Mountain climbing
#1 Posted : Saturday, August 07, 2010 12:56:34 PM

The wilder side of this soul is craving for a mountain climbing, preferably Mt. Kenya during the december holidays.

Has anyone here done this before? What are the requirements and pocket damage?
Theu
#2 Posted : Tuesday, August 10, 2010 2:08:21 PM

@kenmac. Cost depends on the no. of days you do the hike, the more the higher the amount. It can also depend on the guide. For 4 days could cost frm 15k. you need some level of fitness so that you dont just endure but also enjoy the experience. Been there and hope to go back soon. There areg other costs like transport to the base from where you are e. Nairobi to Naro moru/ Sirimon/Chogoria. Went there with a guide who is also my friend so i did nt pay much.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, August 10, 2010 4:22:41 PM

@Leona organises such events. she organised one here at wazua..... She could do a repeat for the group.... I offer to do the goat-roasting and the welcoming drink......
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 10, 2010 4:42:57 PM

Am in!
#5 Posted : Tuesday, August 10, 2010 5:41:05 PM

>> thanks @theu...Now besides the sleeping bag and comfortable shoes what else should i buy? I want to buy slowly slowly in the next three months.

@ Wendz, worry no more about the kilos...get in and i assure u you'll come back looking like Beyonce.

Leona...When is the next expendition? and to where?
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 10, 2010 5:48:43 PM

kenmac wrote:
>>
@ Wendz, worry no more about the kilos...get in and i assure u you'll come back looking like Beyonce.

eeeeeh, that's good temptation.... i would love to.... but the knees wont agree to carry this weight up that mountain... unless @leona confirms there is a chartered flight for those who get stuck at 2kms from the starting point....
Theu
#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 10, 2010 6:12:25 PM

@kenmac. hiking boots, gloves, boshorismile waterproof jackets and pants etc. U dont have to buy everythings, most of these items are available from the guides for hire. Am also keen on that HILL. The Memories are fantastic.
sheep
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 10, 2010 7:49:08 PM

I saw thimioni on top of mt.kenya from his facebook picture...he should be of much help here
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, August 11, 2010 10:49:00 AM

Count me in!

I have always wanted to go to Batian peak and see this 3mn years old mount.

Theu
#10 Posted : Wednesday, August 11, 2010 11:39:36 AM

Pray @radio
Batian?! U go to batian, you are my hero and a celeb. Or you mean lenana? Batian is for professional mountain climbers, lenana is for hikers.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, August 11, 2010 1:07:05 PM

@radio, u will neva make it to batian. Point Lenana labda...Labda
#12 Posted : Wednesday, August 11, 2010 1:10:42 PM

Theu wrote:
Pray @radio
Batian?! U go to batian, you are my hero and a celeb. Or you mean lenana? Batian is for professional mountain climbers, lenana is for hikers.

Oops, Ok. Whichever, I just want to conquer my mum's unbroken recordLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#13 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 7:35:47 PM

kenmac wrote:
>> thanks @theu...Now besides the sleeping bag and comfortable shoes what else should i buy? I want to buy slowly slowly in the next three months.

Leona...When is the next expendition? and to where?

@Wendz,
Woooooi! usidanganywe na mtu,ati Beyonce?Ngai! How many times have i panted up and down those milimas na bado nakaa sister ya Queen Latifa plus tumbo kama ya Bogibenda?smile

@Kenmac
We do the milimas very often, the next Mt.Kenya expedition is in October 9th to 13th(5days),Sirimon route(the easiest)... and then we have Mt.Kilimanjaro over New years-as in New years we be on top of Africa! In between,there's an expedition to Mt.Meru(Tanzania)..dates to be confirmed later,Lakini Mt.Meru is for the tough..it's slightly smaller than Kilimanjaro but VERY tough.
Anyone who'd like to join my troop..can email me on reggyzoe(at)yahoo(dot)com

I'll send you the full itinerary,cost and requirements.

Mountaineering is fun..It's like a journey within yourself,a soul searching mission within yourself. It leaves you feeling fresh,confident and in touch with your inner self.
#14 Posted : Monday, August 16, 2010 7:37:45 PM

@Radio
Ati Batian? hehehehe!!!!

@Theu
We need to catch up...fanya mpango you join us for Kenya ama Kili....smile
Theu
#15 Posted : Wednesday, August 18, 2010 1:14:53 PM

@leona
mt. kenya kwanza, still have unfinished biusiness with that mlima. keep me posted.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, August 18, 2010 1:35:29 PM

@Leona,

Hii ya Kilimanjaro mimi ndani!!!.....and remember Wendz and i still have unfinished business with Mr.Guillotine....brari uji baridi...lol.

Mail Kilimanjaro details and lemme start recruiting.The usual suspects....Willin',Wanyuru,Ecstacy (Where went the dude?),Brav,eeeehhh...Albertross,Wendz....eeeh,Bill.Meanwhile i can start reinforcing my knees and also hope Ndugu Kikwete will have put a lift by then...Pray !.
holycow
#17 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 11:16:30 AM

Good idea. I did Lenana back in October 2005 used the Sirmon route through a very Scenic Valley called Mackinders or something close to that. October is during short rains so be prepared, all in all, looking forward to doing it once more.
Whenever i fly over Kilimanjaro, it looks less menacing than Batian. There is a story on War Veterans making it to the top.
#18 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 11:56:23 AM

@ Leona, weka more input hapa...Mt. Kenya is on my to-do list and i see it happening earlier than october...

I see your location as Marsabit, internet has truly expanded...
#19 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 12:52:24 PM

I heard that mountain climbing is good for couples, especially those engaged... if you can tolerate each other during the expedition and come down united.. then you can live with each other happily ever after

@leona

Ive emailed..

#20 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 4:40:19 PM

I need to do anthill climbing first, then taita hills before thinking of any lenanas.

@leona, any of the above in the offing? e-mail me the details!!