SME
Ideas
Does Africa (Kenya) manufacture?
Been reading a few interesting books and was just wondering...Chinese have gone ahead to manufacture products e.g phones, which we shun completely and maintain in buying mzungu phones. If one african country decided to manufacture phones, would you buy? Why do we believe the mzungu stuff is superior? we don't manufacture guns etc, but use them to kill each other. Are we just seen as an end-user? The route to development i believe is through industrialization, which we don't do much of. KIRDI being an institute that i believe gets minimal budgetary allocation from GOVT ( i stand corrected)...should be a driving force with this agenda. Africa manufacture and sell internationally (instead of just being raw material producers). Your thoughts?
Good argument but perhaps the problem with Kenya is we don't harness our strengths. I don't see us out-manufacturing Asia in electronics but they shouldn't hold a candle to us when it comes to...
1. coffee and tea 2. horticulture 3. fruits 4. cement 5. pyrethrum 6. soda ash, fluorspar
and I wish even
7. zoo animals 8. meat, dairy products, leather 9. beer
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,102 Location: Nairobi
The issue is not an African manufacturer lakini QUALITY... Look at that piece of crap called nyayo car... did not even start!!! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,102 Location: Nairobi
muganda wrote:Good argument but perhaps the problem with Kenya is we don't harness our strengths. I don't see us out-manufacturing Asia in electronics but they shouldn't hold a candle to us when it comes to...
1. coffee and tea 2. horticulture 3. fruits 4. cement 5. pyrethrum 6. soda ash, fluorspar
and I wish even
7. zoo animals 8. meat, dairy products, leather 9. beer
Get serious!!! Except for cement & beer... everything else is coz of Mother Nature (yaani, it was a gift not brains)... Africa lucked into having wildlife. Lakini give Africans a few guns & we kill the animals off!!! In Congo/Rwanda/Uganda, the great apes have been decimated. In Kenya, lions, rhinos & elephants. I can pick apart your list while sleeping!!! BTW, the clear beer we drink is from Europe... & the cement technology is also European... Asia leads Africa in cement & in total beer production but lags in consumption! There is nothing 'great' or commendable about being a large beer consumer! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@VituVingiSana the passion in your post is humourous. I presume manufacturing is making something from artificial or natural parts. My argument is... if we were among the best in the world at manufacturing what was on the list using the gifts we have, Kenya would not be a third world country. We'd be so lucky; even if we leveraged on someone else's technology. But right now, we do a bad job with a free gift when all the knowledge is out there. How then can we begin manufacturing anything else... Hence why not all countries with Oil become like UAE
@muganda and vituvingi..what the asians did is reverse engineering, buy from a mzungu, open up and then assemble your own and give it a name e.g. samsung then sell to the africans who are considered consumers. If muganda made phone batteries, vituvingi made their covers and other kenyans made other parts....in the long run, each of you has advanced financially when we assemble the final product.
On the issue of standards....someone has to start from somewhere...Africa can set it's standards and improve. Even Asians started somewhere. It is a matter of setting your own, and letting the wold know, then improving on it. If we are to stick to the mzungu standards, i doubt we'll ever match them, because they wont let you...then where will they sell their products?
@nostoppingthis, in this global village, why start chasing Asians and their technology? Perhaps the methodology only.
We need a 'hustle' that sets us apart. We have it, we just need to focus on our niche, our strength.
Have you noted, a mzungu wants to donate 1,000,000 mosquito nets to, say nyanza, instead of buying from a local company, he/she buys from his/her own country, thereby strengthening his own economy. What we need to do is look within, work with all the raw materials we have, and sort out our on problems...the model for reverse engineering is irreproachable (i think)
We need to support our local manufacturers by buying what is manufactured locally, not buying closeup from Egypt but buying aquafresh made in Kenya. Their will be no use of manufacturing goods and yet we don't consume them.
muganda , what you pointed out are features of an agrarian economy -very basic economy where there is little, if any, processing, meaning there is little value-addition and so both the prices and market share of your exports on the global market will continue to be low and your role peripheral. This way you end up a net consumer, thus exporting country's jobs abroad. Therein now lies your problem because others will use the same primary commodity you grow, add value and sell it several times what they bought it for in the first place! Take a Machakos farmer, for instance. He harvests coffee, it is exported and processed abroad and then comes back in gaudy cans calling itself NESCAFE retailing at prices that are so scary the same Machakos farmer dares not even look at it on the shelves of his supermarket in Machakos town! But isnt he the one who grew it?
The Nyayo car was a failure, but only to an extent. Certainly naming it the way it was was a failure. But it should have been a wake up call. We should have built on this car so that the cars we have here can have spare parts that are locally made and thus cheaper. Even the Asians giants with wide manufacturing bases currently had humble beginnings and this was the one for us. Numerical Machining Complex (jeez, what name) still has the physical infrastructure to be used for manufacturing but is under-utilised although attempts are being made to revive it. But with the Nyayo car debacle, we seem to have thrown out the baby with the dirty bath water.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/2/2010 Posts: 563 Location: Embakasi
I watched a documentary on that Nyayo Car. The thing was basically just jua kali. None of the cars are the same and the engine looked like a messy car boot with wires. The car was so heavy, because of the thick steel sheets used, that some struggled to move. They proved a concept and it was a good start. They should've just continued with standardised materials and processes. In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
The book is "Capitalist Nigger". Anyone read it?
I understand Zambia manufactures phones.But it's the only African country doing it. What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
Kenya can not and will not be a competitor in manufacture anything ever. Even western countries can not compete with china in manufacturing. What we can go is add value to the exports that muganda listed and improve our all sectors of our service industry. Improve internet services and be the ICT solution provider for Africa, Ecommerce, tourism, Health, exporting labour like Filipinos etc etc! We should banish this thought that the root to our growth will be through industrialisation. There are too many factors that will curtail our industrialisation the main one being china. The next main reason will be Global warming and the constraints all countries will have to maintain to achieve a better world or we all die of drowning,smog, heat, etc etc! which is by the way is highly probable if you believe the global warming and climate change phenomenon. Other constraints to our industrialisation is high energy cost, high levels of poverty(yes Europe industrialised when their populations were in poverty and uplifted them same for china but cant happen for us because the globalization and we will have to be our main consumers to sustain any industry we think should be started)
SME
Ideas
Does Africa (Kenya) manufacture?