wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

9 Pages«<34567>»
Zain receives HALF A MILLION NEW SUBSCRIBERS in one week
Money Whisperer
#81 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 3:01:48 AM

Some wazuans are holding Safcom stock and they are defending it here to protect their investment. Zain is ready for the war. You don't stop a truck at your competitor's front yard with speakers blaring Bend overif your war chest is not full. Some small guys will definitely leave the kitchen but not Zain. Farasi ni tatu: Safcom, Zain and Orange. and this war is headed to new territories: data and money transfer
"Money never sleeps"
chris79
#82 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 3:04:18 AM

I didn't know it's a crime to hold safcon shares. And if the highest point of zain's marketing strategy is singing lewd lyrics in front of their competitor's HQ then it just shows why they have failed to crack this market so far...Shame on you
hisah
#83 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 9:10:30 AM

I had asked this question in another post, if cck were to force all operators to list at NSE... Jaza pengo as an investor.

Last time when vuka was the thing, scom talked a lot to media not investors and took a month to react with jibambie & didn't bother to reassure investors. This time round, they reacted, been talking to investors (mostly foreigners) while avoiding unnecessary media interviews. Seems someone learnt something from the vuka hype & all subscribers are the beneficiaries smile
What has changed for zain, a deeper pocket from bharti. Else, the same vuka hype with a 'bend over' gig at your top compes premises (unprofessional & can be sued). So scom has changed a lot from ignoring a spoiler fight even though with a promo, which leads to the next question. What if cck postpones the interconnection rates? Yu & zain would be in a fix!? Orange too put up a promo...? Both 'on promo' operators have a govt shareholding. Cck reports to... Something smells funny...?

Don't get me wrong, i'm not trying to promote scom, just trying to make a clear view of this hazy media flashes. If zain tariff is doing so well, why the constant media flashes. When yu & orange came with offers sometime back, the constant media flashes were nowhere...
After all is said and done, if scom does post a 1H PBT above 10B, that should get long term investors interested. At full yr, a PBT of 18-19B (flat result) should be very bullish for the counter & very concerning to bharti after a massive price war. I'm keeping this in mind while looking for an entry (please get to 3/- or at least below 4/-) for a massive counter trend esp if full yr is a flat result.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Jamani
#84 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 9:22:30 AM

well stated Ken1979, i would like to ask those that are excited that zain got 0.5M subs in a week, do you know how many they churned just before that week? findout the churn and the customer base before and after.. i doubt the 0.5m subs have reached the churned subs and that should tell you something.
This has always been the case in all thier marketing promotions... its all hot air.
My 2 cents
#85 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 9:49:52 AM

These telcom wars will not change much by year end; safcom will still be the market leader. Kencell/Zain/Bharti or whatever name they finally settle for have a tough one to pull.
ProverB
#86 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 10:04:25 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
These telcom wars will not change much by year end; safcom will still be the market leader. Kencell/Zain/Bharti or whatever name they finally settle for have a tough one to pull.

Safcom pledge to shareholders to "charge for services profitably"..and consistency in pursuing profit while offering best "possible" products at prevailing economic tide is what keeps it a cut above the rest..regardless of competition..

lessons all other companies need to learn..
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#87 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 11:29:04 AM

LOL... bottomline?

My calling costs have halved... And I need only 2 SIMs [Orange for the 10-5 offer & Zain for all other calls]

As for Safaricom... I will buy below 4/-...
#88 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 11:56:05 AM

hisah wrote:
After all is said and done, if scom does post a 1H PBT above 10B, that should get long term investors interested. At full yr, a PBT of 18-19B (flat result) should be very bullish for the counter & very concerning to bharti after a massive price war. I'm keeping this in mind while looking for an entry (please get to 3/- or at least below 4/-) for a massive counter trend esp if full yr is a flat result.

Half year numbers at 10B sounds right.

Full year at 18B??? Fantasy my friend...fantasy...they wont even touch 16B. (I estimate 15.2B).

Then in 2011.....6B for full year, max. That is if the diehards still prefer calling at higher rates than everyone else.

Long term investors, anyone?
mwanahisa
#89 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 11:56:33 AM

Long ago, I decided to do what is best for me and bought Sim cards for all operators. I use Orange for Landline calls and I am now enjoying practically free calls during the day. I also have a 3G+ Modem from Orange and a backup from Safcom.

My Safcom line remains as my default line for MPESA and receiving calls. I switched my outgoing calls very briefly to Zain and then to Yu and now I am back to the 2/= from Scom. Thanks to their Promulgation Day offer, my calls are now less than 1.50 as I topped up on their 50%+ offer.

Indeed, thanks to that offer, Safcom has also become my Preferred Internet Gateway. My Internet costs are now roughly Kshs 0.85 per MB. I bought excess airtime of which I have used part to purchase a 5GB bundle.

My POINT. Most of us are fickle consumers, with little or no loyalty to any brand. If it works for my pocket, I will embrace it. Meanwhile, I am staying away from the SCOM share until it settles a level that reflects the changed circumstances. However, if the trend for the share changes, I will definetly trade it REGARDLESS. Nothing Personal, Just Business!
mv_ufanisi
#90 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 12:29:02 PM

Anyone recently been outside Zain Centers? They are crowded. I for one also moved my black berry service to Zain. So more money for them. Kenyans should be thankful to Zain for the low phone call rates they are now enjoying including Safcom die hards. Without Zain we would still be paying 8 shillings for calls. Competition is a great thing. Say no to monopolies.
stocksguru7
#91 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 12:38:36 PM

even if zain makes free calls all day and whole night i am not shifting , these are the last kicks of a dying horse , just let the subscriber numbers back me up ,lets talk after 6 months if zain has not packed up shop and left kenya for good
UN PACTUM UN DICTUM
#92 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 12:43:22 PM

Latest CCK Statistics released yesterday if unregistered lines were switched off on 30th August

1. Safaricom 13.2million registered users (81% of what it claims)
2. Zain Kenya 1.39 Million registered users (67% of what it claims)
3. Orange 250,000
4. Yu 445,000

Total 15.285 Million lines
Market Share by Registered Lines (Unregistered lines will be switched off) as at 25th August 2010

1. Safaricom = 83.6%
2. Zain = 9.09%
3. Yu = 2.9%
4. Orange = 1.6%

From the above, majority of Zain (as well as YU and Orange) subscribers are therefore literally Safaricom subscribers as most of the people they call are on Safaricom, meaning any call under 1min 15sec under old rates up to September 2nd (Hallo! Sema? Uko wapi? Okay nakuja, ningoje hapo nyuma ile mti sawa, and blah blah, blah?) Is Safaricom money (4.2/-), and any call under 45seconds at new rates (2.2/-).

I have previously operated three GSM sim cards, and one CDMA telkom, apart from buying “promotion” sims loaded with more airtime than their cost which I usually bought enough of made calls and discarded when units run out. I have operated Safaricom (For most calls, Safcom to Safcom), Zain to Zain, and Orange for my Safaricom modem, their internet is cheaper.

I did not register my Zain as it no longer has any value as I call Zain at the same rate as my Safaricom 3/-, and Safcom to Safcom is 2/- , I keep my Telkom Orange because it is a different type of phone and I get cheaper landline calls 2/-, through it.
A New Kenya
mv_ufanisi
#93 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 12:52:54 PM

ken1979 wrote:
My people, our customers,

I beg to bow out. I am staying with Safaricom!

SCOM P.R. BS.
SCOM had their chance and they blew it. Kenyans are much smarter now and will go to the network that gives them value. SCOM has lost so much credibility.

The nail in the coffin will be when Zain Kenya does an IPO and the share actually goes up. In stead of the SCOM rip-off which only enriched Mobitelea and Vodafon. I don't care if Zain is run by martians as long as they give me the best value.
SCOM has been a rip off - most of their contracts actually go to British firms. So there's no patriotism there either. Just PR in Green.
#94 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 12:57:42 PM

Latest CCK Statistics released yesterday if unregistered lines were switched off on 30th August

1. Safaricom 13.2million registered users (81% of what it claims)
2. Zain Kenya 1.39 Million registered users (67% of what it claims)
3. Orange 250,000
4. Yu 445,000

Total 15.285 Million lines
Market Share by Registered Lines (Unregistered lines will be switched off) as at 25th August 2010

1. Safaricom = 83.6%
2. Zain = 9.09%
3. Yu = 2.9%
4. Orange = 1.6%

Now these are telling numbers, and prob true reflection of Safcon dominance in this market.

You can see someone like Zain has really nothing to lose....drop rates to 3 bob or even 1 bob, it wont have much short-term impact on p&l for them, but may help boost that miserable 9% market share.

Its dangerous to have an enemy who has nothing to lose...
#95 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 1:01:14 PM

@MV, Zains problem is hiring and keeping an incompetent CEO, why focus on Safaricom and not your product? Why does every thing you do with your product target Safaricom (either to hurt it profits copy its product, or insult it) rather than focus on the customer. Why can't Zain (and it's fans) not complete a single sentence without implying something about Safaricom? Zain should get a competent CEO and focus on developing a good unique product with its own niche. I can make a much better CEo than what they have there, why don't they recruit me?
A New Kenya
Tito44
#96 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 1:02:38 PM

As Kenyans we have failed to see the big picture. If Zain loses, we all lose, since call charges will go back to Ksh. 8. Safaricom is only running a promotion to stop zain from increasing the numbers. How i wish people would continue acquiring more zain lines so that there is competition, hence lower calling rates.

There is no need of being a die-hard when in the end, you are the sufferer.
Tito44
#97 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 1:08:28 PM

@Much Know
My focus is on me as the client. Whether Zain targets Safaricom or vice versa is not a concern for me. I simply need affordable calling rates. Just imagine what the new rates will do to business. You can now even afford kupiga bei kwa simu.

Let's get real. This is not ManU Vs Arsenal where all we do is entertain ourselves. This has to do with bettering our lives. And if that involves Zain going after Safaricom, or vice versa, so be it.
#98 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 1:09:08 PM

@Tito, Zain is suiciding, no one wants to see a viable business collapse, but when a CEO drives a company down a path to self destruction and people cheer! Hey! we are getting calls at -ve rates men! what can one do, no sympathies, for me, IT"S STRICTLY BUSINESS

By the way, when you talk of the bigger picture, sound business practice makes an economy thrive, reckless business practices destroy good business and are bad for the Economy, getting unrealistically cheap calls is NOT GOOD FOR YOU IN THE BIGGER PICTURE
A New Kenya
#99 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 1:56:26 PM

@MV, Zains problem is hiring and keeping an incompetent CEO, why focus on Safaricom and not your product? Why does every thing you do with your product target Safaricom (either to hurt it profits copy its product, or insult it) rather than focus on the customer. Why can't Zain (and it's fans) not complete a single sentence without implying something about Safaricom? Zain should get a competent CEO and focus on developing a good unique product with its own niche. I can make a much better CEo than what they have there, why don't they recruit me?

Applause Applause Applause I have always wondered why they keep attacking safaricom whenever they launch their products.If its not putting safaricom colours in their adverts its the CEO publicly attacking safaricom.

By doing this they are acknowledging safaricoms dominance and who would want an underdog service.

Every advert they launch they give safaricom undue publicity on the process.
#100 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 2:01:16 PM

Long Live Zain/Airtel... Coz safCON would have never dropped charges if not for Zain... So I support Zain...