wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

6 Pages«<3456>
My car is vibrating!!
Djinn
#81 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:38:00 AM

Sasha? Whats the 411? This feels like an episode of House - very obvious signs,no obvious cure. Hope you found a good solution (excluding taking it to the edge of the escarpment and giving it a gentle shove with tearful eyes...)

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#82 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:45:00 AM

Ngai fafa! Ati it could b sasha vibrating? Hehehe...Sasha,someone suggested u check ua pockets...ama kibeti Laughing out loudly

Can silence be misquoted?
#83 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 6:55:00 AM

@Sasha,
Manual gearbox it is......ama?....If so,change your gearbox mountings and you problem will be solved...(From experience of course.At red lights,the bijuti vibrates so violently so much that,i am forced to step out until amber)

Old man about town....
Djinn
#84 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 7:02:00 AM

@Njunge - its an automatic gearbox - vibrates when on D when she steps on the brakes...

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#85 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 7:10:00 AM

@Djinn,
And the engine mountings are intact.....gearbox oil level is correct?If so,the problem may still be with the gearbox.Unfortunately,there are very few expert mechanics in servicing planetary gearboxes.In which case,replacing it would be most ideal......my two zim cents.

Old man about town....
Sasha
#86 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 7:15:00 AM

@Djinn: The vibration has reduced significantly since the last 'dose' of repairs! The last thing that was done was to change the plugs to NGK double pin. The car is behaving like its on steroids but the vibration has reduced! Something I've also noticed (especially today); the car usually vibrates more when it hot outside! This morning there was virtually no vibration! Hmmmm ..... !

@Guka: Bure wewe! You must be the one who causes that jam every morning at Nairobi West/Madaraka roundabout! I thought you get out of the car to check on the makonge tethers and to escape the smoke!?

@Thimioni! LOL! extrablessed hawesmek! I prayed for her jana!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#87 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 7:35:00 AM

@Sasha,
Lol....Don't even think about calling the cops.The worst they can do is to give the car a push...-:).....and don't worry too much.Now that we have viagra for ladies,i can only pray they discover one for cars....-:).....BTW,how was your break?

Old man about town....
#88 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 7:42:00 AM

ati when its hot outside!!!!...sweetheart..stop corrupting my mind ..please its tooo early

i love your smile....

Djinn
#89 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 7:49:00 AM

@sasha - i wish I could see the car - if you have established that it vibrates MORE when its hot (not necessarily the ambient temperature,but if you have been motoring for long and in traffic),think along the lines of metal expansion - I would immediately go back to my initial diagnosis - something in the gearbox in not right - something is expanding and getting bent out of shape either by friction (like what causes brake jam)... if all else fails by Friday,I would really like to have a long hard look at that car...

Sasha
#90 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 8:13:00 AM

@Njung'e: My break was fabulous! Went to places I didn't know existed! Did the whole round trip Nairobi - Nakuru - Narok - Kisii - Rongo - Migori - Isebania, then back to Kehancha, Lolgorien, Kilgoris and back to Kisii - Kisumu - Busia - Eldoret and back to Nakuru through Mogotio! It was breathtaking! And I'm planning another one very soon for the Eastern-North Eastern part to see whether I can cross over to Ethiopia Jicho-Pevu style!

@mlefu: Toka kwa pipa! Its too early!

@Djinn: Lets call that a possible date! Though I will not be around on Friday, I can organise for my bro to avail it to you!

flywhisk
#91 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 8:21:00 AM

@ Sasha,I'm sure Djinn would prefer to meet you rather than your bro. you know the way it is with guys...
Djinn
#92 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 8:26:00 AM

@sasha - aside from flywhisk's very valid point smile you know with any experiment,you must always have the same apparatus if you want to do the same thing twice - hence the vibrating driver is a prerequisite. Any substitute might affect the outcome of the experiment. Having said that. flywhisk is on to something smile@flywhisk,haraaaammmmbeee!

Jangwa la Jangili
#93 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 8:50:00 AM

@sasha - if it is any consolation,allow me to put your car trouble in context. $1.7M context. lmao.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtgsRAWejQs

Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
#94 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 9:11:00 AM

@Sasha,
You must have had a blast.....I too intend to hit the north road to Moyale once they are through with tarmacking.....Not before..!!

@Djinn,
You are unto something good......I too would prefer the owner.The brother and the car can wait.....-:)

Old man about town....
Mali
#95 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 9:57:00 AM

Sasha.. have not read thro' the responses.. Is your car auto or manual? if manual the problem is highly likely to be the pressure plate! else.. you need to upgrade !

if the incompetent and the reckless compete,the result is a disaster.. MN
Sasha
#96 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 12:02:00 PM

@flywhisk: Wacha!

@Djinn: Unfortunately, duty calls. Have to go away on some assignment. But will give you a shout when I'm back!

@Njung'e: Yes, a blast was had! Unfortunately I didn't get to see the Kerio Valley. I read somewhere else comments by Djinn, mukiha and kingfisher how good this place looks and I feel bad I didn't experience it while I was in that region! Ah well ... That means a second trip!

@Mali: The car is my mum's!

Mkimwa
#97 Posted : Tuesday, April 20, 2010 10:03:46 AM

@Sasha, Did the vibration stop? What was the cure?
Pierce
#98 Posted : Tuesday, April 20, 2010 12:24:48 PM

Umekumbukaje this vibrations issue!
DonBen
#99 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 2:57:23 PM

@Sasha - for some strange reason am experiencing the same issues as you have described on this thread, only that mine is a Mitsubishi Lancer.

But your experiences on vibration, temperature, etc. while on D are exactly what I experience.

The diagnosis I got was transmission/clutch needed to be checked, not checked yet.

Was yours ever fixed? Like Mkimwa, I would like to know what your cure was please.
Sasha
#100 Posted : Friday, September 10, 2010 8:49:49 AM

Aaah! The vibrations!

@DonBen & Mkimwa: The vibrations stopped after the torque converter and the water pump were changed. A maverick mechanic suggested that the water pump was not working properly thus causing the engine to overheat especially when it was hot outside. We changed the torque converter first and the vibrations reduced to a minimum. But after changing the water pump, the car is so smooth you may not know whether the engine is running!

I apologise for not getting back to everyone earlier and would like to thank everyone for the very useful advice you offered! I should pour some crates at the next get-together!