wazua Sun, Oct 6, 2024

Ayang' Nyong'o - Our ARROGANT Employee
#1 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 11:18:39 AM

"Immediately after this [Press Conference] I am going straight to Serena for lunch where I'll pay 2,500/= for the lunch. People are finding it hard to pay Kshs. 66/= a day [Trust him to learn from YU's 5 cents per second ad] while I pay 2,500/= for lunch?". That was Ayan'g Nyong'o trying to explain why there will be no negotiations on the new NHIF charges.

I don't even know where to begin.

1) I wonder how many of his constituents and the over taxed Kenyans can afford a 2,500/= lunch. Heck. How many can afford lunch?

2) It's not simply about 2k. If you are planning to deduct up to 2k from my salary, I want to know exactly what I'll get in return. There are people who are willingly paying much more for their health insurance for a very simple reason - cost benefit analysis. Why would I want to pay even a thousand bob only to end up lying on the floor on the corridors of Kenyatta Hospital waiting for treatment - for up to 24 hrs - while doctors just pass by as if I don't even exist?

What worries me most is the precedence this will set. How can a parastatal initiate or even revise statutory deductions without involving parliament. Which parastatal will be next? For those younger than Njung'e - that is most of us - do you know there were statutory deductions for the City Council many years back? If NHIF succeeds, very soon we might be paying City council tax, County tax, Pedestrian tax, Commuter tax etc. etc.
#2 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 11:35:11 AM

Enyewe hapo the guy slipped! 2500Kshs for lunch...If he considers using that 2500Kshs per day (same as the ordinary kenyan presumably giving 66Kshs per day), then he might just feel the pinch....I'm sure he doesn't eat lunch for that much everyday.

Anyway, back to the issue at hand, will there be assurance of prompt and efficient medical care after paying that amount? Govt needs to give Kenyans a guarantee, if they are to humbly accept paying the new rates
#3 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 11:37:14 AM

"Immediately after this [Press Conference] I am going straight to Serena for lunch where I'll pay 2,500/= for the lunch. People are finding it hard to pay Kshs. 66/= a day [Trust him to learn from YU's 5 cents per second ad] while I pay 2,500/= for lunch?". That was Ayan'g Nyong'o trying to explain why there will be no negotiations on the new NSSF charges.

I don't even know where to begin.

1) I wonder how many of his constituents and the over taxed Kenyans can afford a 2,500/= lunch. Heck. How many can afford lunch?

2) It's not simply about 2k. If you are planning to deduct up to 2k from my salary, I want to know exactly what I'll get in return. There are people who are willingly paying much more for their health insurance for a very simple reason - cost benefit analysis. Why would I want to pay even a thousand bob only to end up lying on the floor on the corridors of Kenyatta Hospital waiting for treatment - for up to 24 hrs - while doctors just pass by as if I don't even exist?

What worries me most is the precedence this will set. How can a parastatal initiate or even revise statutory deductions without involving parliament. Which parastatal will be next? For those younger than Njung'e - that is most of us - do you know there were statutory deductions for the City Council many years back? If NSSF succeeds, very soon we might be paying City council tax, County tax, Pedestrian tax, Commuter tax etc. etc.

yeye ni brari uji baridi

#4 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 11:39:12 AM

mwanaume mgani anaeza ongea hivi?Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
#5 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 11:46:39 AM

Building the Nation
Henry Barlow (Uganda)

Today I did my share
In building the nation.
I drove a Permanent Secretary
To an important, urgent function
In fact, to a luncheon at the Vic.
The menu reflected its importance
Cold bell beer with small talk,
Then fried chicken with niceties
Wine to fill the hollowness of the laughs
Ice-cream to cover the stereotype jokes
Coffee to keep the PS awake on the return journey.
I drove the Permanent Secretary back.
He yawned many times in back of the car
Then to keep awake, he suddenly asked,
Did you have any lunch friend?
I replied looking straight ahead
And secretly smiling at his belated concern
That I had not, but was slimming!
Upon which he said with a seriousness
That amused more than annoyed me,
Mwananchi, I too had none!
I attended to matters of state.
Highly delicate diplomatic duties you know,
And friend, it goes against my grain,
Causes me stomach ulcers and wind.
Ah, he continued, yawning again,
The pains we suffer in building the nation!
#6 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 11:47:24 AM

I hope this is not true

Does he know many workers don't even have lunch and trek to work to save 20bob 30bob 50 bob etc?
Amurabi.
#7 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 11:48:21 AM

Thought i was the only one who got pissed by his sentiments. kwanza when he said he pays 2000 an amount he made equivalent to what he takes 4 lunch.
Assuming he earns 1 million per month this is 0.2% of his salary and yet he wants that dude who earns 20000 per month to pay 1000 which is 5%. NKT
ABK
Some have been thought brave because they were afraid to run away.
tuvok
#8 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 12:21:00 PM

figure should be a percentage of salo e.g 1%

800k -> 8k
8k ->80 bob

That would be fair for all
anasazi
#9 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 12:36:26 PM

BK. So does this mean we drop our current (and more convenient) covers? with AAR, APA, Resolution etc? I mean, if you're shelling out 30k a year for that cover, and then now start shelling out 18,000 to 24,000 a year for NHIF, thats 48,000 - 54,000 a year!
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#10 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 12:38:48 PM

tuvok wrote:
figure should be a percentage of salo e.g 1%

800k -> 8k
8k ->80 bob

That would be fair for all

I quote a big shot at NHIF [Don't know his name or position]. "The young will pay for the old, the rich will pay for the poor" or something like that. Kenya is slowly becoming a socialist country. Free education, free/universal health care, free, free... And the middle class [mainly] are expected to foot these bills directly. Never mind they never benefit from these free things! How many wazuans have their kids 'enjoying' free education? How many have visited their district hospital of late for treatment?

Honestly I'm starting to get pissed off. Some of the Kenyans in informal business make far much more than employed wazuans/Kenyans and they don't pay even a single shilling in income tax. Then I pay for their kids schooling? wtf!?
Anyang' Nyong'o
#11 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 12:50:29 PM

I am sorry to put my point in that manner. But please look at the bigger picture. We want universal healthcare for all. So please contribute more so that the person poorer than you can access the public hospital
Mpenzi
#12 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 12:53:18 PM

Nyong'o is living in his own world. How many Kenyans earn 800k to justify his use of himself an example? How many Kenyans earn 100k anyway?

And how come he does not seem interested in dealing with the core issues that Kenyans are interested in in this connection ie the questionable management and lack of transparency and accountability of the NHIF?
#13 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 1:00:00 PM

...talk of the truth of stereotypes... What he wanted to tell us is that he takes his meals from the Serena...but do I say?
#14 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 1:03:11 PM

We are just funding ineffeciency and corruption at the NHIF.

What have they done with the funds we are paying right now?

Dirty public hospitals, with poorly paid staff with patients sleeping on the floor ,no medicines yet in every megascandal NHIF is mentioned.

28 Feb 2003 ... Kenya: Shocking New Facts On the Scandal-Hit Euro Bank ... The NHIF had put in Sh493 million, while other major depositors included Kenyatta ...

http://www.marsgroupkeny...mmedia&story=268648

I say No to the increases.
I have a humble friend who is a watchman.

He earns 3700/-after Nssf 200 Nhif 100.after working for 30/1 days in a month and you say 2000 is nothing???

Please get to the grassroots and hear what the 37 million Kenyans earning below Kshs 30,000 feel about the increase.

BTW are the Mpigs paying ?

#15 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 1:15:06 PM

The star Oct 3rd, 2009

BY CAROLE MAINA
RETIRED President Moi has been mentioned in a report tabled in court yesterday to show how the National Health Insurance Fund lost some of the Sh1.8 billion deposited in the Euro Bank which collapsed in 2003.

Also mentioned are former Cabinet ministers and some serving MPs in the case in which former NHIF managing director Ibrahim Hussein has denied abuse of office charges. According to the report, in 2001,the then minister for Medical Services Amukowa Anagwe gave approval for the NHIF to invest some of its money with the bank. He, however, limited his authority to only Sh200 million.

Later Hussein was summoned to State House through his personal assistant where he' met the Euro bank chairman Solomon Muthamia and South Imenti MP Gitobu Imanyara who prevailed upon him to support the bank by increasing the deposits. The fund subsequently invested Sh304,499,751.70 with the bank after Moi's intervention.

"The chief executive was summoned to State House where he met the head of state, Imanyara and Muthamia and was questioned on the redemption of the investments the Fund had made to Euro bank," the report says.

Imanyara complained that the bank could go under but Moi insisted on the need to support indigenous banks and advised Euro bank to protect the money. "The chief executive was advised to support the bank"" the reports further reads. At another meeting, Muthamia is said to have given the then President a briefcase containing money.

Subsequently the Fund deposited a further 175 million between January 2002 up to June 2002 and rolled over what was already bringing the total deposited to 479,499 754.70.

While testifying yesterday, former NHIF chief financial controller Stephen Wambugu produced detailed documents showing the huge transactions carried out between the collapsed bank and the NHIF. Wambugu said between 2000 and 2001, the Fund recalled all the investments. He said he met the directors of the bank who assured him that they would pump in new capital.

This was after he told them it was imperative that they refunded the investment.

Last Edited: Sat 03rd October 2009 at 09:09:13 PM
mjuaji wa stocks
#16 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 1:20:12 PM

kwa kweli...a government of the few by the few by manipulating the masses....

Kwnaza ilikua hivi....haya ktibe mpya italeta usawa.....pitisheni hii kitu mpate free universal healthcare....ok...ikapita...immmediately...the reach should support the poor....the employed support the un-employed.....haya basi....twende kazi....taxation bado....

@nyong'o...be ashamed!!! Yaani now you pretend to be sooo goood that you care for our health???? Na unakataa kulipa tax?????

Whot old you i am interested to be covered by the gava???...afya ni yangu....tumbo ni yangu na pesa ni zangu...nikiamua kula....sawa...wewe insure afya yako...achana na yangu...

@all this is the ODM + plus PNU gava that soo many are fighting for???

Not yet uhuru....BTW....are there any accounts for the xpenditure of what we already contribute for NHIF and NSSF???

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#17 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 1:36:54 PM

Is that @anyang' nyongo the real one?

The guy just needs to cut on arrogance and just face the very real issues Kenyan's have with his scheme. The best approach would have been to explain clearly what benefits the new scheme has, what they are doing to cut corruption and mismanagement at NHIF, Etc and then propose the new deductions. Instead? The arrogant talk!!! Nktest
#18 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 2:28:29 PM

Health care provision is a basic human need, and the state is required to provide it for its citizens, albeit in a mixed social-market-economic manner.

But, I would never pay a dime more than the KES 320 I pay every month to corrupt NHIF! Public hospitals remain inefficient, understaffed and a mockery of health care provision. If the doctor to population ratio is 1 doctor to 6000 Kenyans, what guarantees me quick and assured medical care?

NHIF specialises in buying land, building houses, collecting rent and trading in stocks at the NSE instead of paying for health care for Kenyans.

Why should an able bodied 28 year old strong jua-kali worker stay in a hospital bed for 12 weeks because he cannot afford an interlocking nail to fix his broken femur, which he incurred when he slipped and fell while pushing his mkokoteni full of metal pots and deep frying pans? It costs only KES 3500, less than the minister's 2 lunches! He would be up and about and back to his work in 2 weeks!

Health care in Kenya is a sham! And unless we have the right people driving the reforms, and not suits at NHIF and MoH on their Serena lunches, it shall not change soon.
Insurgent
#19 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 2:31:27 PM

Anyang' Nyong'o wrote:
I am sorry to put my point in that manner. But please look at the bigger picture. We want universal healthcare for all. So please contribute more so that the person poorer than you can access the public hospital

@Nyong'o nyong'o ...You are the same one who claimed that Safcom at 5 shillings is cheaper than KQ IPO at 11.25. You are a professor of what?

We know you are trying to raise money for 2012 campaigns. You shoudl be asamed of your beard. Mafi ya kuku!

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

#20 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 2:34:02 PM

Building the Nation
Henry Barlow (Uganda)

Excellent! That was the first poem I learnt in the first week of high school. Poetry made in Africa. smile