Market
Review
HOW WILL SAFARICOM COUNTER ZAIN'S CRAZY LOW RATES?
"While we plan to improve our service offering, we have decided to allow our valued customers to call all networks free of charge for the next two weeks. Afterwards, we shall resume charging at new improved rates." Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,497 Location: nairobi
the scom to scom at 2bob is a killer move! based on their customer numbers. they can sustain profits. albeit at lower levels. HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:scom to scom now at 2bob! CONFIRMED For a month ONLY!!!
radio wrote:obiero wrote:scom to scom now at 2bob! CONFIRMED For a month ONLY!!! like my nigerian people would say... robbish! mscheww!! speak softly and carry a big stick, you will go far... Theodore Roosevelt
I'll stick to my zain line . Then after tha 1 month w@t'll happen .? This are the kicks of a dieing horse . SAFCOM : NO THANK YOU .. Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
SafCON please stop your conning ways. What happens after the one month?
radio wrote:McReggae wrote:msoto, 10 MB for 8 bob per day teanslates to 300 MB for kshs 240 in a month for safcon......another way of looking at it!!!!!! l wonder, what can one do with 8MB of data? Come to think of it , what serious business can one do over the phone internet? Checking email, facebook, chatting maybe reading the newspaper....Quite limiting, physically and otherwise.
obiero wrote:the scom to scom at 2bob is a killer move! based on their customer numbers. they can sustain profits. albeit at lower levels. Lets do this mathematically. Profit last year 20B. 70% from voice (correct me if I'm wrong). Now, if you drop voice charges from 8 bob to 2 bob, you expect to drop voice profits from 14B to 3.5B. Sustain profits? Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,095 Location: Nairobi
KulaRaha wrote:obiero wrote:the scom to scom at 2bob is a killer move! based on their customer numbers. they can sustain profits. albeit at lower levels. Lets do this mathematically. Profit last year 20B. 70% from voice (correct me if I'm wrong). Now, if you drop voice charges from 8 bob to 2 bob, you expect to drop voice profits from 14B to 3.5B. Sustain profits? @obiero - Wacha kudanganya sisi... From 8/- to 2/-??? [I hardly saw the cheap rates under supa ongea] What of the 'losses' from 12/- off-net to 3/-? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
BTW, what about post-paid customers? What do they pay? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
I am safcon post paid and am still charged at 8 bob. But i will never use that line to call again. just for mpesa and am going to terminate the contract today. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
KulaRaha wrote:I am safcon post paid and am still charged at 8 bob. But i will never use that line to call again. just for mpesa and am going to terminate the contract today. Pole sana ndugu... They are treating you like shit! Vuka to Zain where postpaid is for 3/-... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:KulaRaha wrote:I am safcon post paid and am still charged at 8 bob. But i will never use that line to call again. just for mpesa and am going to terminate the contract today. Pole sana ndugu... They are treating you like shit! Vuka to Zain where postpaid is for 3/-... You can now call for 3/=. If my memory isn't failing me, Post paid were being charged at 4/= per minute
kula raha, you are at rest i guess ama? LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/21/2006 Posts: 422 Location: Nairobi
.....this 2kshs and 3kshs from safaricom were mere promotions... now in today's Newspapers (Nation page 7) they have introduced a new Uwezo Tarrif that charges 3bob to safcom and 4bob to other networs and all prepaid customers will automatically be switched over to that tarrif.....wa!....
Safaricom would want this to be as low key as possible so prepay customers wont notice the switch
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
gathinga wrote:Safaricom would want this to be as low key as possible so prepay customers wont notice the switch @GATHINGA My thoughts too. Why didnt they make the 2 and 3 bob offers permanent? Ama kuna mambo hatujui? You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
and no mention of cost of sms
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
gathinga wrote:Safaricom would want this to be as low key as possible so prepay customers wont notice the switch But It wont work .I noticed the new rates when one prepay customer sent a please call me today in the morning. punda amecheka
Market
Review
HOW WILL SAFARICOM COUNTER ZAIN'S CRAZY LOW RATES?