wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

7 Pages«<34567>
safaricom die hard section.
#81 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 9:41:40 PM

@all saf is establishing itself as a very volatile stock. Very good for traders in terms of quick cash. Longtermers will have to wait years for meaningful returns.
#82 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 11:42:03 AM

Guys who are married to safcom i'm feeling your pain from the sidelines... DAMN
mv_ufanisi
#83 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 11:49:23 AM

guru267 wrote:

At what price did u get out guru?
the deal
#84 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 12:01:20 PM

I exited yesterday at 5.25...thanx to my broker CFC...next support is 4.50...if we breach that next suport will be 4 bob....
bss
#85 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 1:07:01 PM

Safaricom DIE HARDs poleni. You were 'warned'.
#86 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 1:31:17 PM

At 4.90 and still looking south.

#87 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 2:00:46 PM

Even if it goes to 2.50 I aint selling.I want it to hit those lows so that I can buy.
Horton
#88 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 3:38:46 PM

the deal wrote:
I exited yesterday at 5.25...thanx to my broker CFC...next support is 4.50...if we breach that next suport will be 4 bob....

Mr deal, cant believe even u sold out......
sheep
#89 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 6:02:14 PM

selah wrote:
Even if it goes to 2.50 I aint selling.I want it to hit those lows so that I can buy.

If only I had you virtue!
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#90 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 6:56:26 PM

and now i call at 2/= per minute...........hello

am sorrounded by mpesa agents, like am on an ovacado tree in high season. just pick one with a smiling girl......meaning i dont have to cram which street a Zap or Yucash gent is located.

i pepea at 8/= for 10mbs per day....i dont know if MJ does his counting right because i have more than i need....and i use them with a modem once in a while, just to protect my line being bloated from excess MBs

i still have a lot of bonga points that i can redeem for a mobile phone anytime

mkesho.....i have it but not very bothered how it operates

and i don't care who moved to Zain or Yu, because my phonebook is still 90% safaricom......but i maintain YU line just incase there is a sumbua on other networks i need to talk to.....

untill MJ BUYS A ZAIN LINE SIHAMI NA SIHAMI

BTW, there is a pending line portability utility coming soon.....just in case i think otherwise.

Am a safaricom die hard
#91 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 7:31:37 PM

I first bought this thing at 6.50, averaged down to about 5. I only have 10 ct dividend to show for 2 yrs lakini no prob. I will buy again ex-div.
PKoli
#92 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 7:35:28 PM

I first bought this thing at 6.50, averaged down to about 5. I only have 10 ct dividend to show for 2 yrs lakini no prob. I will buy again ex-div.

May be you could try to join in during the panicky mode and buy cum dividends. You are assured of about 4% dividend yield.
jenny.c
#93 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 6:47:05 AM

haha..interesting comments we got here.
honestly i hope Zain does have a long term strategy behind their drastic cut down of tariff's.If not then Safaricom's predicaments are just temporary.
#94 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 9:54:30 AM

PKoli wrote:

May be you could try to join in during the panicky mode and buy cum dividends. You are assured of about 4% dividend yield.

@pk i considered that but i feel that ex-div the share will slide like a greased penguin down an icy slope. Better get at 4.50 ex-div than 4.80 cum div, assuming i intend to re-invest the div.
PKoli
#95 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 4:10:01 PM

PKoli wrote:

@pk i considered that but i feel that ex-div the share will slide like a greased penguin down an icy slope. Better get at 4.50 ex-div than 4.80 cum div, assuming i intend to re-invest the div.

Agreed. Safcom may look juicy if it will slide to 4 bob. I will watch it on the sidelines like I have done the past year. I will start looking at it from around 4.5
#96 Posted : Sunday, August 29, 2010 5:45:28 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
guru267 wrote:

At what price did u get out guru?

I sold out completely at 5.40....
I was also an extreme diehard of safcom but i also know i'm not a fool
#97 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 11:04:13 AM

I have gone thru the safaricom prospectus once again and realised that VODAFONE plc is screwing us big time.Take for instance this provisions.

1. Safaricom is mandated to give vodafone plc 0.5% of all revenues just because safaricom uses the vodafone roaming services.(why cant it be charged according to usange i.e like the interconnect charges, as opposed to a pecentage of all revenues.

2.Vodafone plc gets 32.6% of all revenues generated by M-PESA and mind you safaricom does not own the mpesa solution but its owned by vodafone plc.

3.On top of all that vodafone is entitle to 40% of dividend declared.

I didnt read all other vodafone entitlement but as a Die hard safaricom Iam left wondering what the 40% shareholding was for if they were to get extra from that partnership.

Another thing is the vodafone plc controls the budget,business plan and appointment of the managing director and the CFO .So whats the point of AGMS if Shareholders have no say whatsover on the running of the company.

#98 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 12:04:15 PM

@selah - If you own 40% of the shares... you get 40% of the dividends...
#99 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 12:40:31 PM

@Sela, thats scaring, and this is where we fall short (either by design or sheer incompetence) in negotiating esp when the client is a government of Kenya agency (e.g former Telkom in the Safcom case). Someone f**kd us up BIG time here.
mozenrat
#100 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 1:22:18 PM

@Sela...

1. Place all the facts here bwana... its capped at the lower of 2.1million Euros OR 0.5% of all revenues. Yaani the max they can ever earn is 2.1M Euro and if their Vodaphone-appointed CFO and CEO don't work hard enough on the revenues, they can get even zero.

2. If I were Vodaphone, Safcom would be getting the 32.6%.. After all Vodaphone owns the MPesa IP and hosts the MPesa platform(servers, network connections etc) in UK or Germany.

3. Hii ya tatu ni nonsense.. You own 40% of a company, you get 40% of the dividend..

4. On control, this is not a Safaricom thing... It applies everywhere.. the biggest shareholders will always have the biggest say. Get ownership of 51% and see if you can't dictate how Safcom is run..