wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

11 Pages«<678910>»
Safaricon the most EXPENSIVE provider
Wamutonyi
#141 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 9:17:55 AM

Zain is our hero, At last MJ has seen some fashion in price wars. Hahaaaaaaa and the consumer wins big. We need no conditions MJ and no deadlines please, roundi hii ni kufiam.
#142 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 9:19:08 AM

Did accountants come up with this OFFER? And only for Prepaid? You have to tabulate for it to make sense.

For 2/= Safaricom and 3/= Offnet calls........1000/500/250 top-up
For 2/= Safaricom and 3/= Offnet calls........100 top-up
For 3/= Safaricom and 3/= Offnet calls........50 top-up
For 4/= Safaricom and 5/= Offnet calls........20 top-up
For 5/= Safaricom and 5/= Offnet calls........10/5 top-up

Safaricom Poster

qw25041985
#143 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 9:25:24 AM

Frm this latest Scom offer ,its evident they are desparate to look in customers . And clearly itsnt goin to work .
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
holycow
#144 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 9:30:08 AM

muganda wrote:
Did accountants come up with this OFFER? And only for Prepaid? You have to tabulate for it to make sense.

Safaricom Poster

Very peculiar indeed, must truly be the work of accountants. Its only on Safaricom that a 1 minute call is cheaper than an sms.
THIEVES, how can sms remain at 3/=, Safcon you can do better.
ProverB
#145 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 9:34:30 AM

muganda wrote:

Safaricom Poster

Aah!! The new Jinyambie Tariff!
smile smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
qw25041985
#146 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 9:41:59 AM

A-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-h . W@t the F word is this tarrif?
#147 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 9:49:13 AM

muganda wrote:

Perfect for me.... at least i wont need to vuka... i can do with this....

Obviously, its much better than I had anyway and even the thought of having a Zain line was not 'appetizing' for me..... plus there is a possibility of Zain being unsustainable.... For me, am good!

@qw
Did you say/insinuate that Safcom was 'desperately looking' for customers? I think thats what the others are doing, safcom is just protecting its territory.
#148 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 9:50:34 AM

qw25041985 wrote:
A-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-h . W@t the F word is this tarrif?

And whats more is that terms and conditions apply... Offer is only valid for 1 month and even if it goes past a month we all know what will happen to their revenues with these tariffs
erifloss
#149 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 10:14:40 AM

The offer is ok why you may ask,
1. Out of 10 people on anyones phonebook, 8 are on safaricom. Meaning you make more calls to safaricom. So why not stick with safcom and call them at Kshs. 2!
2. Most of the people switching to Zain are actually doing so to call guys from safaricom. Still why pay 3 when i can pay 2!
3. From an investors point of view, the more subscribers zain gets the better, why? Most of these guys will be calling the better option helping them make money through the interconnection fees.
4. What most guys don't realise is that even if a company is so mighty, it can't take so much losses into their books for long. If you look at zain, it has been making losses of which they have been carrying forward.Though today's investor looks at wealth maximisation rather than profit maximisation, profit has got a large part to play in that when i'm buying a stock i'm buying a share of there future profits. Simply said, how long do you think Bharti's shareholders are going to let 'Zain' eat into their wealth whereas safaricom is causing nightmares and rapidly expanding in many fronts (ICT and Banking-money transfer)thus creating more wealth?
Anyone who knows AT&T will know how this war might end.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
qw25041985
#150 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 10:22:05 AM

Bytheway ,guyz have u sn the NEW Orange Kenya (telco) website .It R-O-C-K-S !!!! .And thats an understatement .Kenyans definately have design talent . Check it out here : http://www.orange.co.ke
#151 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 10:29:18 AM

erifloss wrote:

@arifloss I like your thinking however

This idea of safaricom doing some great things in data is extremely flawed. You are using AT& T and I can assure you. This data thing from safaricom is the most overhyped BS i have ever heard.

It is never about the rates. It's about perception with the customer. Safcom looks greedy and once it goes that way, it looks like AT&T. Greedy.

I am very sure you know of people who have moved in the past week. Those ones will never come back. not with preconditions on how they should call in the venerable safcom.

As for data.

Unless safcom is doing cable for connectivity, they are as doomed as AT&T.

Only one company is doing this and its Wananchi in zuku. Where i live everyone is on zuku unlimited for 2k a month. I mean everyone.

Once zuku goes live with its cable on KPLC lines, you can kiss goodbye to these modems people carry about.

what happens when zain and orange (wait for orange offer soon) go data too?

4G is not the future of data. It is cable in your home. Unless safcom is doing that, then expect more price wars soon.

so please, if morgan stanley has seen the wisdom of downgrading safcom, you should too. Because safcom revenues are about to be hit, and hit hard.
#152 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 10:32:50 AM

Masharti Tariff....ABK and unappealing to folks lower on the ladder.It's even discriminative.If you are a poor folk,you pay more.....Hopeless!
bird_man
#153 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 10:33:58 AM

@Alma...I love your piece. It's no longer about price now...2 & 3sh aint much of a difference.Perception is what matters now....Kenyans are just tired of being conned by one company.Why on earth should they make 3.2times what EABL (which is the next most profitable company makes)?
Power to the consumer!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
astute
#154 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 11:04:39 AM

bird_man wrote:
@Alma...Why on earth should they make 3.2times what EABL (which is the next most profitable company makes)?
Power to the consumer!

@ bird_man...what dou mean..EABL does what...didnt get it!!
#155 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 11:11:59 AM

erifloss wrote:
The offer is ok why you may ask,
1. Out of 10 people on anyones phonebook, 8 are on safaricom. Meaning you make more calls to safaricom. So why not stick with safcom and call them at Kshs. 2!
2. Most of the people switching to Zain are actually doing so to call guys from safaricom. Still why pay 3 when i can pay 2!
3. From an investors point of view, the more subscribers zain gets the better, why? Most of these guys will be calling the better option helping them make money through the interconnection fees.
4. What most guys don't realise is that even if a company is so mighty, it can't take so much losses into their books for long. If you look at zain, it has been making losses of which they have been carrying forward.Though today's investor looks at wealth maximisation rather than profit maximisation, profit has got a large part to play in that when i'm buying a stock i'm buying a share of there future profits. Simply said, how long do you think Bharti's shareholders are going to let 'Zain' eat into their wealth whereas safaricom is causing nightmares and rapidly expanding in many fronts (ICT and Banking-money transfer)thus creating more wealth?

Mr. Erifloss. Im very happy that Zain has finally made safaricom see the light.If you have been keenly following this discussion then you will realise that majority of the subscribers don't care whether zain or safaricom make a profit or a loss, all we care about is how much it will cost us.At least for the next one moth we shall enjoy more affordable rates and safcon has stopped spewing verbal diarrhea with terms like EBIDTA and shareholder value retention.BTW what is EBIDTA?
mozenrat
#156 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 11:23:40 AM

muganda wrote:

Perfect for me.... at least i wont need to vuka... i can do with this....

Obviously, its much better than I had anyway and even the thought of having a Zain line was not 'appetizing' for me..... plus there is a possibility of Zain being unsustainable.... For me, am good!

@qw
Did you say/insinuate that Safcom was 'desperately looking' for customers? I think thats what the others are doing, safcom is just protecting its territory.

I'm with you on this Wendz. I can't bring myself to become Zain's customer. I would rather go with Orange.

I also suspect that the "temporary" tariff has been employed as a "wait and see" approach targeted against Orange..

Honestly, I think the biggest challenge to Safcom will not be from Bharti but from Orange..
#157 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 11:34:40 AM

Guys, whether we accept it or not, the KCB Rights Issue taught me Wazua is elite, and so is Facebook. Safaricom has maybe 15 million subscribers, most of whose eyes are spinning green.

@Wendz, I'm with you here. I HAVE DEFERRED MY MOVE TO ZAIN, ONLY UNTIL 23rd SEP. So I have just loaded 2,000/= airtime and confirmed my new rates - the cheapest in Kenya at the moment.

REASONS:
-I prefer to carry one line and most know my Safaricom prepaid number
-Most of my calls are to Safaricom now at 2.00/= and go thru
-I pay 8.00/= a day for my 3G surfing
-Bonga about to buy me a snazzy phone soon
-I need to use MPESA here and there
-Hate looking for outlets

My appreciation to Zain and a bit to YU. I now realise without their work, I'd still be paying mobile bride price. But at the end of the day, it doesn't pay to be attached to either Safaricom or Zain or Yu for that matter! Si mama au baba...

#158 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 11:50:25 AM

muganda wrote:
Guys, whether we accept it or not, the KCB Rights Issue taught me Wazua is elite, and so is Facebook.

Kweli kabisaApplause Applause

You know you are elite when you start using terms like 'the ordinary Kenyan' /'kwaida guy on the street'
#159 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 12:01:29 PM

and the debate continues. wa!
#160 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 12:04:07 PM

@muganda

excellent post. You have hit the nail on the head as to why the remaining safcom guys aren't going to move quickly.

It is actually the reason why safcom shareholders should be shaking in their knees as we speak. Number loyalty and this mobile payment thing.

Sometime this year, number portability will be a reality. You will be able to move with your phone number to the better provider. I am sure that is what YU is counting on.

Mobile payment portability. It is also something that is coming soon. So you will be able to move money from mpesa to zap to orange one.

Data..see my earlier post on data. If zain goes 3G, see the move with safcom modems being converted to zain and more likely orange. By the way, orange is the one to watch on data.

The days of forced loyalty to a product are coming to an end. You can no longer force customers to stick with you because of Mpesa, or your phone number.

So when the first statement that came from safcom was " I will not change my rates because my shareholders will not make money on the poor people in Kenya" came out, I considered it the most stupid press statement since Kalonzo was Yes, NO, Yes, Yes, No No Ye.

It meant that to me the consumer, I am useless unless I own shares in this wonderful company.

That was the end of safcom rise.

Look at what happened today. The moment they announced their rates, they then gave conditions. from now onwards, anytime safcom comes up with a product, everyone will be looking for the conditions. Trust in this company is gone.

It is not the price. It never will be the price. Price wars never help any company and the indians know this. It is perception. They have managed in one week to make everyone including those still with safcom think that safcom is a greedy company led by people who don't care about the poor in Kenya.

Remember what Bharti said when they came to the market. They want to be known as the "village provider". They will give the villager like me products that I can understand.

Now go to shags and explain to my cucu that it is good to use safcom because they employ Kenyans and their P/E ratio is good, their 4G network is the best in the world etc. Now by the way pay more to call if you only have 20 bob to call.

Then you will understand why you should be dumping safcom shares until the next CEO comes in. As far as I am concerned Michael Joseph's attitude may be a liability to this company now.