telkom...
sheep
#86 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 8:59:43 AM

I dont think they will...I believe the french government will put a lot of pressure on GOK....If u study french business models in africa you would really hate them...telkom will try its best to hoard data bandwith and frustrate efforts for affordable internet
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#87 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 9:10:03 AM

Yep, the government is about to step in to RAISE the calling rates!
http://www.businessdaily...1/-/gycyo6/-/index.html

All this to protect the inefficient Telkom...

Press release

My Dear Kenyans,

The government has been watching with great concern at the recent mobile price wars, and we have decided to step in and bring order to the sector. Henceforth, all Kenyans will start paying 25/= on-net and 52/= off-net for their calls. This is good for Kenya and for Kenyans as it will:

- assist Orange/Telkom survive and keep providing us with landlines that dont work, have 120 faults per every 100 lines, and maintain a bloated workforce of friends and relatives who got the job because they know someone;
- Ensure Safcon can repatriate at least $100M of Kenyan's money to London, so that UK shareholders are happy and have enough money to hit the pub, and ensure tiny local shareholders keep getting their miniscule dividends yearly.

Dear Kenyans, Im sure you'll all be happy, as these rates will assist in progress of Kenya. You will still continue to enjoy exorbitantly priced low quality internet despite three cables landed in Mombasa. This progress must be defended at all costs.

Yours

B Ndemo
Defender in Chief of failing parastatals and unrealistic corporate profits.
#88 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 9:13:49 AM

hakuna kitu kama hiyo tumekataa hiyo? Mass action!
holycow
#89 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 9:23:28 AM

@Kularaha
Wish you had used the line in the Safaricom advert that goes ... As many as sort of a similar opinion say aye...
bird_man
#90 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 9:29:53 AM

@VVS, where in the document does it indicate that prices will go up?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
20 Pages«<7891011>»