wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

7 Pages«<23456>»
safaricom die hard section.
Conquestador
#61 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 12:04:34 PM

Zain's action is no brainer, good as it looks. Anyone can lower rates even further than 3 bob.

Low rates is just to excite the market.

Safaricom seem to have called Zain's bluff to stem the migration, but I believe they are buying time to cook their ultimate broth that shall settle Zain for good.

anyone in the house who work at a senior level for Yu or Telkom? Please identify yourself. I have a formula yenye itakufanya upitie katikati ya Zain and Safcom.
#62 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 3:16:23 PM

did i hear they, Zain, have 24blln shillings to spend.. woi!
#63 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 3:21:16 PM

Interesting, Safcon being bid at 4.90 right now, 1M bid, 9M on offer.

Looks like the market isn't as die-hard as some of the posters here...
#64 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 3:48:36 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly lucky i sold at 5.40... @the deal i wish you sold yesterday
My 2 cents
#65 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 3:56:06 PM

guru267 wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly lucky i sold at 5.40... @the deal i wish you sold yesterday

“In the short run, the stock market is a voting machine, but in the long run, it’s a weighing machine.”

~ Warren Buffett
Guru Of Value Investing

* What the above trying to say is that, in the near term, the stock market or the individual stock is pretty much subjected to the opinions of the investors / market players who would ‘vote’ the stocks with their money, but in the longer term, the value of the stock (representing the company) will prevail depending on the performance of the business.

Two important points here – One, in the short term, the stock price is dependent on market sentiment. Two, every stock is a representation of the underlying company, to decide whether a stock is ‘worth it’, take a good look and understand the fundamental of the underlying company.

#66 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 4:00:25 PM

Do you think Safcon will increase revenue in the long-term, with price cuts?
PKoli
#67 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 4:00:39 PM

Been missing in action of this colossus. Missed the bought at 2.90 and watched it rise all the way to 6. I am ready to jump in at 4.6; ride on dividends and capital gain.

#68 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 4:16:16 PM

PKoli wrote:

Been missing in action of this colossus. Missed the bought at 2.90 and watched it rise all the way to 6. I am ready to jump in at 4.6; ride on dividends and capital gain.

Am waiting for it at 2.60. am sure, the share fall will be temporary (and mainly it wont be the institutions selling... mostly the panicky small holders who think this war is the end of the company....) This war is still going to stabilize things. once the dust of this hype has settled, am sure they will innovate and start rising... then i can jump out at 4.80 - I will be good with that... Good thing with safaricom is that they have many products so the other products will still keep them afloat. Hizi ni kelele za chura tu... Mvua ikiisha, jua litachomoza na chura zitanyamaa.....
#69 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 4:49:20 PM

ah good, buy time coming up again especially for diehards like i.

The only people who should be happy are those who bought at 2bob sold when it hit 6.00 and are now waiting for it to knock at the doors of 3bob just to buy and hold...

hii Zain haiwezi..

whose tag line says cautious when others are greedy greedy when others are cautious..

@my 2 cents.. that quote is Steve Ballmer Microsoft, on Apple passing MS at the stockmarket..
sheep
#70 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 4:54:47 PM

I give 10-15yrs period for this stock to fully recover...wanjiku will be taught a lesson she will never forget.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
mjuaji wa stocks
#71 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 4:58:47 PM

Ata mimi ni die hard!!!

Hii safaricom iko sawa.....naomba serikali iingilie kati....

Anxious Anxious Anxious Anxious
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

sheep
#72 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 5:01:02 PM

2015 safaricom at 6-7bob Laughing out loudly watu wataretire maskini hohe haheSad
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
bss
#73 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 5:24:11 PM

if it's just about investment not speculation, better prospects and places to put any new money in the meantime. Coop and Equity,Family Bank then USE etc... NSE is speculators plenty! who is going to buy SCOM at these higher prices quoted anytime in the near future i.e. >= 5?

at current pricing, it could take years to even hit at least 20% share capital gross return???!!!! nice way for one to lock their money for a while. LOL!!

heck, I ain't no prophet. put your money where your mouth is.
PKoli
#74 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 5:35:39 PM

bss wrote:
if it's just about investment not speculation, better prospects and places to put any new money in the meantime. Coop and Equity,Family Bank then USE etc... NSE is speculators plenty! who is going to buy SCOM at these higher prices quoted anytime in the near future i.e. >= 5?

at current pricing, it could take years to even hit at least 20% share capital gross return???!!!! nice way for one to lock their money for a while. LOL!!

heck, I ain't no prophet. put your money where your mouth is.

USE would be exciting really. It has a lot bargains, problem is the bourse trades in very thin volumes and only 3 days in a week.
bss
#75 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 5:37:15 PM

PKoli, true. That is the current state of affairs which can be amended. The ATS was once a foreign concept there.Probably take some investment there now going forward then await robust trading to take shape, because it 'will'. Those keen on holding onto dear SCOM knock yourselves out, better things to hold long term smile
kamashaa lexx
#76 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 5:38:19 PM

the economist @ MJ's officekow what they are doing but the offer they are giving out now is making WANJIKU GO INZAIN!!
Nothing is too obvious to ignore- kamashaa!
My 2 cents
#77 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 5:46:43 PM

@my 2 cents.. that quote is Steve Ballmer Microsoft, on Apple passing MS at the stockmarket..

Steve borrowed this from Buffet who probably borrowed it from his teacher Benjamin Graham

I read about this quote long before Apple's shares overtook Microsofts.
the deal
#78 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 5:56:43 PM

I became uneasy and sold today...its hard to look into the future and not thinking the days of 20B are over...profitable yes but 20B no...
PKoli
#79 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 5:58:22 PM

@bss

It was also difficult convincing Ugandans to let go their share certs. We will have to wait for a while before that market becomes vibrant
bss
#80 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 6:06:20 PM

@PKoli, that was the same case with the NSE. Just educate and give an immobilisation notice. I don't need them trading Ksh 1 Trillion, just enough to allow normal trading. Kenyans will then take over!