Looking for these books
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 12:15:39 PM

I am looking for these books that we read in our olden days for my son

1. Pwagu na Pwaguzi
2. Abunuwasi
3. Alibaba and 40 thieves

Of course at the time, the titles and the authors were not important so i cant even remember who authored them but i am hope someone can assist me get a copy.

Someone please help...
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 3:33:17 PM

...Niko na Abunuwasi kwa maktaba yangu but I am miles away...
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 3:37:15 PM

...Niko na Abunuwasi kwa maktaba yangu but I am miles away...
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 3:44:56 PM

@Wendz,
Hekaya za Abunuwasi is quite common in bookshops.What i am not sure is the other books but i do remember the author of Ali Baba....It happens that one dude and an old school mate of mine used to refer to her sister by a translation of the name (Watene) and yes,the book is by Margaret Early.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 4:53:18 PM

@magigi
Where did you get your copy? I dont mind even a second hand one.

@Guka,

Will check around but if you bump into one before i do give me a shout.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 5:07:38 PM

@Wendz
...inherited from my father. It is one of those books that look like they have been peed on!!! Kila page iko na colour yake. But I treasure it na iko tu. I am not sure where you can get a copy. There is a shoop in Yaya center (Bookstop), where I always get old books that I cant get anywhere. Try it. Third floor, next to Truworths...
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 5:12:47 PM

@Wendz
...inherited from my father. It is one of those books that look like they have been peed on!!! Kila page iko na colour yake. But I treasure it na iko tu. I am not sure where you can get a copy. There is a shoop in Yaya center (Bookstop), where I always get old books that I cant get anywhere. Try it. Third floor, next to Truworths...

i will check it out. if i dont get it, do you promise to help me break the law(even if it is at a fee) by making a copy of yours? I doubt when they were published they had 'copyrights"... LOL
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 5:30:52 PM

@Wendz
...No problem. I will drink to that. The only problem is that I wont want to reveal my identity because that will restrict me on what I can post here...and you know I could be your local church PASTOR. But that is easy to solve...Will organise like the way kidanappers do...probably drop it somewhere in a dustbin in town at an agreed time and place. I will chill somewhere as you pick it and do the copies. Then return it in the dustbi, I pick and go. I guess that is the only way it can work... But my next stop in Nairobi will be in November...
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 5:41:09 PM

@Wendz
It is one of those books that look like they have been peed on!!! Kila page iko na colour yake.

@wendz, have you checked Bookpoint on Moi ave?I saw a copy of Wirute Guthoma-Ibuku ria Mbere by Fred C Kago(If you have ever heard of that book)
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 5:44:24 PM

@Wendz
...No problem. I will drink to that. The only problem is that I wont want to reveal my identity because that will restrict me on what I can post here...and you know I could be your local church PASTOR. But that is easy to solve...Will organise like the way kidanappers do...probably drop it somewhere in a dustbin in town at an agreed time and place. I will chill somewhere as you pick it and do the copies. Then return it in the dustbi, I pick and go. I guess that is the only way it can work... But my next stop in Nairobi will be in November...

Laughing out loudly teheheeee...guesss who's been watching 2 much di es ti fee! those are called drops...

@wendz, alternatively inbox the good pastor your p.o. box no. for him 2 send the pirated copies.
Shhhh, dont tell Atalaku...smile
Wodu Wakiri
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 5:53:36 PM

Sorry to hijack the thread but I'm looking for the Bogi Benda book (series?). naweza toa wapi?
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 5:56:13 PM

@Wendz

@Magigi...tough luck hiding your identity with this method, unless you send someone different to collect the book, otherwise kama ni wewe.....you can be sure @wendz will be watching from a distance.
@Intell...nice one! Guess who's been watching too much DStv Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 6:25:50 PM

@Wendz

hehehehehehe... good one!!!! but posting the copies would be ideal (may be address it as Abunuwasi Wendz).... as for the fee, i can buy the summit vouchers & send coz M-kufa reveals real names.... or i ZAP/PAP with a friend's phone.... hehehehehehehe... talk of protecting identity.....
#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 6:27:20 PM

@Magigi...tough luck hiding your identity with this method, unless you send someone different to collect the book, otherwise kama ni wewe.....you can be sure @wendz will be watching from a distance.

And now that he has said it, trust me to keenly watch... then i send a friend to pick... a heavy weight jamaa kwanza... with rastas....
#15 Posted : Wednesday, September 08, 2010 7:01:16 PM

@Wendz

hehehehehehe... good one!!!! but posting the copies would be ideal (may be address it as Abunuwasi Wendz).... as for the fee, i can buy the summit vouchers & send coz M-kufa reveals real names.... or i ZAP/PAP with a friend's phone.... hehehehehehehe... talk of protecting identity.....

Wendz are you sure @Magigi is really talking about sambazaring you an abunuasi book? That drop off reminds me of that system of delivery beloved by the producers of some niche Kenyan film industry. Those ones who used to put up posters all over town with tag lines of 'Kikuyu Naked Gars', 'Hot Ruo Women'. Etc.
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 1:55:24 PM

@magigi, sasa why don't you just scan the book and post the pdf on this site for all of use to download and read on our e-readers? I hope this is not Scandinavian to you.smile smile smile
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 2:03:24 PM

@Gordon Gekko
...It is not. just acquired one two weeks ago. I would do so, but the book is in NAirobi na niko nchi za ugaibuni...
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 3:43:38 PM

@GG
You are a genius!

@magigi
Do that and give us a link

@others,
Who's got the Pwagu na Pwaguzi or knows how we can get a copy of this? If you never read it, it will bring you down in tears.... it was hilarious!
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 09, 2010 4:50:40 PM

While at it, can somebody get me "Otieno Achach"?