Mountain climbing
#21 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 4:57:05 PM

@All
I have received all your emails but not in a position to respond at the moment coz am deep in Kichakani...Will email you back kesho and post the details here on Wazua as well. Thanks for the massive interest anywayz..

@King
Am taking a team to Longonot next wknd(28th),so considering Longonot is a mere 2,776m... iyo utamek. will forward u full details kesho..

@Njung'e
He he! Mr.Guillatone yuko tu.. you need to pay him a visit again. bado anarusha watu kwa hewa! Kilimanjaro is in Dec..will give you the details as well...lakini be prepared. Mentally and physically. We go with porters,to carry your stuff...not to carry you!smile

@Pound..
True,Mountaneering tells a lot about a couple's stability.It helps break or make many relationships...

@Nostopping...
Internet is everywhere...ata Lodwarsmile
Blackout
#22 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 5:03:33 PM

@ Leona..I would luv to be a party..am sending you mail so that u can send me details
vin
#23 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 5:30:15 PM

I did the Lenana point sometimes in Nov 2007 and cant complain.This was through marania route.Those doing if for fun,you will get enough.for other reasons ,please spare a thought.
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
#24 Posted : Monday, August 23, 2010 2:49:12 PM

Got it...
#25 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 6:08:46 PM

@Kenmac
Great! sasa anza serious exercise...smile

@All
If you had sent me an email..i've responded,confirm receipt pls

@Guka
Kwani you fainted after seeing the Kili itinerary?te he he!
#26 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 6:16:22 PM

@Leona.......Aiiih Leona.What i have seen is Mt Kenya itinerary....ama mimi naona vitu zangu?
#27 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 6:27:34 PM

@Guka
Ebu confirm,i have even resent itsmile
#28 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 6:27:45 PM

Njunge wrote:
@Leona.......Aiiih Leona.What i have seen is Mt Kenya itinerary....ama mimi naona vitu zangu?

Kamilisha methali hii.

uko nyuma kama magoti ya .......?

@Leona...

well received.... freaked to the bone but i still have lots of time to prepare so i will be just fine....LOL
#29 Posted : Tuesday, August 24, 2010 6:35:56 PM

@Wendz
7days panting up a mlima! Hiyo ukimek...am pledging a years supply of Richot,just for you on the achievement:)
#30 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 9:22:36 AM

@leona,
I have received it and thanks......Wendz is coming along??....hahaha!!...Akishindwa kuteremuka,we throw her down...Laughing out loudly .

Na hii thermal pant ndio nini jameni?Sad
#31 Posted : Wednesday, August 25, 2010 1:55:21 PM

@ Leona,

I would like to join the party. Please send me info @ bwenyenye@gmail.com
#32 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 9:16:20 AM

@Leona, I got an itinerary for a different expedition. Looking at the weight of these things, Porter ni lazima. Sasa nimejua Balaclava ni nini.....
wasee
#33 Posted : Thursday, August 26, 2010 9:35:30 AM

@leona
when is mt.kenya climbing scheduled?and the cost. please email me details @ wasee(@)operamail(dot)com. am really interested.
#34 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 4:15:12 PM

@Wasee
Check email..

@Notsto......
I sent the itineraries for both Kili and Mt.Kenya. Hope you got both. Balaclava=Mbucurismile

@Guka
Thermal pant=Pant iko na thermossmile Seriouslythough,its those long trousers,that ind of look like tracksuits(sp) and have a very warm woolen/cotton layer inside and an outer heat tapping layer from a different material(the one called poly..something)

#35 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:15:12 PM

Guys,

Am assuming you've been training really hard for the mlimas...

Now,there's a marathon this Saturday(18th Sept) at the Ndakaini dam..sponsored by UAP insurance. Registration is only Ksh 500 and the races categories are:
-21km
-15km
-10km
-5km(For veterans..AKA akina Njung'e..Laughing out loudly )
-Childrens race

It's a great way to gauge your physical well being in relation to the strenous mountain treks,as well as just run for fun yet play a part in conservation efforts(via the monies raised).

Ndakaini is about 30kms from Thika town(not accurate of course) and the race will start at 8am,so you can leave Nairobi in the morning and still make it.

Here's the link to the event
Ndakaini marathon

I will be doing the 10km!! See you there..

PS: There's a 'Njugunas' overlooking the dam...great setting with yummy nyama. we can meet there thereafter and 'rudisha nguvu'smile
#36 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:26:34 PM

@Leona,
Did you say 5Km ama 500m??......Yaani you want to see me coughing out my lungs?
#37 Posted : Monday, September 13, 2010 6:33:34 PM

@Guka
It's 5km... but i hear this one you can just stroll leisurely,as you catch up with fellow veterans mkipeana mucene za mau mau days..he he!
#38 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 12:38:15 PM

@ Vin, the Marania route is toughest, esp the Mt.Kenya School of Adventure itinerary. Was there in 2007 too.

@All, please heed Leona's advice. be physically prepared. We did the Lenena climb bila porters with 44 kgs each on our backs. We cooked our own meals etc. There is need for acclimatization too. In 7 days most of us lost over 12 kgs, no exaggeration.

@Leona post me the itinerary pls: njorogexn@gmail.com
#39 Posted : Tuesday, September 14, 2010 4:27:30 PM

Nilipanda bila being physically fit...kindly listen to @Leona. And get the prter/cook, you will not regret at all
#40 Posted : Wednesday, September 15, 2010 9:42:02 AM

@leona i did loita hills over the weekend,na venye naskia mwili mt kenya siwesmekSad