wazua Thu, Mar 28, 2024

Tuskys
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 2:57:31 PM

Word has it that its management is thinking of listing soon (in the next year or two). What do you think of this chain?

- Has 30 outlets so far.
- Targeting 50 outlets.
- Has new concepts - eg milk dispensing machines (T-mall) which they intend to introduce to other branches...
- intends to offer other products in this way too eg detergent and the like - this cuts packaging costs by almost 20-30% which helps them to remain competitive.

What do you think of a Tuskys share? If they listed today, would you invest in it? What improvements would you like to see to make their share attractive on listing? Remember some have been left with scares by uchumi......
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 3:07:39 PM

Tuskys is a good business i belief. I do my shopping there. As to whether i would invest in it or not, it would depend on the price of the share.
mjuaji wa stocks
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 4:03:38 PM

i will buy!

With a history of beginning as a small retail shop in naks to this big supermarket chain...i believe its management and i will definetly be waiting for a piece of this cake!!

I feel at home when shopping there....lakini when in nakumatt...Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you ....i think it is because i dont like corruption..

si these guys list before uchumi comes back na pia mbele ya nakumatt!!!

God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

Wa_ithaka
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 4:28:13 PM

Does Tuskys pay tax now?
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
maina20
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 4:49:29 PM

Drool i think its a good buy considering their market ie the middle income mass which will even increase due to improving economy as well as diversification, since their sister company ie Naivas is also doing well.their business model mirrors equity bank and thus success story might replicate....I will start saving 4 that project.......
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
raszag
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 4:54:48 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Does Tuskys pay tax now?

I thought it's Nakumatt who had issues with tax payments..
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
Wa_ithaka
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 5:35:22 PM

Nakumatt and Tuskys are very intertwined
Mpenzi
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 5:40:21 PM

Wa_ithaka, are you suggesting that the African owners of Tuskys are mere fronts? I remember Mukiha gave a us a very different story about the ownership of Tuskys sometime back?

http://www.wazua.com/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=2928
bird_man
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 5:47:28 PM

If memory serves me right,I think both Nakumatt and Tuskys were involved in VAT tax scandals....but I like the supermarket.And as for investment in the share,depends on price I guess.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 6:23:59 PM

I've always said Tuskys is the old uchumi
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 7:11:09 PM

As Njunge said... there is a relationship between Tusky's & Nakumatt...

BTW, those baying for Namumatt's blood on taxes... Stop being naive!

In Kenya, rapidly expanding firms get tax rebates/credits for new ventures/equipment. Nakumatt was doing so & if their accountants were half-decent, then they should/would have taken advantage! If my listed firm does not do so... I would be pissed!

Mumias got a HUGE tax credit last year coz they put in the Co-Gen plant. Many, many firms use allowable tax credits especially if you are located out of Nairobi/Mombasa. Note that Nakumatt's new branches are NOT in Nairobi...
move
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 7:49:00 PM

Though the price would be critical,i believe there are other fundamentals that one need to check.

As Waithaka says,there is definitely a r/ship between Nakumatt & Tuskys.
Expanding the pie
Wa_ithaka
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 8:48:09 PM

Hiyo storro yako vvs ni up...
The crimes committed by both Nakumatt and Tuskys are very obvious. Tumia google .

No wonder we get robbed on matthrees. Hatuna habari
Aguytrying
#14 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 4:56:03 PM

Id definately buy into this company if its listed, i like the way it is managed.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#15 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 5:26:44 PM

I would consider after seeing results of the 1st full year of trading.

hisah
#16 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:42:20 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Nakumatt and Tuskys are very intertwined

plus naivas and now woolmatt... Same guys on their boards.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mkonomtupu
#17 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 7:55:56 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
Id definately buy into this company if its listed, i like the way it is managed.

In the retail sector I would still go for Uchumi if you look at the its sales turnover and the profits it generates its much more efficient. Have a look at Uchumi's 5 year strategic plan to 2012 it has some solid research on the retail sector.
Nakumatt despite its high sales revenue has high financing costs reducing its profits
Tuskys has its profits eroded by the expenses, dead stock and pilferage
It's unlikely that either Nakumatt or Tuskys will list in the near future so i wonder why we even talk about them.
#18 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 8:23:05 PM

Kenyans bure kabisa...

Discussing firms we have ZERO control over + little knowledge of... I am going to keep checking out Uchumi... coz I can buy their shares (hopefully) soon...
Ericsson
#19 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2019 9:54:58 AM

https://kenyanwallstreet...institutional-investor/

An institutional investor has acquired a stake in Tusker Mattresses Ltd, a Kenyan based family owned retail chain with more than 60 branches across the region.

According to our sources who sought anonymity, the deal is in the final stages and the financial details remain secret.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
kimanimsc
#20 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2019 10:36:23 AM