124 Pages«<56789>»
Finally the EPL kicks off!
#121 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 11:58:52 AM

Winston.....By refusing to sign a keeper Wenger has proved to Almunia that he has confidence in him. He's 32 yrs old so i don't think loyalty is an issue here.

Wenger's eyes are fixed on Arsenal 20 yr old goalkeeper Wojciech Sczesny who is highly rated and has been tipped to be the best in the future. Wenger is however not ready to give the young keeper a starting role, that is why he wanted to sign Schwarzer (at 37 yrs)on a 1 year contract.

Look at the number of goals conceeded by other teams in the EPL last season and compare that to arsenal's.....even the keepers ( Given & Schwarzer) who were being tipped to replace Almunia let in more goals than him.

@ Maichblack....actually i expected more from Ferguson(in the transfer window)than Wenger.
#122 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 12:03:26 PM

Wenger has once again disappointed us with a last minute ditch to sign. Let's see how Arsenal fairs...
#123 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 12:17:06 PM

Here's the reason why wenger won't spend money on a young top class anytime soon.

http://www.youtube.com/w...c4Eo&feature=related
winston
#124 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 1:10:40 PM

@taz...great saves by Wojciech Sczesny and baring injury should be a great keeper. But lets not forget 'rugby' football will be real close range.

Am not to sure that Almunia will take the fact that Wenger did not get Schwarzer as a shot of confidence. If someone indicates they are repalcing you and then let you stay are you suposed to thank them or start thinking of your exit strategy. As it is Almunia knows he is living on borrowed time!
#125 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 3:19:25 PM

The transfer window has closed, Wenger hasn't signed a new keeper as promised....i'm disappointed but that won't stop Arsenal from winning trophies this season.

I totally agree! I'm sure Arsenal will retain all the trophies they won last season. And the one before that. And the one before that...

Very Very True!!!!!
#126 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 4:28:59 PM

Sawa @maichblack, hakuna haja ya matusi - I got the point the first time @Mwenza delivered it...

@Taz, the only reason Mr. Bean didn't sign Schwarzer is because Fulham were not willing to let him go unless they secured a loan deal with Cuty for Given, when that didn't happen and Schwarzer's stand in got injured just the other day, there's no way the deal could go through. So not really a sign of confidence in Almunia, more like a deal falling through...
#127 Posted : Thursday, September 02, 2010 5:56:00 PM

Smano....Wenger had so many options, if he was desperate for a keeper he would have signed one in June. Its quite obvious that his priority was not a keeper despite what the fans think.

Fulham's asking price for Schwarzer was so not an amount that would trouble Wenger. His buy-out price was also low. Fulham were desperate to keep Schwarzer!

Winston.....Manchester United won the league twice with one of the most useless Keepers in EPL history Fabien Barthez, wonder why?
conos
#128 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 10:35:12 AM

Winston.....Manchester United won the league twice with one of the most useless Keepers in EPL history Fabien Barthez, wonder why?[/quote]
Shame on you coz of good cover by defenders,btw fabien won a world cup with one of the useless team in europe,wonder why?
Among the top 4 or 6 aluminium is the only one who havent represented his country,wonder why? He is useless than greenLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
ukiona choo kwa ndoto usiingie, ni mtego!
#129 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 11:10:28 AM

conos.....the '98 French team was probably the best they'll ever have but thats besides the point.

You've actually captured my point so well....with a good defense the keeper would be protected. Van Der sar was previously at Fulham, how many titles were won there?

Spain has more than 5 top class keepers...Valdez (Barca) got his call-up at the world cup so how the hell do you expect Almunia to respresent them.

At some point Capello was considering calling up Almunia to play for England....What a useless lot!
winston
#130 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 11:34:38 AM

I think we should keep in mind that when a team is continually attacking (Like Man-U)and puts pressure on the opposing team's mid-field, they can afford to get a way with a lousy keeper.

By the way...what is the equivalent of a striker's goal-drought for a keeper?
#131 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 1:03:27 PM

Winston....Instead of using Man Utd as an example i will go with a more practical one, Barcelona. Their most vulnerable part is the defense. They are the best going forward but you'll still end up scoring against them. At some point last season, Arsenal were the top scorers both in England and Europe but this was diluted by the number of goals conceeded at the other end.

Club like Inter Milan have focused so much on defensive minded players (including Mariga) such that you can't even notice a change in Keeper.
winston
#132 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 6:18:17 PM

@taz..man-u fellows will eat you alive for implying their team is not practical! Just joking.

but seen your point.
#133 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 6:51:51 PM

TAZ,
I give you till early march as usual and you will start enumerating excuses and what Wenger did not do right!!!

Is there anybody that suffers from heart attack and still supports Arse n hole???
#134 Posted : Friday, September 03, 2010 7:17:01 PM

TAZ,
I give you till early march as usual and you will start enumerating excuses and what Wenger did not do right!!!

Is there anybody that suffers from heart attack and still supports Arse n hole???

@McReggae - Supporting Arsenal must be the most stress free thing to do. You have absolutely no expectations. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

When you support a team like Man U - like I do - and they draw away [Like they did at Fulham] - then you almost get ulcers coz you expected better - as you always do no matter the opponent!
#135 Posted : Saturday, September 04, 2010 11:46:43 AM

@Taz.................Habari ndio hii hapa chini. Iko swali?

TAZ,

@McReggae - Supporting Arsenal must be the most stress free thing to do. You have absolutely no expectations. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

When you support a team like Man U - like I do - and they draw away [Like they did at Fulham] - then you almost get ulcers coz you expected better - as you always do no matter the opponent!

@ Maichblack................And why, pray, are aseno fans happier than Man -U fans whenever the two sides play out a draw even at emirates? Maybe the problem is bigger than low expectations.......could be closer to something like low self-esteem!!!!
#136 Posted : Saturday, September 04, 2010 1:11:22 PM

Winston....one thing you can be sure of is that Man U fans will always have something to say about Arsenal....even when Chelsea is busy winning the title. They never miss an Arsenal match!
#137 Posted : Saturday, September 04, 2010 6:51:48 PM

Winston....one thing you can be sure of is that Man U fans will always have something to say about Arsenal....even when Chelsea is busy winning the title. They never miss an Arsenal match!

What??? That's the biggest lie ever. It's a well known fact that Arsenal fans would rather miss their game and watch Man-U's game. It's not once I have watched a Man U game in an establishment where more than half the fans have Arsenal kits. To my surprise a good number of them leave immediately after the game even when Arsenal's match is next. And I'm talking about a situation where the Arsenal game is scheduled to start a few minutes after the Man U game!!!

Kila mtu aweke ushahidi wake.
#138 Posted : Sunday, September 05, 2010 8:15:36 AM

The English never seem to learn. After their 4 nil win against Bulgaria, they are supposedly back to their ''best''. They are now ''strong contenders'' for the Euro. They don't seem to realise that this is only qualification. If they meet the likes of Spain, they will still get dismantled. Good thing Lampard wasn't playing, as he would have missed a penalty and they would have lost. He should retire already. France lost, but what do you expect from a team captained by Malouda? Chelsea fans relax. I'm just speaking facts
#139 Posted : Sunday, September 05, 2010 3:40:54 PM

Seems that the England men can't keep their pants on. Rooney was begging for threesomes while his wife was pregnant. Na kwani these men never learn? From tiger,terry,a.cole,rooney. These prostitutes or girls will always sell the stories to the papers. Manchester kwisha. Haha! He'll be making errors like terry last season. www.providingnews.com/ro...ls-cheating-scandal.html
winston
#140 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 3:11:52 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
The English never seem to learn. After their 4 nil win against Bulgaria, they are supposedly back to their ''best''. They are now ''strong contenders'' for the Euro. They don't seem to realise that this is only qualification. If they meet the likes of Spain, they will still get dismantled. Good thing Lampard wasn't playing, as he would have missed a penalty and they would have lost. He should retire already. France lost, but what do you expect from a team captained by Malouda? Chelsea fans relax. I'm just speaking facts

Just so that its clear... I am one of those who support chelsea but appreciate the Arsenal and Man-U game. Different styles, different passions.

Me thinks that this will be Lampard's season simply because on the goalscoring front Malouda has popped up and is threatening to be the new lampard with 20plus goals. In midfield there is Ramires and Benayoun. If lamps doesnt step up, he will soon be history.

France lost not because of Malouda. I guess as a man-u fan you are just upset that Evra who shold have been captain was banned for the game. Malouda might just keep the band for good...Laughing out loudly

And Lamps is back and fit. And he plus another 4 players who could hae played in the qualifiers opted not to go...me thinks this will be another 6-0 weekend.Applause Applause Applause