wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

11 Pages«<56789>»
Safaricon the most EXPENSIVE provider
sheep
#121 Posted : Sunday, August 22, 2010 12:50:07 PM

profit growth that is
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
PKoli
#122 Posted : Sunday, August 22, 2010 12:51:22 PM

guru267 wrote:
sheep wrote:
apparently data & mpesa contributed to around 50% of Safcom profits...

@sheep you sure about what you saying???

I dont think so. Mpesa and data contributes less than 30%
Jamani
#123 Posted : Sunday, August 22, 2010 1:16:22 PM

PKoli wrote:
guru267 wrote:
sheep wrote:

Mpesa and data are thier fastest growing products
http://www.safaricom.co....ults%20Announcement.pdf

Extract from pg 13
"Data revenue increased by 72.8% representing
18.7% of revenue (12.9 % in March 09) driven by the Strong growth in the number of Data
users (79.6%) and M-PESA users
combined effect of
M-PESA up 158.1% (9.0% of revenue)
Data up 97.7% (3.6% of revenue)
(53.4%)
SMS up 11.3% (6.2% of revenue)"
#124 Posted : Sunday, August 22, 2010 1:43:13 PM

Jamani wrote:
PKoli wrote:
guru267 wrote:
sheep wrote:

Extract from pg 13
18.7% of revenue (12.9 % in March 09) driven by the Strong growth in the number of Data
combined effect of
(53.4%)

@jamani from all this info its clear voice still contributes to about 70% of safcons revenue.... So whether they reduce their call rates or not they are still in a fix....
Jamani
#125 Posted : Sunday, August 22, 2010 4:06:29 PM

guru267 wrote:
Jamani wrote:
PKoli wrote:
guru267 wrote:
sheep wrote:

Extract from pg 13
combined effect of
(53.4%)

@jamani from all this info its clear voice still contributes to about 70% of safcons revenue.... So whether they reduce their call rates or not they are still in a fix....

True Guru, but if you read the report their efforts are now concentrated on their fastest growing productions, thats where the money is, not on voice and they also mention that voice will come down and these are the products to take over. so as zain concentrates on reducing voice charges safcom was a step ahead in strategy
KenyanLyrics
#126 Posted : Sunday, August 22, 2010 8:11:50 PM

@jamani, there are two moves remaining that would kill off Safaricom:

1. A cheap, 3g offering - Micheal Joseph made the statement that they were not going to reduce internet charges until they recoup their initial investment. As a budding online investor, this statement cemented my hatred for Safaricom. However, this makes the data area ripe for a takeover, as Safaricom are unlikely to react.

2. An open source mobile money platform - whoever creates a mobile money Application Programming Interface and frees it up for public use(a la Paypal) will ride the e-commerce wave which is just waiting to happen. Safaricom and their arrogant ways are unlikely to promote anything open source, so here is another huge achilles in Safcon's heel waiting to be exploited.
Jamani
#127 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 7:37:27 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
@jamani, there are two moves remaining that would kill off Safaricom:

1. A cheap, 3g offering - Micheal Joseph made the statement that they were not going to reduce internet charges until they recoup their initial investment. As a budding online investor, this statement cemented my hatred for Safaricom. However, this makes the data area ripe for a takeover, as Safaricom are unlikely to react.

2. An open source mobile money platform - whoever creates a mobile money Application Programming Interface and frees it up for public use(a la Paypal) will ride the e-commerce wave which is just waiting to happen. Safaricom and their arrogant ways are unlikely to promote anything open source, so here is another huge achilles in Safcon's heel waiting to be exploited.

@KenyanLyrics--1. 2011 is when zain will be ready on 3g, that time safcom will be on 4g and pple will be rushing to safcom.
2. that will be for the elite, the pple in rural areas the masses will still be on Mpesa and at this time safcom could lower prices having recouped thier investments and still mpesa could advance further.
#128 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 12:31:04 PM

Safcon charge a minimum of 55 shillings for any M Pesa transaction a real cash cow for them as with the recent compulsory registration they will have even gotten more customers. Target that and you hit them very hard. The data penetration is still very little and if they maintain their current pricing structure I doubt whether they will get the numbers they are targeting.
qadaffi
#129 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 1:01:06 PM

bkismat wrote:
Safcon charge a minimum of 55 shillings for any M Pesa transaction a real cash cow for them as with the recent compulsory registration they will have even gotten more customers. Target that and you hit them very hard. The data penetration is still very little and if they maintain their current pricing structure I doubt whether they will get the numbers they are targeting.

True, the charges are high but in the interests of accuracy, the Ksh 55 as a minimum is not quite true. Sending money to a registered user is 30/- (any amount from 0 to 35,000). Sending to a non registered person would cost you 25/- if amount is less than 2500 and is graduated up to the highest charge of 170/- for sending 20K-35K.

What I usually wonder is why it should even cost more than 3.50 or 5.00 given the fact that SMS uses very little, if any network resources. Even if you were to factor in agent costs, stationery etc, the charges are incredulous.
#130 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 2:14:00 PM

I really hope every single one of my 250k shares have been sold.... GOOD RIDDANCE!!
bartum
#131 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 2:15:37 PM

qadaffi wrote:
bkismat wrote:

True, the charges are high but in the interests of accuracy, the Ksh 55 as a minimum is not quite true. Sending money to a registered user is 30/- (any amount from 0 to 35,000). Sending to a non registered person would cost you 25/- if amount is less than 2500 and is graduated up to the highest charge of 170/- for sending 20K-35K.

What I usually wonder is why it should even cost more than 3.50 or 5.00 given the fact that SMS uses very little, if any network resources. Even if you were to factor in agent costs, stationery etc, the charges are incredulous.

kwani you expect me as an agent to rent ahouse, a fellow to operate and a float of 70k and cash of 100k and then give me 5.00 per transanction.this is why ZAP will not take off- very small commisions
#132 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 5:14:22 PM

guru267 wrote:
I really hope every single one of my 250k shares have been sold.... GOOD RIDDANCE!!

Told you to sell a long time ago and you laughed, remember?
I think their books close 2nd Sept. but if you wait till then it will be trading @4.5

Fundaah
#133 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 5:21:49 PM

Scon following the footsteps of the Paka.Sorry people do not invest in shares if you do not have a steel heart.
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
the deal
#134 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 5:29:05 PM

There's massive support at 5 bob...Contrarian investors time to go for a kill...this is all noise come next year Safcom will be reporting mega profits...
Fundaah
#135 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 5:34:17 PM

the deal wrote:
There's massive support at 5 bob...Contrarian investors time to go for a kill...this is all noise come next year Safcom will be reporting mega profits...
i know your are trying to protect your investment..a sort public relation ....but ...where will they get the mega profits from when all customers have deserted to Zain and YU?.....Uzaaaaaaaaaaa

Using past performance only when making decision is like driving with your eyes fixed at the side mirror....sell and move on.....for.........

Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
...mobile tel sector will never be the same again
bss
#136 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 5:47:40 PM

on the bright side, some other counters may benefit from the divesture...SCOM will seat at the lower Ksh. 5/=. Imagine if Zain also rollout their 3G and offer better prices...

sheep
#137 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 6:04:41 PM

Ive seen the long lines at zain centres with my own eyes... MJ is obsessed with EBIDTA margins of 45% and above! Yenyewe I thought peculiar kenyans wont walk the talk....1h 2011 will be very interesting
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#138 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 7:15:44 PM

guru267 wrote:

Told you to sell a long time ago and you laughed, remember?
I think their books close 2nd Sept. but if you wait till then it will be trading @4.5

@2012 don't even dare.... First of all the reasons you gave were nowhere near this.... Safcom was headed higher but we were hit by zain..... Its cool because i know so many fund managers who bought at 6bob starting to activate stop loss on safcom.... But it might find support at these levels but NO WAY its headed significantly higher
#139 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 10:41:23 PM

scom to scom now at 2bob! CONFIRMED

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#140 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 9:02:42 AM

One month offer......useless.