@ Emily - yeah pole, we seem to have deviated from your initial trail of thought. Pole, but Im happy to have bumped into like minded people :) Cheers!
@Scubidu - The local banks are known to put most of their attention towards gvt bonds as opposed to risky lending to common mwananchi but this trend i think has reduced over the last few years thanks to CBK. Previously you had to proove to the bank that you can afford to do wthout a loan to actually get one, and now there's a lady who stalks my collegues and I to take up a loan, even if i dont need one at the moment. of course when there is no money available to the common mwananchi, the economy will take a hit, so intervention by CBK is great, and welcome.
I saw your comments on fractional reserve banking. Yeah, the system creatss credit whenever someone takes up a new loan, but this is debt backed by debt, in my opinion there must be an elastic limit. We already knee deep in the mess, but i can't think of an alternative at the moment. The money creation process is flawed, and our taking on things that are practised in the west will be our undoing. So far our monetary system is quite conservative, but i think soon we'll scale up in the game.
What did you think of the documentary film - money as debt? More importantly, how do you think we can escape the trap, as individuals yaani?
Secondly have u seen this, and what are your thoughts on it?
http://www.theeastafrica.../-/cghfxcz/-/index.html
Personally i think infrstructure bonds are great, coz the infrastructure will stimulate growth in existing sectors, along with job creation during developments, so in a way even though we're taking on a lot of debt, its self sustaining - at least i hope so.
Ur turn...