wazua Sat, Mar 21, 2026

"Pesa pap" campaign turns the corner
KenyanLyrics
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 11:47:28 PM

When the Pesa Pap advertisements came out, they didn't make a good first impression. But now, they have taken hold in the form of a meme. Nowadays you find people using the "Pap" word to categorise any instantaneous actions they may be referring to. Where are the Pesa Pap haters now?
hindi ni riu
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 1:00:01 AM

The ad is just.....lame. Haven't heard anyone use Pap. Actually, the fist time I've used it myself is the one I've written in my second sentence.

“Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 9:52:47 AM

I think family Bank Has people who think.By popularising this service they are atleast trying to get a niche in the mobile phone transaction market which is dominated by Mpesa and ZAP.Most banks popularise MPESA without knowing that Mpesa is trying to take over the banking industry, what with the MKESHO already in the market.
sizzla
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 10:30:17 AM

Guyz, Pesa Pap is not an exclusive novelty but rather depends on what the customers adopt. The service might be innovative and all but if the common mwananchi does not even understand its basic functionality then it will just be a waste of time.

Why should i open an account with Family Bank when i can simply top up my mpesa on the go. I honestly think even M-Kesho is overated, despite opening many accounts, just how much has been transacted to date?
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 10:45:48 AM

sizzla wrote:

Why should i open an account with Family Bank when i can simply top up my mpesa on the go. I honestly think even M-Kesho is overated, despite opening many accounts, just how much has been transacted to date?

firstly,The issue here is how Family Bank has given its customers an alternative as opposed to popularising a rival service.

secondly how can MKESHO have close to 900m without any transactions made?
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 6:33:36 PM

selah wrote:
Most banks popularise MPESA without knowing that Mpesa is trying to take over the banking industry, what with the MKESHO already in the market.

@Selah - What banks are doing - especially Equity - is very smart. You can not fight M-Pesa - especially when it comes to money transfer. The smart thing is to join forces with SCom and get a piece of the pie.
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 8:31:47 PM

>> How does this Pap function?

I registered this Mkesho with the sole aim of bypassing the extorbitant Mpesa withdrawal charges...I thought I would be able to send money direct to my Equity account and withdraw any amount at a flat rate of 30bob...Wait until the mpesa agent explained that mkesho hogwash...I still don't understand the need for mkesho...Explain to me like a four year old.
mozenrat
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 9:28:56 PM

kenmac wrote:
>> How does this Pap function?

I registered this Mkesho with the sole aim of bypassing the extorbitant Mpesa withdrawal charges...I thought I would be able to send money direct to my Equity account and withdraw any amount at a flat rate of 30bob...Wait until the mpesa agent explained that mkesho hogwash...I still don't understand the need for mkesho...Explain to me like a four year old.

Mpesa charges are exorbitant?? what kind of charges did we have with Western Union.. nay even with the Posta money orders... Yenyewe, the more you give the more will be demanded of you..
#9 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 12:44:44 AM

@ moze, why would i pay 100 bob to deposit 9k in another a/c, that is what mpesa does!
#10 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 11:36:51 AM

hindi ni riu wrote:
The ad is just.....lame. Haven't heard anyone use Pap. Actually, the fist time I've used it myself is the one I've written in my second sentence.

You didnt hear someone say she'd rather be Single PAP? Its being used in street talk.

People around towns and have access to banks may not appreciate the real need for Mpesa. Talk to people in Lumot/loruk and muhotetu..... No one can deny that mpesa is more convenient that any banking system and to many kenyans. I doubt it will go down that easily.